We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional”
Review of Blaxland Inn

Blaxland Inn
Ranked #6 of 74 Restaurants in Pokolbin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $38
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
1 review
“Exceptional”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

The wife and our two year old loved it. Such a friendly atmosphere. Food was exceptional. We had the garlic prawns and calamari for entree and can I say, it was magnificent. Had the fish of the day and steak for mains and it didn't disappoint. Highly recommend it. The staff and service is great. The food will not disappoint. Will definitely be coming back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gilsar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

743 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    425
    192
    76
    33
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Free pick up and return after a great meal”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

The staff are friendly and helpful and very professional. The meals are reasonably priced. The salads are fresh and plentiful. Chips are to die for. We had pies one night (we took a doggy bag home as it was so large). Next time we had a delicious grilled fish/chips with a large side salad...yum. We heartily recommend that you try early on in your trip as you will want to return.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barb M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
147 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great Night”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

8 Friends booked a table & a great night was had by all. The waitress was more than helpful in their wine choice & food recommendations. The food was better than expected & not just concentrating on meat dishes. The courtesy bus was a godsend, so all could enjoy the fabulous wine of the region without worries.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CDPort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great meal”
Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

We loved our dinner here. Very cosy atmosphere (seated close to the fireplace!) Service was friendly, and the meals great. More food than we expected, so no room for dessert, but everyone in our group of four loved the meal and would happily return.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank julienandrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Annan, NSW
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wholesome food, atmosphere, service..great!”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

My family were just over the moon with the Blaxlands Inn. Made a reservation via e-mail, got a really friendly, helpful response back. Walked through the door and was greeted with a friendly, "You must be Scott, welcome...we have a lovely table here for you or if you would like to eat outside we have one available there...". There were other patrons, just to let you know. I thought I was onto a winner here, but I have been let down before at other places after sitting down. This was not to be the case here. The friendliness continued through the drink order, ordering our food, during the food and after the meal. I checked, we were not the only people there and everyone seem to get the same service. It was not over the top and the staff seem genuinely happy to help and happy in their jobs. Now it didn't stop with the quality of the meals. Really wholesome food, I had the pot pie, a speciality for Blaxlands, oh wow!. Big chunks of tender meat, big pieces of nicely cooked vegies and a beautiful flaky pastry. Dessert did not let down either. My family and I felt really comfortable here. Service was friendly, efficient, but not over the top. Food selection, good, quality, triple yum factor, and price, very, very reasonable for the Hunter Valley.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blaxland Inn also viewed

Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Blaxland Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing