We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unexpectedly great!!”
Review of Blaxland Inn

Blaxland Inn
Ranked #6 of 74 Restaurants in Pokolbin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $37
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Scenic view, Bar scene, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly great!!”
Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

After a day of stuffing ourselves we just wanted something really light.
Upon arrival they were fully booked but catered for us at the lounge area and still treated us like their dining customers.
Service was exceptional- staff had a great attitude and were very hospitable and friendly.
The place has a really 'homely' feel and atmosphere. Can't wait to return in Winter when apparently all the fire places are turned on!
Highly recommend!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank MarTee_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    411
    188
    75
    31
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent honest food , wonderful staff”
Reviewed May 2, 2014

Great to see a restaurant providing honest home style food in a place overloaded with high end offers. The food was well presented and prepared and reasonably priced. Garlic prawns, damper, mash, fresh greens and deep dish lamb pie ....lovely.. Would recommend for families and plain eaters.. Staff were really lovely and friendly.. Open fire adds to the rustic ambience...they also have a tasting room and sell BbQ packs as well.. All round good experience

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Lee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Figtree, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Steak Lovers!!!”
Reviewed May 2, 2014

We had dinner at Blakelands Inn on 30th April 2014. The restaurant staff were very friendly and helpful. The restaurant has a very relaxed atmosphere with dim lighting. The menu has a limited but great choice of dishes. We had warm bread with two choices of herb and garlic butter as starters. Then we had steak and pork belly for mains which were tasty. We enjoyed our meal. We visit Blaxelands Inn each time we visit the Hunter Valley.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Regina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pretty Ordinary and Not Worth the Price”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

As a family group we dined there recently. 10 of us plus 1 child . One waitress was lovely - but the other one had attitude . The lighting was so poor we couldn't read the menu and had to resort to using the flashlight on our mobile phones to read it.
. Service was poor. Two of our group had the beef pie which was so hard it was not edible, 3 in the group had the chicken pie with only a few pieces of chicken. The potato mash was cold and lumpy. To her credit the nice waitress did say she would see what she could do about it. This was raised when we went to pay the bill and they did take one of the pies off the bill. However they did present us with a very large bill and when we checked it all the food items had been added on twice. We would never go back there or recommend it . Very poor showcasing of our beautiful Hunter Valley

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank julie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Average food but nice vibe”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

It's a pub so expect pub food ..prices are a bit steep for quality of food, but servings are generous!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank alishabhojwani12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blaxland Inn also viewed

Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Blaxland Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing