We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A really lovely and quiet B&B in a great location”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
226 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
12 Bedrooms, 11 Bathrooms, Sleeps 40
Pokolbin, Cessnock, Greater Newcastle, New South Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 226 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Biker1957
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A really lovely and quiet B&B in a great location”
Reviewed April 14, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We stayed for 3 nights and cannot fault Willow Tree Estate.

We received a very warm welcome from Raylee who immediately asked us if we had plans for dinner and then arranged for a local restaurant to pick us up and return us after dinner (FOC) so that we didn't have to drive.

The room was large with an equally large en-suite. It was clean and tidy with a very comfortable king size bed. It had a balcony from where there are beautiful views of the valley and mountains and the local wildlife including kangaroos.

Breakfast was continental style buffet and had an excellent choice of both food and beverages.

We didn't try the pool but it looked very inviting.

Would we stay there again? Most definitely.

Thank you Raylee for a most enjoyable and relaxing stay.

Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 29, 2015
Hi Brent,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on your stay with us. It is always lovely to hear such positive feedback from our guests.

We hope you enjoyed your time in Australia and will visit us again in the future.

Regards
Raylee
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle...
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing, peaceful place to stay in the Hunter.”
Reviewed April 12, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

My Husband and I spent the Easter weekend in the Summer House on the Willow Tree Estate. Beautiful location, peaceful surroundings and Raylee is a wonderful host, very helpful and friendly. We were also married on the estate with Raylee as our witness, the day was amazing with many beautiful photo's captured around the estate. Would definitely love to stay there again.

Location Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 29, 2015
Hi Michelle and Dave,

Thank you for your lovely review. What a beautiful day your wedding was! Thank you for the lovely photos. I am so happy you chose to enjoy your special occasion with us.

All the best.

Raylee
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kkhavin70
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic!!!!!”
Reviewed April 7, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Great place to stay in the Hunter.
Very clean and tidy. Friendly service and a great location.
Will definitely be back. The only reason that I won't recommend it is that I want it all to myself....LOL

Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 7, 2015
Hi Ken,

Thank you for your lovely review. It was a really nice Easter weekend with a great group of people staying.

Even with a full house it still has that quiet relaxed feel, doesn't it. The most traffic we had was the amazing number of kangaroos out and about.!

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Take care
Raylee
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suefeens
Surfers Paradise, Australia
2 reviews
“Beautiful Property in a Great Location”
Reviewed March 30, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Just had a return stay in Willow Tree Estate for The Eagles Concert.
We just love the place. Great location, old world charm and gracious hosts. It is a great place to relax, unwind and visit the wineries and play golf.

Value Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 7, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your return visit. The Eagles certainly didn't disappoint!

The Summerhouse is definitely the choice for relaxation and privacy.

All the best
Raylee
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen02...
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Delight amoung the vines”
Reviewed March 29, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I spent the weekend at Willow Tree for our 30th Anniversary.
We were greeted by Raylee who showed us to the summer house which is not connected to the main building .It was huge, very quiet and private. Next to a very inviting pool which was great as the day was just under 40degrees, and need after doing the wineries all day. We were given a bottle of wine and chocolates and told to help our self’s to the bottle of port in the room. The bathroom had a spa and kitchenette was very well equipped. In the late afternoon and first thing in the morning you could sit outside and watch the Kangaroos go about their business. Breakfast was in the main house which was a continental breakfast with a great spread put on.
We had a lovely stay and would stay here again in the future.

Location Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 30, 2015
Hi Stephen,

Thank you for your delightful review. I am so happy you and Fiona enjoyed your stay with us on your wedding anniversary.

The Summerhouse is a beautiful studio and gives you that extra privacy, which the guests love.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

All the best
Raylee
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
superhapp...
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Overpriced, look elsewhere for romance as there's much nicer comfortable places”
Reviewed March 20, 2015 for a stay in May 2014

The Hunter Valley is notorious for being over priced, however particularily so in the case of this place.

Overpriced for what it is. It is basically a large house with separate bedrooms which are the rooms, like an oversized B&B. As such they are right on top of each other and you can hear everything. Which isn't a problem if your neighbours are considerate. If you get stuck next to a family with kids like we did it will be far from relaxing. We were woken early with loud screaming and TV which kept us awake from 6am. This place is not at all suitable for children, it's clearly for couples. Why the owners would allow children when the smallest noise travels between rooms is beyond me.

The rooms are quite large but dated with daggy furnishings. The "themes" of the rooms doesn't go beyond a couple of prints on the wall.

The cleanliness in the room could best be described as average. We paid extra for a spa room, and found the spa to be poorly maintained and has a feeling of uncleanliness about it. It's not romantic and it wasn't inviting at all, we decided against using it.

The breakfast is average. You are only given a 1 hour window to eat even though nothing is cooked, it's only cereals and coffee anyway.

Our air conditioner would not work for heat so we were quite cold. Due to reception being closed there was no one we could contact.

I found the service during our stay non existent and poor. We arrived just after dark and no one was available to check us in. Even during breakfast there was no welcoming service or greeting, it was all very cold and business like.

The location was beautiful and picturesque - a great view from your room. Kangaroos are happily hopping around the grounds.

Overall I have stayed in numerous places in the Hunter Valley. Save your money. There is much better out there especially if you are after romance.

Location Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 23, 2015
This is a highly suspect review. These people have not stayed recently as the reference to the air-con not working, and it being cold means it has to have been at least 6 - 8 months ago. We are also an adult only retreat and have been for a long time now. Why you have waited 6+ months to write such a scathing review seems extremely questionable.

References to no service are incorrect. We are open from 8am to 7:30pm and available if anyone needs assistance. We personally check-in all our guests, however if on the odd occasion we have a late check-in, we provide a letter with instructions for parking and accessing the property. We are also available by phone if there are any issues.

We serve a full continental breakfast, which is very substantial. This consists of breads, muffins, crumpets, cereals, hard boiled eggs, cheese and meat platter, yoghurt, dried, fresh and tinned fruit, juices and tea and coffee.

We pride ourselves on our cleanliness, as many of our reviewers reference how spotless the place is. We have cleaners come in to do the rooms, then another cleaner checks all the rooms to ensure they are perfect. As for dated furnishings, we constantly update our property to have an authentic farm stay feel.

I am at a loss at why this review is legitimate and will be taken action to address it.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kazsaau
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Sooooo welcoming”
Reviewed March 15, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

My friend and I stayed at Willow Tree Estate for two nights.
With lovely grounds, a beautiful room and a very warm and gracious hostess the stay was truly enjoyable. We chose to grab some cheeses from the smelly cheese shop and have our dinner (cheese and wine) on the balcony over looking the beautiful view.
The room and bathroom were very spacious and clean and had a lovely little touch of "country luxury" to them.
The continental breakfast provided a plentiful selection and will definitely tide you over to lunch. The location is great , being right in the middle of Pokolbin ... two minutes from the hunter gardens and plenty of wineries to keep you busy.

I would absolutely recommend a visit and am thinking of taking my partner there where we head to the area next time.

Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 30, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to right such a lovely review. It really pleases us when people let us know how good their stay with us was.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Regards
Raylee
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing