We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Berenbell Vineyard Retreat
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Estate Tuscany(Pokolbin)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Guest House(Pokolbin)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Golden Door Health Retreat & Spa Elysia(Pokolbin)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (112)
Filter reviews
112 results
Traveler rating
101
9
2
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
101
9
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe cottagesbedroom cottageelectric bbqhunter valleyself contained kitchenfriendly hostsbrokenback rangefridge was stockedbreakfast goodieshelpful with suggestionswithin walking distancea wonderful place to staybay breweryfabulous weekendshort drivepeaceful locationlocal wildlife
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
87 - 92 of 112 reviews
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed our 3 night stay at Berenbell. The cottages are well equipped and spacious for two people. Each cottage is located far enough apart on the grounds to be private and quite secluded. The breakfast provisions were sufficient, including cereals, bread, fresh fruit, milk, orange juice, a selection of teas and coffee. The complimentary wine and home cooked muffins were also a nice touch. Our cottage had a beautiful outlook from the large bay window, across the grounds to the mountains. It was a fabulous spot to sit outside and watch the sun set with a plate of cheese and crackers and a glass of wine in hand.
The cottages are well located for visiting the wineries/cellar doors and other local restaurants, stores, etc. Thanks very much Suzie and Ken for a great place to call home for our long weekend in the Hunter Valley. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank susie-b74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed at Berenbell for three nights, the accommodation is very good. Not glamorous, but there is everything you need. The views over the mountains is sensational, its down a dead end street, so there is no traffic noise, and is close to the wineries and some fabulous restaurants. Would definitely stay here again. The only downside is that when you stay for several days like we did, the rooms are not serviced, and the breakfast for the 3 mornings was placed in the fridge on the first day so by the day we left, a few items were well past their best. The shower is great, and the complimentary wine was much appreciated.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth2859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sueken070, Owner at Berenbell Vineyard Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Hi Elizabeth

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at Berenbell and "would definitely stay here again". The views from the accommodation are breathtaking especially when the vineyards are looking their best.

We would respectfully point out that we are Self Contained Accommodation. With regard to servicing the accommodation, stays of beyond 3 nights are provided with fresh sheets and towels. Stays of 2-3 nights are serviced daily with regard to removal of rubbish and replenishment of any breakfast provisions requested.

Breakfast provisions of Helga's bread for toasting and muffins are purchased and baked on the guest's check in date and are placed in the fridge for freshness and quality control. The selection of individually packaged condiments, butters, cereals, juices and fresh milk have used by dates well marked and we observe this compliance. So, not quite sure what "a few items were well past their best" you are referring to.

Again, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to Berenbell in the not too distant future.

Kind regards
Ken & Suzie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

A two night stay in a wonderful lodge, suited for 4 people, modern open place lounge downstairs with views and seating for eating outside, nice downstairs bedroom with ensuite and upstairs master suite with ensuite. Very clean and central spot for wine tasting as you do. Also if you ask Ken the owner, if you're only seen one or two kangeroos - he knows where they are and can be as many as 50 - loved it. Breakfast supplies more than adequate and would certainly return there if I were in Australia again - great fun with the wine tasting.

Room Tip: The family lodges are nice - should think all are.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lanzainsight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

I stayed with my partner and her family and everyone absolutely loved it. The first thing that strikes you when you arrive is the fantastic views down the valley across the vineyards and towards the hills. It's not too far from civilisation but does feel nicely remote. Luckily it seemed the other lodges weren't in use, which added to the effect of it being your own private retreat. I was delighted to see the kangaroos when I wandered down towards the little lake - they seemed pretty relaxed even with me pointing my lens at them. We were treated to a beautiful sunset and then we had a great barbecue. The owners weren't around when we arrived (they'd left everything in the post box as agreed), but they did leave some wine and food. We had a great day with the lady they recommended (Jenny at TrekTours) doing a pretty drunken wine tour - what a place to come back to in the evening. One of the best places I've ever stayed at, taking into account price, atmosphere, location etc. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank tonysony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

I just returned from a three day mid week stay at Berenbell.

It was great staying at Berenbell as it was really close to lovely wineries. Blue Tongue Brewery is just up the road so we wandered up there one afternoon for a few drinks. It was a quick drive for my partner to play golf, visit his favourite wineries (Petersons) and for me to wander around the Hunter Valley gardens.

Our cottage was very comfortable with fantastic views. We had our own little kitchen, lounge area (with television and dvd player), confortable bed and a bathroom with a lovely huge bath.

Ken was extremely helpful if we needed anything as he wanted our stay to be comfortable and enjoyable.

I would definitely stay at Berenbell again!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dooogong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews