We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A perfect place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Grange on Hermitage
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“A perfect place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

We stayed at this beautiful place to celebrate my boyfriend's birthday and we were both blown away. I read the reviews before making the booking and all the reviews are more than accurate. The place is beautiful and relaxing, the rooms are big and amazing, Ken and Chris are so friendly and helpful and Zena the dog is the cutest dog!! And not even mentioning the home made muffins that Chris makes, yummy!!
I would definitely recommend anyone to stay in this place and I would definitely come back there one day.
Thank you so much Ken and Chris!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilitorres83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrangeonHerm, Owner at The Grange on Hermitage, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Grange on hermitage to celebrate your boyfiends birthday.
Our guestrooms are certainly very spacious and comfortable, as well as being private and quiet.

Zena our labrador loves to visit guests each morning and enjoys sitting outside in case there are any crumbs from the fresh muffins at breakfast time.

Thanks you again for taking the time to write a review and we look forward to meeting you again in the Hunter sometime soon.

Chris & Ken- owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    14
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
101
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

A beautiful property to stay on . All the creature comforts you need ...& more ! A warm cosy well appointed cottage and the best bed in ages! Breakfast supplies were very generous and the daily treats from Chris(muffins etc) were amazing The lovely setting with park like grounds, the dam, vineyard etc. made it so relaxing. It was quiet and tranquil and well positioned to get everywhere in the region. Newcastle was an easy 1 hour drive on the new expressway. Cessnook (for shopping), just 15 minutes away. And there were vineyards/wineries/restaurants around The Grange in all directions. Good roads to everything. We loved the daily visits from Zena the Lab (for her morning piece of toast!) and she was good company on a few walks. Chris & Ken have the perfect balance in accommodation in all respects..price,style, hosting etc. Well done. We will certainly be telling our New Zealand friends and relations about The Grange on Hermitage and we hope to get the opportunity to get back there in the future. Highly recommended to all seeking accomodation in the area

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwisX2Auckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrangeonHerm, Owner at The Grange on Hermitage, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Dear Guest
We are very grateful for the wonderful review you have given for our property.
It was lovely meeting you and being able to show you our part of the world and tell you about its features.

The cottage you stayed in is indeed very comfortable and well equipped with self catering facilities. Many people comment on the comfy beds.
We are pleased you had the time to explore the area and since the Hunter Expressway has opened, it makes access to our property and other local areas very easy and convenient.
The roads in the area have been upgraded over the last few years, which is great when visiting the local wineries and other tourist attractions.

Please come and see us when you next visit Australia.
Regards
Chris & Ken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

Owners Ken and Chris were fantastic and hospitable, not forgetting Zena (or is it Xena?). Totally enjoyed our stay there! For us city slickers, a most welcoming change with the huge expanse of greenery and space. The wild kangaroos nearby were a welcome distraction.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheguru09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrangeonHerm, Owner at The Grange on Hermitage, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our property. Many guests enjoy staying in our property, as we are located on 28 acres of parkland, surrounded by natural bush, where you can usually find kangaroos and other wildlife.Zena our friendly black labrador, loves to accompany guests on their walk about the property.

Hope you visit us again in the peaceful hunter Valley when you need an escape from the hustle and bustle of city life.
Regards
Ken & Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights over Easter, and it was wonderful. Nice quiet location a little of the road, and no complaints whatsoever about the facilities. The couple who own the place and run it themselves were very friendly and helpful, and recommended an excellent wine tour company for us (James'). Breakfast items are left for you every day which you can eat on the table outside in the morning sunshine. And every morning a treat was left there for us - muffins, cakes etc. that I assume were backed fresh by the owners. And Ellie the friendly black Labrador is a treat to play with !!!
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redracer69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

We stayed at the Grange midweek for a few days for my birthday.
From the very beginning the owners were hospitable, kind and thoughtful, attending to our every need before we even realised them!
From the freshly baked homemade pastry surprise on our porch table every morning to the included bicycles to Zena the dog, we loved every second of our stay.
We took the King Spa room and it was wonderful. The bed was large and comfortable and the spa bath was very luxurious! The room itself was nicely decorated, very clean and well-appointed.
The small kitchenette was more than adequate for our needs, and the provided continental breakfast was often the nicest meal of the day.
The position was perfect for us, just a few hundred yards to the first cellar door!
I would have no hesitation either staying here again myself or recommending this place to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LittleMooUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

We first came across this little gem of a place purely by accident in December 2012 whilst making wedding preparations.
We stayed for a week and loved it so much decided to re book for ourselves and wedding guests for April this year.
The cottages and guest rooms cannot be called in to question for cleanliness, as they are all spotless and are equal to, if not surpassing many 5* hotels.
If you are hungry or thirsty after your journey, enough provisions are available to keep you going until you feel like shopping.
Ken and Chris are exceptional, very welcoming and nothing is too much trouble for them. In all our travels the world over, we have never come across such accommodating, friendly hosts.
We asked permission to hold an evening barbecue for 15 people after the wedding. Not only did they say yes and they could provide table chairs cutlery etc. They were all set out ready for our return.
We would have no hesitation in recommending this place to anyone requiring wedding accommodation, a holiday, or just somewhere to get away from it all, to relax and recharge your batteries. It is a quiet, peaceful, serene place to be.
And last of all not forgetting zena the most friendliest & playfull dog you will ever meet.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrangeonHerm, Owner at The Grange on Hermitage, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Hi Dave and Chris
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of our property.
It was really a pleasure being "part" of you wedding plans and helping celebrate your wedding in Wine country.
We were so pleased to meet your other family members and friends and glad that our accommodation suited your needs.
Hopefully we will see you again when you next visit Australia.
Regards
Ken & Chris Bray - owners ( and Zena the friendly Labrador )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

The only bad thing with this accommodation is that I didn't stay longer. The room was very comfortable, the homemade banana bread and muffins delicious and the location was perfect. It was so nice I proposed to my girlfriend! We will definitely return. I can't recommend this accommodation enough. We felt very welcome especially from Zena the dog. :)

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank milesdaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrangeonHerm, Owner at The Grange on Hermitage, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you so much for your glowing review. We feel very honoured that you chose to become engaged when staying at our property.The Hunter Valley certainly is a great place to escape to for a romantic getaway.
Being an owner/host of a family run accommodation business is very rewarding, especially when we hear that our guests have had a wonderful stay.
Thank you again and we wish you all the best in planning your wedding.
Chris & Ken - Owners
PS The Hunter Valley is a great wedding destination!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
1.7 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley
4.5 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
0.6 mi away
Hunter Valley Resort
Hunter Valley Resort
#8 of 15 in Pokolbin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
0.6 mi away
Estate Tuscany
Estate Tuscany
#6 of 15 in Pokolbin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grange on Hermitage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grange on Hermitage

Property: The Grange on Hermitage
Address: 820 Hermitage Road, Pokolbin, New South Wales, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Grange on Hermitage 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable Country Style accommodation in Hunter Wine Country. Self catering 2 bedroom cottages & Guest Rooms on 28 acres of parkland & family vineyard. Enjoy the peace & tranquility by relaxing on the verandahs watching the kangaroos at dusk or wandering through our parkland or family vineyard accompanied by our Black Labradors, Ellie & the youthful, Zena. You could stroll across the road to the Mistletoe Winery. Our property is situated within minutes of a wide range of wineries, restaurants, H. V. Gardens, golf courses & many other attractions. Generous breakfast provisions included in your tariff. Your Hosts, Chris & Ken Bray & the Labrador Zena. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your The Grange on Hermitage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grange On Hermitage Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing