We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“What a Lovely Time”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
218 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
12 Bedrooms, 11 Bathrooms, Sleeps 40
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle, New South Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 218 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Gigi A
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“What a Lovely Time”
Reviewed July 5, 2012 for a stay in July 2012

Beautiful, comfy guest rooms? Check! Clean (let's make that very clean) facilities? Check! Wonderful, attentive host? Check! Let's be a little more demanding and also expect a substantial continental breakfast, good selection of DVDs, nice mags to read, board games to play, a fridge in the room to keep my newly purchased bubbly cold, tea/coffee/sugar/milk and biscuits in case we get peckish late at night and Oh! how about cute and cheeky kangaroos in the estate to keep you entertained? Check!! And if you end up staying in the Eastern Room like my hubby and I did, a beautiful sunset and the view of a big full moon were added bonuses....

Needless to say, we had a great time at Willow Tree Estate. To Raylee and her mom, thank you very much for making our short break a very satisfying experience! It was so very nice them to come up the driveway (despite the cold) to wave us goodbye. What a personal touch!! We hope to be back at Willow Tree Estate soon....

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Your age range 35-49
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wako_10
Albury, Australia
1 review
“Beautiful location, friendly service, how sensational!”
Reviewed July 5, 2012 for a stay in July 2012

What a wonderful experience! Thanks to Raylee and Trish for their spot on advice, beautiful breaky, warm welcoming smile!
Highly recommend Willow Tree. Private, romantic, picturesque. Bravo ladies!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matcon1
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A charming B&B - romantic and private with helpful hosts and excellent access to the Hunter Valley wineries.”
Reviewed July 5, 2012 for a stay in July 2012

What a fantastic place to stay for a romantic getaway! Raylee and Trish are not only attentive to every detail, they are also extremely knowledgable about the area and happy to help in any way they can. The rooms were just beautiful and there was a general sense of privacy and quiet while also allowing opportunity to be in a charming B&B environment. Breakfast was lovely & the grounds and house are meticulously maintained. We will definitely be back!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gbgitalia...
göteborg
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Relaxing stay”
Reviewed June 11, 2012 for a stay in December 2011

We stayed here for a couple of days between Christmas and New Year 2011 to escape from city holiday crazyness and had a wonderful relaxing stay. We booked the Summerhouse Spa Suite and loved waking up finding our cottage surrounded by kangoroos. Some even at a couple of meters from the window. A wonderful place to spend evenings enjoying the landscape whilst sipping on a hunter wine. Location is perfect if you have a car and search for a relaxing spot in the Hunter valley but still closeby the main cellar doors. Maybe the only downside was that breakfast was very basic. Service was otherwhise very good and we received some advice on good places to visit by the owner's mother. I would really recommend this place to anyone and can't wait to go back.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C
Pokolbin, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A Return Short Stay in Paradise”
Reviewed June 11, 2012 for a stay in June 2012

I rarely write repeat reviews but this time I was compelled too for a few reasons !
Things have changed at Willow Tree Estate, for the better !
I thought the place was perfect before, but since my last visit Raylee has been busy with some building work and improvements, gone are the cluttered frontsteps and landings and have been replaced with a huge staircase leading majestically down to the front lawn, and above these new steps the old bay windows have been removed in the two rooms and replaced with 'juliet' balconies that face the lawn and the mountains beyond, a truely beautiful view is to be had from both these rooms now !
Also Willow Tree seems less cluttered now and somehow crisper, it shows the obvious signs of love !
What hasn't changed of course is the way Raylee makes you feel welcome and looked after, she is a consumate host and very capable and does an amazing job running the place almost single handed, incredible !
Due to changed circumstances I probably won't get a chance to stay at Willow Tree again, but if things change, I would rush back there tomorrow, the place is filled with my happy memories !

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angelsSyd...
sydney
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“great people, convenient location, comfortable!”
Reviewed May 21, 2012 for a stay in May 2012

Raylee who is I believe is the manager of this estate is incredibly helpful and kind, she is full of top tips for restaurants and cafes and wineries which is necessary if you only have a short time away and you want to cram in as much of the sights worth while seeing!

The Willow Tree Estate is very comfortable and conveniently located close by all the must see places in the Hunter region. We chose to stay in the deluxe Monet Room, which has a huge comfortable king size bed, a reverse cycle airconditioner which was handy as it was quite cold in May when we were there, it also boasts amazing views of the mountain ranges and has a large triangle spa bath which was very nice as well. The continental breakfast is basic with toast, muffins, (the breads are soft and fresh) juice, cereals and fruit, but is all you need after a day of indulgence in the vineyards! The highlight for us was Mistletoe Lane is a little bit set back from the maddening crowds so you get to see the gorgeous western grey kangaroos every evening at dusk around the front gates of the estate, this was a real treat!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
235Amanda...
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Lovely peace & quiet!”
Reviewed May 14, 2012 for a stay in May 2012

We had a wonderful stay at Willow Tree Estate - we found it very well located, very close to a heap of wineries and restaurants. Raylee was great with recommendations too. The room was lovely, bed very comfortable! - everything we needed really! We went in a very quiet time so had the place to ourselves - the open fire was a big plus! Very cosy despite being such a grand large estate! Would definitely come back!

Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing