We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, but not worth the wait”

Shakey Tables Restaurant
Ranked #30 of 74 Restaurants in Pokolbin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Australian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice, but not worth the wait”
Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

The food was nice, but the experience was spoiled by horrendously slow service. We arrived at 7:30, and were still waiting for main course well after 9:00, by which time we were ravenous having skipped lunch in anticipation of a fancy dinner. Whilst waiting for entree, the host did apologise that they were busier than expected (even though we had booked a day in advance, they had quite a few walk-ins.). Unfortunately, when I'm spending nearly $500 at a restaurant, a token apology doesn't make up for poor service. (In fairness I should also add that he waived the charge for a couple of bottles of mineral water.)

We've all experienced an unexpected service delay at a restaurant, and some deal with it better than others. More attentive table service, gestures such as more bread, some complimentary wine or aperitif, and regular updates on the progress can all go a long way to salvaging the guests' experience. Sadly we didn't find that here.




Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank SimonFromSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    29
    14
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Tough & Bland Steak with Soggy Chips”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

We chose to stay here for two nights largely due to the great reviews we saw for the restaurant. I don't know what happened - this will be my first ever 1* review - the worst meal I've ever had for food, service, atmosphere and price!

I put my starter - tuna with avocado ice cream - down to personal taste. It was a huge portion with such a strong weirdly sweet dressing I couldn't eat it. The balls of avocado ice cream were covered with those crunchy little crystals you get when something's sat uncovered in the freezer too long. To be fair, my partner enjoyed his tiny pork and scallop starter.

We both ordered steak for the main and at almost $50 each were expecting good things. It arrived nicely medium rare but was the toughest and blandest steak we've ever tried, neither of us managed to eat much. We asked for steak knives, which they didn't have so I guess they can't get many orders. We also couldn't eat the soggy and burnt tasting chips. The green beans on the side were inoffensive so that was about all I ate.

To add to this, we could clearly hear the waitress discussing us in the kitchen (there was only one other couple in there so sound really travelled), such an awkward and miserable experience.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ffhyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosford, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
292 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Very Good, but....”
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Shakey Tables has the potential to be a top class restaurant. Three of us went for lunch and two of the meals were superb....the Wagyu and duck meals were absolutely faultless, but meal number 3 was pigeon. It was dry and really lacking a sauce for a bit of moisture. We mentioned this to the waitress and that was that!
Desserts are worth keeping a bit of space for....the rose, pistachio and lychee ice cream with Turkish Delight and Pistachio Persian fairy floss was a standout.
The wine list has a number of wines by the glass but only from their own label. Other wines were available but by the whole bottle.
Sadly when the bill came it only showed a total....no breakdown of what we ate. Maybe a small point, but in this day and age, not really acceptable.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank moonflower59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing food, outstanding service”
Reviewed April 1, 2014

We loved the food at shakey tables, truly beautifully presented with a great mix of flavours and textures.

The wine list was good and service wonderful, we will be back.

This was excellent value for money for a fine dining experience

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Wendy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Surprise up an unsealed road”
Reviewed March 27, 2014

This is a modest looking restaurant up a bit of a track. you drive to the door. The decor is modern, quirky and in interesting colours. The food is excellent. Pidgeon is the signature dish of the restaurant and my friends who had the dish were very pleased with it. The restaurant is professionally run and the food overall was interesting and satisfying. It is not cheap but overall worthwhile. The wine list was extensive. Service from the owner was excellent.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RuthandTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shakey Tables Restaurant also viewed

Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Shakey Tables Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing