We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Willow Tree Estate – picturesque, romantic...”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
221 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
12 Bedrooms, 11 Bathrooms, Sleeps 40
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle, New South Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 221 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
lozz06
?
1 review
“Willow Tree Estate – picturesque, romantic, peaceful and unique with welcoming staff, minus the huge price tag”
Reviewed August 23, 2010 for a stay in July 2010

My partner and I recently spent 3 days in The Hunter. It was our first visit and we were budget conscious (meaning more money to spend on food and wine!) as most places tipped the scales at $260-$350 p/n. We eventually chose the Monet Room (spa suite with king bed, part of the main guesthouse) for $250 p/n inc. brekky at Willow Tree Estate. We arrived to a beautiful estate surrounded by rolling hills of vines with a mountainous backdrop. We were instantly impressed by the warm greeting and the older but uniquely styled guesthouse (large cosy lounge with a fire place, DVD’s, clean and well presented breakfast room). Our room was clean, presentable and had everything we needed - a bottle of complimentary champagne, heating/cooling in both the room and bathroom, a small tv and a comfy bed but most importantly, a verandah looking out over the estates dam, vineyards and mountain range. The all you can eat fully inclusive continental breakfast was a perfect start offering a range of cereals, mueslis, yoghurts, nuts, cheeses, tea, coffee, juice, breads, muffins and crumpets.



The first night we tried ‘The Mill’ restaurant for dinner. The food and wine was incredible and we felt it catered for everyone with those little fancy touches. Prices were reasonable – not much more than pubs prices these days ($30 for a decent main meal, although smaller than pub size).

The second night we ordered a meat and cheese platter for two back at Willow Tree (after a day’s wine tour). The small but satisfying selection of meats, cheeses, nuts and crackers was more than enough to feed the both of us. Their other food options are limited but they are willing to cater for everyone’s needs.



The Willow Tree Estate staff were very helpful, respected our privacy but were very approachable and will happily recommend the local hot spots without being too in your face.

It’s in a great location towards the end of a quiet cul-de-sac (meaning no traffic/noise) and is close to countless cellar doors and restaurants with Blue Tongue Brewery only a 5 minute walk down the road.

We highly recommend Willow Tree for anyone wanting a quiet, value for money and memorable experience in The Hunter.

Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yw_chng
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
“Amazing lodging, host and environment ;)”
Reviewed August 20, 2010 for a stay in August 2010

Cozy and inviting lodging situated in a peaceful and beautiful location. Imagine waking up in the morning, seeing greenery, breathing in fresh air, and... believe it or not... Kangeroos hopping around! Just like in your dreams. I swear I really thought I was dreaming... Raylee, the host was extremely friendly and helpful. My friend and I encountered some issues with our rented car, and without a doubt, she helped us in whatever she can. Close proximity to most of the attractions too! We definitely enjoyed our stay and will recommend to all our family and friends. All thumbs up!!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdrianBSy...
Sydney
1 review
“The best view in the Hunter Valley & so central!!”
Reviewed August 2, 2010 for a stay in July 2010

I stayed with my girlfriend on the Fri/Sat night in the Summer House & we had the perfect weekend. Raylee knew all the best places to go & we had a really wonderful weekend away. We got in late on the Friday arvo & had one of her awesome home madepot pies & then headed out to the Bluetongue Brewery beer garden at the end of the street for a nightcap & then chatted with all the roos as we walked home. The Summer House was spacious & the spa was great! The view across the garden to the Brokenback Range is absolutely stunning & we think second only to the view from Audrey Wilkinson wines which was recommended to us by Raylee. We had a great time & will be back!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janeym38
Sydney
1 review
“Wonderfully relaxing!”
Reviewed August 1, 2010 for a stay in December 2009

We stayed with our young children for the weekend, our hosts were incredibly accomodating, the rooms were surprisingly spacious & views were gorgeous. I was told the accomodation was fully booked, however you would never have known as it was so private, relaxing and quiet. The kids loved the swimming pool and watching the kangaroos first thing in the morning. Willow Tree Estate was so central to all the places we visited and I would have no hesitation in recommending it to family and friends.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vicomte77...
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Gorgeous location, wonderfully relaxing and immensly romantic”
Reviewed July 14, 2010 for a stay in July 2010

We had such a wonderful time here, I proposed to my partner! She was obviously over the moon. Its a gorgeous place, wonderful service and very well appointed. We highly highly recommend it for any overnight or holiday stay. The location is very central in the hunter region but away from the main roads and tour groups so you can drink your wine, enjoy your cheese and chocolate and the wonderful company in peace.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suisuifor...
forster
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely georgous”
Reviewed June 6, 2010 for a stay in June 2010

This place is beautiful I took my husband for his 40th birthday for a weekend away it was 3 days of relaxation eating and drinking and watching the kangroos right on our door step each morning. This place is great for couples or you can have the whole house for a group booking each room is beautifully done. I would recommend this place for anyone wanting to stay in the hunter and wanting romance or a great weekend away with friends. Raylee our hostess was lovely and looked after us so well. Thank you! Love it!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommi_23
Springwood, Australia
1 review
“Fantastic”
Reviewed May 26, 2010 for a stay in May 2010

I will start by saying that the owners are fantastic, very helpful with great restaurant and winery recommendations. We stayed in the "summer house" which is a self contained studio room seperate from the main guest house. Awaiting us upon arrival was a great bottle of red wine and a fruit/chocolate basket. The room was clean and tidy with loads of space. The owner took us on a tour of the guesthouse showing us the different types of accommodation there is available and it looked great, we are not guesthouse people prefferring to stay in self contained accomodation, the Willowtree Estate offers the best of both worlds. We would definately stay here again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing