We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Way overpriced for poor quality food”
Review of San Martino

San Martino
Ranked #54 of 74 Restaurants in Pokolbin
Price range: $15 - $36
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Way overpriced for poor quality food”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Went here with a few friends because it was on the same site as our accommodation. We paid $15 per person for a buffet breakfast. There were very limited options, and could have got a better breakfast with that money elsewhere.

Because there were no other restaurants on site that had availability, we had to do back for dinner. The restaurant looks beautiful, the menu looks great, the service is great, but the food was horrible. Ordered the gnocchi, was dry and tasted like it was from a packet. The meals that my friends had were also poor quality and extremely disappointing.

Would not go back there again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lyn V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    16
    14
    13
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Just okay”
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

Went here for dinner on our first night to he hunter because it was walking distance from where we were staying (Tuscany wine resort). It was just ok, the service was average but the waitress was nice and it was nice area to share a meal together.
My partner and I ordered to share; we had a garlic flat bread and it was nice because of the house made dough. For mains we got the pepperoni pizza and the lamb gnocchi. The pizza was nice but the edges were burnt - like completely black. The lamb gnocchi was horrible we literally got six pieces of gnocchi and the rest was a big pile of stewed lamb. They should change the dish to "stewed old
Lamb casserole" definitely not under pasta because we barely got any! No exaggeration - six pieces of gnocchi, we at our six pieces and a bit of the lamb leaving more than half. We had finished our meals and waited for our table to be cleared and to get the bill but nothing happened for 10-15 minutes so we ended up getting up to pay and leaving the food.
Like I said this place was just okay - wouldn't recommend it.

Helpful?
Thank alysha4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Yuck”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Had pizza the first night we arrived at hunter valley resort- I can honestly say hands down it was an awful Pizza- probably one of the worst I have ever eaten- Dominos looked like heaven!!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank SJeffs203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Disappointment and cheap food glorified”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

A group of six of us(all friends( came on a wine tour which included a option if light lunch or "gourmet" two courses. We paid extra and went with the gourmet. I'm unsure if we got ripped off because it was part of a tour or if the restaurant doesn't know the meaning of gourmet and what that entails for a meal. We arrived at 1pm after a 7am pick up to get there and three winery's done- we were pretty hungry. What we were served for our. "gourme" meal was pretty atrocious and the standard was low. Between six of us we got three starters and two mains but I couldn't decifer which was which. The bruschetta was dry and crusty. There were three salads which were mostly all leaves/greens and no meat. I'm talking three slices of beef to a big plate of lettuce and bare minimal to the point of digging deep to find the chicken in the cesaer salad. The main on the menu was fried calamari (yum!) which to add wasnt bad, but there were 7 small pieces of it on a bed of lettuce between six of us.

Overall it was like ordering five overpriced salads. There was nothing substantial or gourmet about it and we were
Left wondering where our actual meal was.

This maybe poorly done as it was part of a tour lunch and I'd hope so as I would hate to think they served those salads as they were as actual meals or salads in their resturants as the quality was below average. Would definitely not recommend. If I had wanted lettuce for lunch, I'd had saved the extra money I spent thinking I was getting a "gourmet meal" and brought my own.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Reneemorrisscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philiphele, Owner at San Martino, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
The bus company you booked to bring you to the Hunter always orders our value light lunch menu option. If your expectations were for a "gourmet tour", then please take this up with the bus company. We served what we were contracted to provide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Terrific little place in the hunter valley”
Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

Hunter Valley Resort and especially it's food and The Blue Tongue Cafe which doubles up as the San Martino Resturant. All in all a totally pleasant experience from start to finish.

We arrived for lunch and had the pizza white anchovies, pear rocket salad and large portobello mushrooms. Everything we had was delicious. We tried the pallet tasting beers of on the premises brewery and finally settled for the Matilda Bay Redback along with a nice semilion saviougn blanc of local wine.

We retired to our small cottage for the afternoon and arrived in the evening to the Resturant. The menu is still the same however we chose several different entrees and mains.

Entrees were terrific the pork belly was a hit and the squid was cooked to perfection. The mains were a little hit and miss, the mussels and freshly made pasta was excellent in taste just needed to cut the beards from mussels.

The barramundi was cooked to perfection although having a salad underneath it wasn't ideal but regardless the dish was good. Going all down well with excellent Cab Sav.

Then came to dessert..vanilla brûlée and white chocolate cheesecake all homemade. Both were terrific desserts and well worth leaving some room for.

The food on a whole was great a few little things to fix, the service and friendliness was fantastic everyone was there to help. Well worth the trip to this place.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fredflinstone5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philiphele, Owner at San Martino, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Great feedback. Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Martino also viewed

Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Rothbury, Cessnock
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to San Martino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing