We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Achilles Heel of a very nice resort.”
Review of San Martino

San Martino
Ranked #55 of 74 Restaurants in Pokolbin
Price range: $15 - $36
Cuisines: Italian, Australian
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Queensland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Achilles Heel of a very nice resort.”
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Our biggest disappointment of our stay at the Hunter Valley Resort was the on site San Martino (Italian???) restaurant. There is a great deal of choice and therefore competition in the Hunter Valley wine region and as we had not visited the area previously we were at the mercy of guide books and advertising. These of course depict every venue as in some way outstanding. Select carefully and ask for local recommendations, as we did after our less that satisfying meal and service at San Martino. The waiter was uninterested in us and I suspect disinterested his job. The way the restaurant was portrayed in its marketing and priced its fare we expected at least 4 star service and food. What we received was at best 2 star service and no better than 2 star food with a 4 star price. The food did not deliver in taste or presentation, the waiter was not at all attentive and the room needs to be presented in a more inviting manner, perhaps with some Italian decorative overtones (start with removing the breakfast buffet and enhancing with a bar area).

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Legar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    16
    14
    13
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
43 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Awesome Italian food”
Reviewed June 16, 2012

Was here for my wife's bday on 14 June 12. The food was exceptionally good Italian. All pasta were hand made and tasted really nice. The service was quite good. Overall very nice place highly recommended..

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Thekings11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“I don't think you can make a bad selection..”
Reviewed May 13, 2012

Food was a little pricey, but it marked the occasion wonderfully and everyone's food was delicious. I think the wines were a little overpriced considering the restaurant is attached to the cellar door, there maybe could have been less of a mark up.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank AlexiaTheVet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Food and Service”
Reviewed April 29, 2012

We have dinned at San Martino on two separate occasions over the past 6 months, both times whilst staying at The Hunter Resort. The restaurant is inviting and comfortable with a pleasant outlook. The menu is pleasing, with enough choice, the service friendly and attentive and, more importantly, the food is excellent !!
We will stay and dine again on our next trip through the Hunter.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bartly_Tas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Pam”
Reviewed April 29, 2012

We had booked our table and were warmly welcomed we had a very nice table, the food was excellent we had three courses and enjoyed everyone of them. Our waitress was very good she saw to our needs without hovering over us I was doubtful about the wine as I had not tasted it before she suggested we try it first before we bought it, it was very good I later bought more from the Cellar Door. We would recommend the San Martin to anyone.
We will be staying there again and eating in the Restaurant.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pamela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Martino also viewed

Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Cessnock, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to San Martino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing