We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Experience at DenMar”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Red Door Collective
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic Experience at DenMar”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

My husband and I spent January 7-9th at Den Mar. This was our first visit to the Hunter Valley and we had a great experience at Den Mar. I am not sure that the photographs really do justice to the Den Mar Estate or the villa's, the standard of accommodation and certainly the natural beauty of the scenery was more than we had expected. We stayed in Villa Semillon and were completely happy. The villa was immaculately clean, linens etc. in pristine condition. Although I didn't cook anything beyond breakfast each morning the kitchen had all the gadgets anyone could possibly want. There was binder with information on the area and practical recommendations which we used. The villa was spacious and the décor was tasteful and attractive. The first night we opened a bottle of Den Mar Chardonnay and sat on the patio watching the sunset over the vineyard. It was perfect.

Dennis & Marie, the owners are a lovely couple and were super helpful. They arranged a wine tour, & made dinner reservations for us. Marie gave us a private wine tasting at the Den Mar Cellar Door which was another lovely little touch we will remember. I have no hesitation in recommending Den Mar, we had a great time and will hopefully return in the future.

Room Tip: Both Villa's have excellent views of the vineyards and mountains. We stayed in Villa Semillon a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swimmer_4664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
44
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We have just spent 3 nights at DenMar Estate.The accomodation was first class,spacious.modern.exceptionally clean. All our needs were catered for. The breakfast provisions were amazing-more than enought for the two of us & so fresh. Dennis & Marie were very welcoming & made us feel like friends. They recommended restaurants & wine tours & we even saw the harvesting taking place-for which they apologised - a bit noisy-but we found it very interesting. A great location & we have already recommended it to our friends

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We had an absolute fantastic stay with Dennis and Marie. The accommodation was very modern, spacious, comfortable and spotlessly clean. There wasn't one bug in sight. The bathroom was great and the shower had good water pressure. The facilities were all excellent and there was a lot of attention to detail (even an electric blanket for the winter and automatic lights outside for arriving when dark). The food for lunch was really nice too and the wine (especially the chardonnay, cab sav and rose) was of really good quality. We would strongly recommend DenMar estate for both accommodation and wine and we look forward to returning in the future.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GavRad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manly, Australia
1 review
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We just stayed 3 days at one of the villas on DenMar Estate. We loved the location as it provides easy to access many wineries in the area. The villa was well stocked with breakfast provisions and the lunch offered on arrival was above our expectations. It was nice to get to know Mary and Dennis who owned this estate and who both offered and outstanding hospitality. We really enjoyed our modern villa accommodation and enjoyed their Pinot 2008 so much that we brought home a good reserve to share with friends during the holidays. We highly recommend DenMar to anyone visiting the Hunter and we will return in the near future.
Thank you Marie and Dennis and see you soon,

Viviane and Harvey Romeike

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viviane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012

After trawling various websites trying to choose from the vast array of accommodation in the Hunter Valley, the trip advisor reviews and a Living Social voucher made this my first choice and it didn't disappoint. Well located near some great restaurants and plenty of vineyards, the villa was modern, comfortable and well equipped. Specifically as we had a young child, and my dad with us, having two well proportioned rooms and amazing bathrooms each, there was enough space for everyone. Loved the spa bath, generous breakfast selection and complimentary wine, we really enjoyed our stay, all complimented by Dennis and Marie's hospitality. Finally do take advantage of of the cellar door on your doorstep, they have some great wines to taste.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Lucy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed December 13, 2012

We recently stayed in one of the two beautiful villas on DenMar Estate and couldn't be happier with the service, the surrounds, the food and the warmth and friendliness of our hosts.
The view is really divine and serene, looking over vineyards and with lots of plants and trees you really experience the beauty and peace of the Hunter.
The food and wine were just superb, and the knowledge of the cellar master was excellent. You can have meals onsite, which were just beautiful.The fittings and furniture in the villas are all first class, stylish design yet warm and comfortable. The breakfast provisions were generous and sourced locally, which we enjoyed tremendously. We highly recommend it for couples, or friends wanting a lovely getaway where you are spoiled and pampered just the right amount. Definitely try all the wines, you will want to take some home!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheree C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Spent two fabulous nights at this boutique winery (5/6/12 to 7/12/12) and stayed in Villa Semillon. The accommodation was very spacious, modern and well maintained. Our breakfast hamper was a generous selection of eggs,bacon mushrooms,tomatoes,cereals etc. Plus we received a complimentary bottle of wine, cheese platter and chocolates. Our genial hosts Marie and Dennis were very welcoming and we really enjoyed the canapes and wine tasting followed by a three course tasty meal which was included in our deal. This indeed was a fantastic getaway, and we will certainly return. This idyllic wine estate is ideal for couples looking for a romantic escape.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pokolbin hotels
0.5 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
854 reviews
8.6 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
2.2 mi away
The Grange on Hermitage
The Grange on Hermitage
#3 of 39 in Pokolbin
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Berenbell Vineyard Retreat
Berenbell Vineyard Retreat
#9 of 39 in Pokolbin
98 reviews
0.8 mi away
Thistle Hill Guest House
2.8 mi away
Estate Tuscany
Estate Tuscany
#6 of 15 in Pokolbin
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Door Collective? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Door Collective

Property: Red Door Collective
Address: 479 Hermitage Rd, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia (Formerly DenMar Estate)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 39 Specialty Lodging in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Red Door Collective 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Door Collective Estate is a 25 acre property with 10 acres of premium vineyard and 2 luxurious 2-bedroom Villas, each bedroom has a spacious spa en-suite. The Villas are stylish and modern with a country feel and are as new, with a well equipped kitchen, veranda with BBQ and outdoor furniture and spectacular views over our vineyard to the mountain ranges. It is the perfect getaway for couples who seek solace, peace and tranquility from the stresses of the city life. It is also the perfect setting for a magical vacation or a getaway with family and friends. Our boutique accommodation consists of two private, beautifully-appointed two bedroom villas with stunning views over the vines. Inside you'll be wrapped in comfort and style enjoying luxury inclusions like Molton Brown toiletries, Hunter Valley Chocolate Co. chocolates, a gourmet cheese platter and complimentary bottle of RDC Estate wine. Our on-site restaurant, Bistro Artisan offers a relaxed breakfast and lunch menu prepared with only the freshest Hunter Valley ingredients. For dinner, modern Australian meets cultural fusion in an exquisite menu that evolves to reflect the seasonality of local produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Red Door Collective reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Door Collective Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing