We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Treat!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Grange on Hermitage
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 15, 2013

It starts with Chris and Ken (the truly lovely proprietors), extends to Xena Warrior Princess Lab, and continues with the totally comfortable, large and well-appointed guest quarters. Add to the above all of the delicious breakfast items prepared by Chris, the views of the Galah parrots swooping about, the kookaburra laughing from the trees and the kangaroos...what you end up with is a totally Aussie experience in one lovely place, with wine to boot!
The Grange is perfectly located, run by a truly enjoyable couple, and a place we highly recommend for its location and its pace. Treat yourself.

Room Tip: All rooms would seem to be comfortable and enjoyable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank passportwilltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (205)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

169 - 175 of 205 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2013

A last minute booking turned out to be one of the best days of our holiday. Greeted with a warm welcome we were soon booked on a wine tour getting the most from our 24 hours in the hunter valley. Gluten free breakfast was rustled up with no prior notice and nothing was too much trouble. The highlight had to be our private tour to see kangaroos in the wild.... If you like a relaxed atmosphere, clean and comfortable surroundings with first class service book now!
Thank you for making us so welcome.. Frances and Tony Adamson

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fran A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We drove up to the guest house and our lovely host, Chris and Zena the black labdour, was out to greet us. We were shown to our room and then given a quick tour. The views all around were fantastic. I have been to Hunter Valley before and have stayed other places, but if you are looking for a guest house in the Hunter, we cannot recommend The Grange on Hermitage highly enough.

Ken and Chris also recommended my family winery places and activities to do. They provided us a bottle of their wine which they produce, because we were getting married on that weekend. Chris also sorted out our breakfast every morning and they were so fresh.

My only regret was that we had to leave and say good bye to our lovely host.

The Grange on Hermitage and Hunter Valley is a stunning location.

Room Tip: When it rains on your wedding day...it's a blessing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tim n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Our family recently stayed at the Grange in Hermitage for our wedding. We stayed in a beautiful, self contained, 2 bedroom cottage. The cottage is immaculately clean and welcoming. The beds wrere much more comfortable than other 4.5 star hotels we had stayed. Hunter Valley attractions are less than 10 minutes away.
Chris, Ken and their labrador, Zena were wonderful hosts. They gave us a bottle of wine (from the grapes in their vineyard) to celebrate our wedding day.Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Catherine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Stayed one night at The Grange, and what an amazing place. Chris and Ken (the owners) were very welcoming and Chris even came knocking at our door with freshly made banana cake to go with our afternoon coffee. We stayed in a beautifully appointed self contained cottage that was modern and spotlessly clean. The room was enormous with a super king sized bed, table and chairs as well as two club/relaxing chairs. The bathroom was also large with a big jacuzzi corner bath and separate shower cubicle. Then there was a full kitchenette with microwave, kettle, toaster and everything you needed to enjoy the stock of breakfast goodies that are provided! Three different types of cereal, yoghurt, a wonderful bowl of fresh fruit, bread for toasting, milk and fresh orange juice. Teas and coffee, both instant and ground coffee/loose leaf tea. Perfect for a hearty start to a day of winery visiting. Little touches like a well stocked DVD library if you need it, advice on restaurants and wineries made this just a great stay. A final mention to Zena, the owner's lovely black Lab. She met us on arrival and was there to say goodbye too which was nice as we were beginning to kiss our dogs! The Grange offers a peaceful location in easy reach of all the wineries in the Hunter, and Chris and Ken have created a real gem - do not look anywhere else!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1, attached to the main house with great views into the bush.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank b1ggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Chris & Ken and Zeena the black labradore welcomed us in and we didnt want to leave the peace and serinaty ofthe beautiful bush vinyard setting. We had a welcome brekkie hamper and fresh cut fruit salad and creamy yoghurt in the fridge.
The spa was hugh , the log fire was beautiful( although not used)

The whole setting was perfect for a retreat to recharge batteries after a big year. Our family came and stayed for 2 days as well and they loved it too. I would definatly go there again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rhonda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We were visiting family in the area and feel the motels are overpriced. We couldn't have been happier with our choice. The accommodation was fully contained - giving us total privacy. It was spotlessly clean, spacious and comfortable. Facilities were excellent - kitchette very handy and a beautifully fresh continental breakfast was included. Chris and Ken were very welcoming but not intrusive. The location is handy to everywhere that you would like to see in Pokolbin.

Room Tip: Make sure you pack some tasty treats to enjoy on the verandah with the wine you select from the vine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank owlone57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
1.8 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
904 reviews
1.3 mi away
Splinters Guest House
Splinters Guest House
#4 of 15 in Pokolbin
306 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#12 of 15 in Pokolbin
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
4.3 mi away
Hermitage Lodge
Hermitage Lodge
#2 of 8 in Pokolbin
374 reviews
4.3 mi away
Wine Country Villas
Wine Country Villas
#7 of 39 in Pokolbin
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grange on Hermitage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grange on Hermitage

Address: 820 Hermitage Road, Pokolbin, New South Wales, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 39 Specialty Lodging in Pokolbin
Price Range: $153 - $361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Grange on Hermitage 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable Country Style accommodation in Hunter Wine Country. Self catering 2 bedroom cottages & Guest Rooms on 28 acres of parkland & family vineyard. Enjoy the peace & tranquility by relaxing on the verandahs watching the kangaroos at dusk or wandering through our parkland or family vineyard accompanied by our Black Labradors, Ellie & the youthful, Zena. You could stroll across the road to the Mistletoe Winery. Our property is situated within minutes of a wide range of wineries, restaurants, H. V. Gardens, golf courses & many other attractions. Generous breakfast provisions included in your tariff. Your Hosts, Chris & Ken Bray & the Labrador Zena. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Grange on Hermitage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grange On Hermitage Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing