We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and homely”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Grange on Hermitage
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 22, 2014

We were made to feel very welcome and given loads of local advice.

The room was lovely and we were provided with freshly baked muffins each morning, to complement the already well-stocked kitchenette (breads, yoghurt, milk, juice, fruit, tea, coffee).

The website isn't clear on which rooms have spa bath so we were a little disappointed that ours didn't have one (only a shower).

There are a couple of wineries in walking distance. Mistletoe Winery over the road does a delicious dessert wine (Mistela) and offer twilight tastinsg (they're open until 6pm when most other wineries close at 5pm).

We hired bicycles and visited 5 different wineries. But we clocked up around 30km of cycling so it's not for the unfit!

A lovely stay. Can't wait to re-visit with friends and rent one of the cottages (they have fireplace and spa bath).

Room Tip: We stayed in Unit 3 which is connected to the main house. It was quiet, had heating (needed in June...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrangeonHerm, Owner at The Grange on Hermitage, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property after your recent visit.

For the energetic, bike riding is a great way to see the local wineries and cellar doors, but several are also within walking distance.
We are sorry that you found our website confusing and we will endeavour to address this issue.
Our king spa guestrooms were fully booked at the time of your visit, but hope you found the king ensuite room spacious and comfortable.

As we have lived in the Hnter Valley all our lives, we enjoy providing information to our guests to help make their stay enjoyable and informative.

We look forward to seeing you again when you next visit the Hunter Valley Wine region.
Regards
Chris & Ken Bray
Owners/managers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (205)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 205 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2014

Our family of five covering three generations spent three wonderful nights in May in one of the self-contained cottages situated in Chris and Ken's pretty and well-maintained parkland, and we couldn't have asked for better-appointed accommodation or more obliging and friendly hosts. The cottage was immaculate and the breakfast provisions were fresh, generous and yummy, especially the warm newly-baked muffins! A great location for exploring this beautiful wine region, we would recommend without reservation that you make this your base for a thoroughly enjoyable visit among the vines - we will certainly return on our next trip from the UK.

Room Tip: Cottages ideal for families or two couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 652Suzanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrangeonHerm, Owner at The Grange on Hermitage, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2014

Dear Suzanne
It was lovely meeting you and your family and we are so pleased your stay with us was enjoyable and comfortable.
Our cottages are perfect for 2 couples and ideally set up for families or friends wishing to spend time together In the lounge /dining area or on the verandah overlooking the parkland and vineyards.
The self catering facilities makes it easy to eat in or else guests can try one of our fantastic local restaurants.
Thank you for commenting about the cleanliness of the accommodation and we do pride ourselves with maintaining the lawns and gardens around the cottages and guestrooms.
Your feeback about the freshly cooked muffins is very much appreciated.

We do hope you will visit us again when next visiting from the UK.
Regards
Ken & Chris Bray
Owners/managers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014

What a great site!- so close to the Hunter attractions but secluded and peaceful in one's own park ensuring a complete rest. Chris and Ken looked after us well even including hot breakfast muffins and a wine tasting of the unique Hunter Semillon. Zena was also a welcome and quiet presence.
We will be back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wayne s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrangeonHerm, Owner at The Grange on Hermitage, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for the review you have written for our property.

Many guests comment on the peace and quite of our property, whilst being only a short distance from the many fantastic wineries and tourist attractions.

We do take pleasure in promoting Semillon, for which the Hunter is famous.
Our labrador Zena is a favourite with guests and especially enjoys the attention she receives.

We look forward to welcoming you to the Hunter sometime soon- maybe on a Semillon buying trip!
Kind regards
Ken & Chris Bray
Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

We stayed at this beautiful place to celebrate my boyfriend's birthday and we were both blown away. I read the reviews before making the booking and all the reviews are more than accurate. The place is beautiful and relaxing, the rooms are big and amazing, Ken and Chris are so friendly and helpful and Zena the dog is the cutest dog!! And not even mentioning the home made muffins that Chris makes, yummy!!
I would definitely recommend anyone to stay in this place and I would definitely come back there one day.
Thank you so much Ken and Chris!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lilitorres83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrangeonHerm, Owner at The Grange on Hermitage, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Grange on hermitage to celebrate your boyfiends birthday.
Our guestrooms are certainly very spacious and comfortable, as well as being private and quiet.

Zena our labrador loves to visit guests each morning and enjoys sitting outside in case there are any crumbs from the fresh muffins at breakfast time.

Thanks you again for taking the time to write a review and we look forward to meeting you again in the Hunter sometime soon.

Chris & Ken- owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

A beautiful property to stay on . All the creature comforts you need ...& more ! A warm cosy well appointed cottage and the best bed in ages! Breakfast supplies were very generous and the daily treats from Chris(muffins etc) were amazing The lovely setting with park like grounds, the dam, vineyard etc. made it so relaxing. It was quiet and tranquil and well positioned to get everywhere in the region. Newcastle was an easy 1 hour drive on the new expressway. Cessnook (for shopping), just 15 minutes away. And there were vineyards/wineries/restaurants around The Grange in all directions. Good roads to everything. We loved the daily visits from Zena the Lab (for her morning piece of toast!) and she was good company on a few walks. Chris & Ken have the perfect balance in accommodation in all respects..price,style, hosting etc. Well done. We will certainly be telling our New Zealand friends and relations about The Grange on Hermitage and we hope to get the opportunity to get back there in the future. Highly recommended to all seeking accomodation in the area

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiwisX2Auckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrangeonHerm, Owner at The Grange on Hermitage, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2014

Dear Guest
We are very grateful for the wonderful review you have given for our property.
It was lovely meeting you and being able to show you our part of the world and tell you about its features.

The cottage you stayed in is indeed very comfortable and well equipped with self catering facilities. Many people comment on the comfy beds.
We are pleased you had the time to explore the area and since the Hunter Expressway has opened, it makes access to our property and other local areas very easy and convenient.
The roads in the area have been upgraded over the last few years, which is great when visiting the local wineries and other tourist attractions.

Please come and see us when you next visit Australia.
Regards
Chris & Ken

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Owners Ken and Chris were fantastic and hospitable, not forgetting Zena (or is it Xena?). Totally enjoyed our stay there! For us city slickers, a most welcoming change with the huge expanse of greenery and space. The wild kangaroos nearby were a welcome distraction.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cheguru09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrangeonHerm, Owner at The Grange on Hermitage, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our property. Many guests enjoy staying in our property, as we are located on 28 acres of parkland, surrounded by natural bush, where you can usually find kangaroos and other wildlife.Zena our friendly black labrador, loves to accompany guests on their walk about the property.

Hope you visit us again in the peaceful hunter Valley when you need an escape from the hustle and bustle of city life.
Regards
Ken & Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights over Easter, and it was wonderful. Nice quiet location a little of the road, and no complaints whatsoever about the facilities. The couple who own the place and run it themselves were very friendly and helpful, and recommended an excellent wine tour company for us (James'). Breakfast items are left for you every day which you can eat on the table outside in the morning sunshine. And every morning a treat was left there for us - muffins, cakes etc. that I assume were backed fresh by the owners. And Ellie the friendly black Labrador is a treat to play with !!!
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redracer69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
1.8 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
904 reviews
1.3 mi away
Splinters Guest House
Splinters Guest House
#4 of 15 in Pokolbin
306 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#12 of 15 in Pokolbin
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
4.3 mi away
Hermitage Lodge
Hermitage Lodge
#2 of 8 in Pokolbin
374 reviews
4.3 mi away
Wine Country Villas
Wine Country Villas
#7 of 39 in Pokolbin
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grange on Hermitage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grange on Hermitage

Address: 820 Hermitage Road, Pokolbin, New South Wales, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 39 Specialty Lodging in Pokolbin
Price Range: $153 - $361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Grange on Hermitage 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable Country Style accommodation in Hunter Wine Country. Self catering 2 bedroom cottages & Guest Rooms on 28 acres of parkland & family vineyard. Enjoy the peace & tranquility by relaxing on the verandahs watching the kangaroos at dusk or wandering through our parkland or family vineyard accompanied by our Black Labradors, Ellie & the youthful, Zena. You could stroll across the road to the Mistletoe Winery. Our property is situated within minutes of a wide range of wineries, restaurants, H. V. Gardens, golf courses & many other attractions. Generous breakfast provisions included in your tariff. Your Hosts, Chris & Ken Bray & the Labrador Zena. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Grange on Hermitage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grange On Hermitage Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing