We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did not get to eat!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Hunter Valley Steak House - CLOSED

Hunter Valley Steak House
Price range: $14 - $25
Cuisines: Australian, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Buffet, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Hue
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Did not get to eat!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

I do not often write bad reviews, like most I simply ask for decent service, good food, price equivalent to the service and food and a nice atmosphere. With the steakhouse we did not even get to the food. Admittedly we made a late booking (one hour before) but they said yes ok. They could have said no if they were too busy. We arrived on time and were told they were running about 10 minutes late. No problem for us. We returned 10 minutes later. A male staff member was openly agitated about something and was not hiding his feelings. I thought oh oh this does not bode well. We were shown to our table. Twenty minutes went by and no one took our order, no one actually came near us. Another twenty minutes passed with no one taking our order by which time our daughter was tired and agitated and so were we. We left.

How difficult to just take our order, get us some starters, or come and give us some of the most basic of human respect could it be? The restaurant was approximately 70% full. This was expensive as far as steakhouses go but we were prepared to pay but in that expense is dining experience and service. We were not afforded that opportunity.

I cannot remain silent and warn others. It's a real shame. I was looking forward to a nice steak and ended up earring nothing but cheese and biscuits that night.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Nathan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    19
    22
    20
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

The taste and portion is great! We enjoyed our dinner there. The only downside is not understanding our options. Did not know that the Le Club Accorhotels card can be applied and we paid full price for the meal which is $55 aud per set whereby we can get a 50% off with the card.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Puroland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

Very nice atmosphere looking out into the garden. Service was excellent and food was delightful. We did receive the ACCOR discount and therefore very well priced.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank RR_out_and_about_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“BIG Thumbs down!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

It is unfortunate that I find myself writing this review. Looks can be deceiving! Our experiece at the Hunter Valley steakhouse restuarant was the worst and cannot see ourselves going back!
We arrived 5mins early prior our reservation time, was taken to our seats (was never asked about drinks or offer rolls), took a good 15mins before we were asked what we'd like to order. We didn't order entree as we wanted to make room for desert. We waited 1.5hr before our mains arrived and when it did - everything on the plate was COLD the steak, frieds, mash and the Seafood (prawns, bugs and scallop) was uncooked! it was blan, no seasoning and most of all NO flavor. We only ate what was warm (couple of fries) as we were sooo hungry. At the end of it all, we just got sick and tired of the lack of good service so we decided not have desert and just leave.
We've been to alot of fine dining restuarants from 2 stars to 5-6 stars so I'd say we're pretty experienced on what to look for in food, service, etc. But this takes the cream on top! I think we would have had a better experience if we had gone to McD's. It is unfortunate that services given such as this is enough to make the restuarant look bad and 'not make it'.
We'll definitely be going back to Hunter Valley for good TLC and R&R but not at this restuarant for food.
P.S. The drinks we ordered never arrived!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SHATO_6578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good food Nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

Have eaten here on a couple of occasions and the food is always good. Service is also good. Nice atmosphere with all the wood.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Colin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hunter Valley Steak House also viewed

Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing