We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was happy with everything, strongly recommend!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Grange on Hermitage
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 30, 2013

This is a very clean & tidy cottage in a quite, beautiful and convenient block in the Valley. Thanks Chris & Ken, who are very friendly and generous as well as their lovely dog, Zina. The air con was on before we arrived in a hot day, which we were very touched. Plenty of food and drinks in the kitchen and you can prepare a big breakfast for your whole family. Also we saw a really kangaroo in the yard! Thank you again, Chris & Ken. We may see you soon.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GreenStone J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (197)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 197 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2013

My partner, my mother, brother and his partner stayed in one of the cottages at The Grange on Hermitage a little while back. Apologies for not doing this review earlier! We returned because we loved our previous stay and needed accommodation in the area to attend my daughter's engagement party. I knew the accommodation that Chris and Ken provide would be excellent and again it was everything and more than we anticipated. It is great to be able to recommend to friends and family accommodation that you are 100% confident that it will not disappoint. Thank you Chris and Ken for a lovely weekend!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Ken and Chris are fantastic and thoughtful host and hostess. The cottages are outsanting, very well equiped and comfortable (with air con). The rooms are big enough, the bathrooms well designed, you get all you need in the kitchen (breakfast was supplied as self help style, which was perfect for us being in a cottage) and you have a terrace to enjoy a meal or just have a rest, drinking a glass of wine (from Hunter Valley!). The cottages are equiped with gaz BBQ, it is a plus. The Grange on Hermitage property is very well located to visit Hunter Valley wineries, go to restaurants, or visit the great resort Garden close by and much more. The cottages are nested within a big property and vineyard, which guarantees tranquility and calm. I strongly recommend this accomodation and will certainly go back. BTW, It is an ecofriendly resort using solar power energy and stored high quality rain water (very nice indeed).

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alain55_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

B&Bs, when available, are favoured for accommodation on our travels everywhere and we were seduced into going to The Grange following the glowing reports on Trip Advisor..
We were disappointed.
The property is well situated in the middle of a wine area and surrounded by vines and light forest.
There are two stand alone cottages which we cannot comment on. We stayed in one of two rooms attached to the main building. The room was large with a king bed but, apart from two mandatory prints above the bed, had none of the little extras associated with a B&B. The toiletries were minimal and bubbles were not supplied for the spa.
A nice small cake was provided on the first day.
The biggest letdown were the breakfasts which were self help style left in the fridge. A bowl of fruit salad, yoghurt, juice and eight slices of bread hardly constitute a B&B continental breakfast. We had four slices of bread the first day - and the remaining four slices were all that was supplied the next morning!
Where were the croissants, muffins or even cheeses and cold meats etc normally associated with
B&B non cooked breakfasts - especially at $230 per night!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrangeonHerm, Owner at The Grange on Hermitage, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our property.
We are sorry you seemed to be disappointed with some aspects of the room you booked. We are proud of our self catering B & B style guestrooms that are rated 4.5 star through AAA and
have Australian tourism T qual accreditation.

The majority of our guests appreciate being able to choose to have their continental breakfast at a time that suits them. We have had many compliments on the amount and quality of the breakfast provisions, especially the freshly cut fruit salad. Thank you for your suggestions about muffins or croissants and we will try to include more choice for guests.

As our property is located in the country, we operate on an environmental waste water system that discourages the use of bubble bath solutions, and instead provide a suitable bath gel for use in the spa. Thank you for your comments; we will now explain this to other guests.

We do appreciate your feedback , as it can identify issues that concern guests and need to be addressed.

Chris & Ken Bray
Owners/ managers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

What an amazing place to spend the weekend exploring the Hunter Valley.

The owners, Ken and Chris were so welcoming and a wealth of local knowledge. They provided us with fantastic recommendations that I will be sharing with any friends visiting the Hunter. Their black lab, Zena, is just as welcoming and always seems to appear just when the BBQ has finished cooking!

The cottages are spacious, stylish, private and extremely clean. Chris was kind enough to show us one of the guest rooms as well which was just beautiful and has a lovely big spa bath. Think I might try that for my next visit when it is just the 2 of us.

Breakfast was amazing as we loved the flexibility of cooking our bacon and eggs on the BBQ at a time that suited us whilst kangaroo spotting in the meantime.

Overall, I could not fault this place and will definitely be back. Thanks for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

My partner and I stayed at The Grange on Hermitage last weekend for Jazz in the Vines. We were so impressed by our choice of accommodation! We were welcomed by our friendly hosts Ken and Chris with freshly baked cupcakes. Room was immaculate with King bed and spa bath! We were surprised by the delicious healthy breakfast basket provided. Perfect and quiet location. We will definately be back next year and will recommend to friends and family!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brianna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the grange. A friendly welcome from the family as well as Xena, the lively lab. Spotlessly clean, modern furnishings and appliances, comfy beds and an excellent shower (great water pressure!)

A peaceful and pretty setting to escape from the city. With beautiful sunsets over the vines we enjoyed dinner and brekkie on our private patio.

We would highly recommend staying here & look forward to going back ourselves.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WeldenC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
1.8 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
880 reviews
6.7 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
4.3 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Splinters Guest House
Splinters Guest House
#4 of 15 in Pokolbin
299 reviews
4.5 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
4.3 mi away
Hermitage Lodge
Hermitage Lodge
#2 of 8 in Pokolbin
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grange on Hermitage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grange on Hermitage

Address: 820 Hermitage Road, Pokolbin, New South Wales, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Pokolbin
Price Range: $144 - $367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Grange on Hermitage 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable Country Style accommodation in Hunter Wine Country. Self catering 2 bedroom cottages & Guest Rooms on 28 acres of parkland & family vineyard. Enjoy the peace & tranquility by relaxing on the verandahs watching the kangaroos at dusk or wandering through our parkland or family vineyard accompanied by our Black Labradors, Ellie & the youthful, Zena. You could stroll across the road to the Mistletoe Winery. Our property is situated within minutes of a wide range of wineries, restaurants, H. V. Gardens, golf courses & many other attractions. Generous breakfast provisions included in your tariff. Your Hosts, Chris & Ken Bray & the Labrador Zena. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Orbitz so you can book your The Grange on Hermitage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grange On Hermitage Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing