We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable but would be better in Spring”

Hunter Valley Gardens
Book In Advance
More Info
$83.97*
and up
Hunter Valley Wine Tour with Cheese Chocolate Distillery and Lunch
Ranked #6 of 112 things to do in Pokolbin
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Caloundra, Australia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable but would be better in Spring”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

The gardens were very interesting, with a large number of different 'rooms'. I particularly liked the Oriental garden.
It was easily able to be seen in 90 minutes without rushing.
It is difficult to believe it is only 15 years old.
The food at the nearby cafe (not in the actual Gardens) was good.
Great value.
The Autumn colours were nice but it would be spectacular in Spring.
I am told by my son that the Christmas lights show is spectacular, which seems right from the photos I have seen.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bunyabears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,665 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    807
    533
    205
    60
    60
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Save it for spring”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We visited on a weekday in April and enjoyed taking our time through the gardens without crowds. While they are lovely gardens I think the $25 entry charge is way too high. Appreciate there is probably a lot of upkeep to do but some areas looked like they weren't getting much love. The Storybook garden was cute (some statues were a little creepy) but could have done with a fresh lick of paint. I made my partner take cheesy photos on the huge lawn chair and at the Alice in Wonderland table!

My advice would be to go in spring as I assume the gardens are a little more impressive then, with more flowers and colour; the different garden areas were nice but a little same/same without any flowers to distinguish between them. We didn't get time to visit the village there so cannot comment. Would also like to go back to try the aqua golf which looked fun.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank abigail0212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“A great place but not at this price.”
Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

I went in winter 2012. It's very expensive to enter,its overcrowded and noisy and the food is way to expensive and not even good less nicer than frozen meals. Overall the gardens are beautiful and the sights very nice buy at this price I won't go again.centennial park is just as nice and better and its free.the staff are also helpful and cranky.my 2 yr old was excited and ran to jump on trampeline and lady in charge screamed at her to get to back of line .she's only two.this place would be nice for wedding photography or millionaires otherwise not worth it.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank jehanah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

A great place to visit, lots to see and do and the gardens are magnificent as is the Chapel. Delightful.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Angecof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cessnock, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Nice Shopping Village”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Had a great lunch there and then some shopping after got some good shops kitchen supplies and english sweets as well as a great little gift shop

Helpful?
Thank Ptrlre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hunter Valley Gardens also viewed

Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Hunter Valley Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing