We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Snowtime”

Hunter Valley Gardens
Book In Advance
More Info
$84.06*
and up
Hunter Valley Wine Tour with Cheese Chocolate Distillery and Lunch
Ranked #6 of 112 things to do in Pokolbin
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Snowtime”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Great activity for school holidays - also went to the Hunter Valley Zoo on the way there and ate at the local restaurants

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lucille S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,665 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    807
    533
    205
    60
    60
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Snow time at the gardens”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Looking for something special to do with the kids in the school holidays, we decided to go to hunter valley gardens for the snow time fun. We were not disappointed we saw the ice sculptor display, watched the Siberian huskies Racing, built. Snowmen, played snowball volleyball. We didn't get to ice skate as there was a 4 hour wait but there was plenty more to do. These gardens are simply beautiful. Such a great day. Hope it's on again next year. We were not disappointed.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rlstravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Amazing, really enjoyed the Snow Time activities. Ice skating was fun except the skates were terrible. The little food stalls were great. It was our second time and allowed us top venture into areas we didn't last time.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jostolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
270 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Snow Time in the Gardens”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Staying in a resort close by we decided to take a walk over to the Hunter Valley Gardens stopping firstly to have a look at some of the boutique shops and for a coffee, good decision. My wife and I then proceeded to take the short stroll over to the gardens. Entry was without fuss with a nice front gate attendant giving us directions to an event they were having called "Snow time" paths to "Snow time" were well signed and with several winter themed characters along the way we soon arrived. On arrival it was nice to see all the families enjoying what was on offer Ice skating, snow man making, snow ball volley ball, magicians, Husky dogs racing and plenty of stalls to get a bite to eat or a coffee.
Once we had finished with Snow Time we headed off to look around the gardens firstly going through the nursery rime section this is a must for kids, it was nice to hear several families sing with there kids the songs of the themes they were standing in front of "great atmosphere". Proceeding along through the gardens at a leisurely stroll looking at all the different themed gardens even in winter when lots of the trees were bare of leaves was relaxing and interesting and a nice way to spend a morning. Both of us agreed that we would come back in January to see the gardens in bloom and to bring the grand children to see another of there themed attractions "Bugs"

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Glenn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somersby
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Gardens great, but "Snowtime" a disappointment”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

This is the first negative review I have ever posted on Trip Advisor, and I am not doing it lightly.

I arrived at "Snowtime" at 12.30pm with my excited kids. I was aware that it was necessary, on arrival, to book in to an ice skating session (as numbers were limited). However, when I was told that the earliest my children could skate was 3.30pm I could not believe it. A three hour wait! We went and had a peek at the rink and saw that it was fairly small and ridiculously crowded - not worth the wait. The other activities on offer were underwhelming, and most had very long waiting lines. We just gave up. My children were disappointed, but luckily, they enjoyed their stroll around the gardens, which are beautiful and which I recommend.

I travelled one and a half hours to this event, in response to the organisers' advertisment in my local (Central Coast) Newspaper. I resent that the organisers did not deliver what they promised. Their idea is wonderful, but they need to provide enough facitlites to cater for the number of people to whom they advertise.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hunter Valley Gardens also viewed

Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Hunter Valley Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing