We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Berenbell Vineyard Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 23, 2012

My husband & I just spent the last 4 days at Berenbell Vineyard Retreat, in celebration of our anniversary. We found this accommodation on the Internet and instantly had a good feeling about it and believe me we were not disappointed! The cottages are exactly as described on the  website.  Everything is thoroughly maintained and spotless! The owners clearly pay attention to detail ensuring a lovely stay is being had by their guests and at the same time providing complete privacy. The location and views are unsurpassable! I cannot recommend this wonderful accommodation highly enough, particularly if you are looking for peace and tranquility yet within very close proximity to the Hunter Valleys finest Cellar Doors & Vineyards. Thank you Susie & Ken and congratulations on your fabulous accommodation.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (106)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 106 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2012

A family occasion to celebrate a wedding found four of us staying in a two bed cottage at Berenbell. What a treat! The two bedrooms and accompanying en-suites were extremely comfortable and the bathrooms large and well appointed. We also found each couple had ample privacy with one bed upstairs and one down. The chalet was very clean and had all the amenities we could have hoped for, including a BBQ (used for a pleasant late afternoon meal), heaters in all rooms and a cosy internal fire stove laid ready for the match.
The location we found excellent, with many wineries close by, an Irish pub and the Hunter Gardens (with grocery store) a few minutes drive away, and a restaurant and bar a two minute walk to the corner. We also enjoyed a leisurely stroll along the lane on which Berenbell is located, with little traffic to bother us, wonderful views and many kangaroos, and best of all, total tranquillity.
Suzie and Ken were wonderful hosts, removing rubbish and re-laying the fire while we were out, replacing linen on the third day, and topping up breakfast supplies as needed. We enjoyed the space around the cottages and felt welcome to walk around the grounds as Ken was often also out enjoying the sunshine and was quick with a friendly chat.
The stay was not something either couple would have planned without the wedding to necessiate, but we all thoroughly enjoyed our five days at Berenbell and felt very spoilt as others guests compared accommodation. Berenbell was really a home away from home.

Room Tip: One bed cottages are cute and look romantic but the two bed we found very spacious and would enjoy s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aussie-tern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

Berenebel is set on a lovely property with views across vineyards and at dusk kangaroos come out to graze. Its very quiet and peaceful if thats what your looking for.
The accommodation itself is in need of an upgrade. Its a bit run down and needs some love i.e. scratches all over the walls, old furniture and the blankets felt like they had been there a thousand years. Its very basic but we didnt spend much time there anyway.
The views and the serenity makes up for it. sitting outside on your verandah having a wine or a coffee was bliss.
we never saw the owners except for when they handed us the keys and handed it back.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neat78Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sueken070, Owner at Berenbell Vineyard Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2012

With regard to the commentary posted headed "Peaceful Setting", we would like to thank the reviewer for the remarks regarding Berenbell set on a lovely property with peaceful views across the vineyards. However, we would take issue with comments with regard to the accommodation and the suggestion that the property is in need of an upgrade. For the record, we have been the owners for the last 4 years and have spent in excess of $200k which includes not only the painting of the entire property, but also the following:

- New bedding
- New lounge suites - queen sofa bed
- New fridges
- New flat screen TVs
- Total renovation of showers with new shower screens
- New curtains
- New electric BBQs
- Upgrade of all appliances in the kitchen and bathroom amenities

We refute the suggestion that there are scratches all over the walls - we take pride in the presentation of our property and if there were scratches all over the walls, we would be the first people to address this issue.

The suggestion that the furniture is old, is quite wrong as we promote the property capturing the essence of colonial charm and some of the furniture is very much in keeping with the colonial charm of Berenbell.

With regard to the blankets being a thousand years old - what a ridiculous comment. A thousand year old blanket would be worth a fortune as an antique and therefore, priceless. To put the record straight, the blankets have all been replaced within the last two years.

The reviewer suggested that we, as the owners, were never around - part of our policy in running Berenbell is to provide self contained accommodation with privacy and not interfere or trouble guests whilst staying at Berenbell. It is also our policy to make ourselves available 24/7 and that is identified on our welcome guest sheet.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Berenbell Vineyard Retreat for our first wedding anniversary. The cottages are set on a lovely property underneath the Brockenback Range Mountains and across the road from some breath taking vineyards.

While the location is a little out from Broke Road and the main wineries / Hunter Valley Gardens etc I felt that the quiet setting allowed for the ultimate relaxing weekend.

Ken and Suzie were most helpful in suggesting restaurants, wineries, coffee shops etc.

The self contained cottages provided everything we needed for a short weekend stay in the Hunter although we spent allot of time out and about.

The cottages are spaced a decent distance apart as to ensure the privacy of guests.
We enjoyed happy hour outside overlooking the mountains and watched the kangaroos feeding right in front of us.

The breakfast provided consisted of fresh bread (variety of spreads), homemade muffins, juices, cereals and milk.

We would stay here again if we were to return to the Hunter Valley - a most enjoyable and relaxing weekend.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

My partner and I stayed at the Berenbell Cottage and it was the nicest place we have ever stayed in the Hunter Valley!
The cottage was cosy and beautiful especially with the fireplace, very clean & great facilities! The location was lovely and quiet with amazing views. It was so peaceful and relaxing!
The owners Suzie and Ken are so lovely and kind! – we thank you for everything and for making our engagement so memorable, I couldn’t think of a nicer location, it was absolutely perfect!
We will definitely recommend these cottages to our family and friends, and we will definitely choose to stay there again the next time we visit the Hunter Valley!
Thanks again!
Maria & David

Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
4  Thank MG27Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

This views from the cottages at Berenbell are unforgettable. This place is beautiful and the owners are great and very friendly. When we arrived they answered all our questions and gave us some pamphlets on things to do in the Hunter. Highly recommend, thanks for a great weekend

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thinkingoutloud121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

I am so pleased that my parner and I decided to stay here. I had an incredible time and everything about our stay was wonderful - excellent value for money. Ken & Suzie were polite and available if needed but they respected our privacy and didn't bother us, replenishing our wood and fuel for the great little fireplace we had without disturbing us. The facilities are great - lovely modern bathroom with bath and the bed is very comfortable - I haven't slept that well in a long while. We were sufficiently warm with spare blankets available, air conditioning and the fireplace. This place is perfect for couples wanting a private and relaxing weekend away in clean, modern accommodation and the muffins were a nice treat. There was more than enough fresh milk, cereal, coffee and tea and the property itself was stunning - we spotted quite a few kangaroos and galahs about. Very close to everything you need as well. I highly recommend staying here and I hope to return if I visit Pokolbin again.
Megan

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank meganmarie2811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
5.1 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#11 of 15 in Pokolbin
255 reviews
2.4 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
893 reviews
6.3 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
0.3 mi away
Estate Tuscany
Estate Tuscany
#7 of 15 in Pokolbin
713 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Grange on Hermitage
The Grange on Hermitage
#3 of 39 in Pokolbin
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berenbell Vineyard Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berenbell Vineyard Retreat

Address: 60 Mistletoe Lane, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 39 Specialty Lodging in Pokolbin
Price Range: $201 - $322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Berenbell Vineyard Retreat 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on extensive grounds in a secluded lane, Berenbell Vineyard Retreat offers superior self contained one bedroom Cottages and 2 bedroom Lodges. This superb location enjoys magnificent views of rolling vineyards and the rugged Brokenback range which are simply without compare. Berenbell is the idyllic retreat in which to relax or celebrate that special occasion and explore the Pokolbin wine country. Berenbell is located within minutes drive of 17 Cellar Doors and 8 restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Berenbell Vineyard Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berenbell Vineyard Retreat Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing