We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful but central to all the boutique Vineyards” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Willow Tree Estate

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Willow Tree Estate
Ranked #4 of 9 Pokolbin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Thirroul, Australia
2 reviews
“Peaceful but central to all the boutique Vineyards”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

We had a fabulous two nights at the Willow Tree Estate recently and can't praise it highly enough for the level of accommodation (we were in the detached Summer House), the serenity and amenities on the property and the fact it is so central to all the boutique vineyards Pokolbin has to offer.

Great memories of misty sunrises, Kangaroos at dusk and terrific local fare will definitely see us going back to Willow Tree in the near future... Thanks Raylee!

Room Tip: If you like your privacy choose the detached Summer house
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    40
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
22
144
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

My partner and I stayed at the beautiful Willow Tree Estate over the Anzac long weekend for three nights. The location is a definite winner for this gorgeous estate, where we were surrounded by stunning views of the vineyards, mountains and gardens.
The room was large and immaculately clean and comfortable with its own private balcony.
We were greeted warmly by the owners and Raylee was very helpful with her suggestions and recommendations for restaurants and attractions.
Breakfast was very impressive and delicious with a great choices.
Overall, our stay was very relaxing and peaceful, in a perfect location.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank L G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

We enjoyed two nights at willow tree estate. What a lovely feel the place has. The views and location of the property are some of the best in the valley, kangaroos hoping everywhere and so quiet. The rooms are large and very clean. The breakfast was delicious and great local recommendations. We will definitely be back

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suefeens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

Old house with disinterested owner. Tired furniture, old, used interior and boring 'estate'. The owner was more interested in the local gossip than in her guests. The room had dusty furniture, squeaky, well used bed. The price for the privilege to use the room and an average breakfast served without an essential utensil like a fork! is way above the mark. You can find a much better service, room, surroundings and atmosphere for the price. So, shop around. I must add, we did not have much to do with this lady, but the mother ( I think) of the owner was very different and much, much warmer and more interested. Happy, smiling lady, she was a gem in that place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ADL7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rayleek, Owner at Willow Tree Estate, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
As the owner of a small business we continually strive to give our guests the best experience we can. The fact that you stayed at our estate and then chose to give us this review without discussing your concerns with us says a lot about you as people. It's easy to make personal attacks of people when you can sneak off and write anonymous reviews. We love our place and our guests and put everything into what we have built. For whatever reason something upset you about me. I will continue to enjoy the company of our many other guests. As to our place being "tired",it has old world charm and requires a lot of work constantly. Which we do. We pour everything into our home. Sorry all the lovely things about our estate were unable to please you

Raylee Keleher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

We had a fantastic time in the Hunter with Willow Tree Estate as our base. We felt right at home here from the moment we arrived. Raylee (the hostess) was extremely friendly and accommodating and really did make our stay that little bit more special. We stayed in a spa room in the main house- it was lovely. Country style, immaculately clean and very spacious with a stunning outlook over the valley. The continental breakfast every morning was much more than we expected (included boiled eggs, croissants, olives, cheeses, ham etc) and kept our bellies full to soak up all the wine throughout the day.

The location is great- very near to the abundant wineries on Hermitage rd. We even hired bikes for a day and many wineries were accessible by bike from here.

This place earns it's starts for the service offered as much as the room quality. A much more rewarding experience than staying in a sterile "5 star" resort complex. We even extended our stay an additional night.

Thanks Raylee, we'll be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AMHSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Alex and I stayed a weekend here for our 10th anniversary on March 22. Our weekend was superb, within a few minutes city life was forgotten! Raylee was just wonderful working so hard making our stay perfect and also helping with local advice for tours and vineyard visits and tastings. Superb accommodation with beautiful gardens settings. A perfectly central location with fantastic views over the valley. This was a very special weekend we will never forget, and will be sure to be back as soon as we can. Highly recommended, the Willow Tree Estate is the perfect weekend escape.

Room Tip: The Eastern Room had gorgeous views over the valley with a lovely corner balcony to watch the sunris...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeKLSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

This is the first bed and breakfast we have stayed at and we were pleasantly surprised. Willow tree estate is situated on a lovely property with its own small dam and well maintained garden. There is an abundance of small wildlife around including kangaroos and rabbits.

Our spa room was very spacious and the lady who runs the place was always very friendly and helpful. The continental Breakfast was light and provided a wide selection to choose from. The only problem was that it was only available between 0830 - 9am.

Don't come here if you want a modern and fancy hotel like experience but if you want to be relaxed, escape to the country and feel like home then this the place to stay . It's in a great location, close to lots of great restaurants too.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jahtoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rayleek, Owner at Willow Tree Estate, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay, we appreciate the feedback. You have written a very accurate summary of our Estate. Just one clarification, the breakfast is actually on from 8:30am - 9:30am and cleared at 10am. Sorry for the misunderstanding.

Regards
Raylee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
6.3 mi away
The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley
2.5 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
4.5 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Splinters Guest House
Splinters Guest House
#3 of 15 in Pokolbin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
4.1 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
4.2 mi away
Hermitage Lodge
Hermitage Lodge
#2 of 9 in Pokolbin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Willow Tree Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willow Tree Estate

Property: Willow Tree Estate
Address: 96 Mistletoe Lane, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Willow Tree Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious and relaxing Hunter Valley accommodation, Willow Tree Estate features 8 individually appointed guest rooms, some with spa baths. All have views across beautiful gardens and vineyards of the stunning Brokenback Ranges.Relax by the pool, take a bike ride, or watch the sunset from the veranda whilst enjoying a glass of Hunter Valley wine and cheeses from the local Binnorie Dairy and Smelly Cheese shops. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Willow Tree Estate Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing