We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a group”
Review of Elfin Hill

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Elfin Hill
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
1 review
“Perfect for a group”
Reviewed May 25, 2010

As a group of twelve, we spent five nights at this idyllic hideaway. During the days we played golf or visited the local attractions, and in the evenings relaxed with some local food and wines. Our friendly host, Marie gave us full run of the kitchen, so our planned dinners out were soon cancelled as eating in was a much more attractive options. Delicious breakfasts were served at a time to suit us, and the rooms were very comfortable.
This is great value for staying in an otherwise overpriced Hunter Valley.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlk88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie B, Owner at Elfin Hill, responded to this review, February 9, 2015
Loved having your group here and love to see guests using the facilities of the kitchen, lounge area etc. Glad that it suited all your needs.
Take good care all
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    27
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
35
110
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
296 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2010

Stayed here right before the Easter rush. This place is a great find and great value. A wonderful location at the beginning of the wine country coming up from Sydney. Beautiful views, a friendly and helpful host, Marie. She really makes you feel comfortable. A very clean, well-cared for property. Lola the dog, an Australian shepherd mix, is an added bonus. She'll play all day with you if you let her. The only regret is that we only were able to stay one night and that on that day it was too cold to use the pool.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiaGlobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PokolbinNugget, owner at Elfin Hill, responded to this review, May 3, 2010
Thank you so much for your lovely review. Hope that you had a safe journey home and we would love to see you back here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
noosa
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2010

Thanks to TRIPADVISOR we found this Gem of a place, run by the perfect host MARIE. She goes out of her way to make her guests feel comfortable. For Breakfast you can have freshly squeezed orange juice, homemade yummy jams, freshly cut fruit salad, great coffee (even organic Decaf for the "lighthearted") and the BEST croissants ever!!!
The place has tranquil views, lovely pool area and options for self catering. You can BBQ or use her fully equipped kitchen to cook as much or as little as you like. Spending the days visiting wineries, you might just grab a bottle, some cheese and crackers and sit in the garden. Not forgetting LOLA, the cutest and friendliest dog! Thank you Marie for such a lovely holiday!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schatzieNoosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
Reviewed April 11, 2010

We stayed here for an overnight visit to the Hunter Valley from Sydney. The location is superb - both in terms of its proximity to the local vineyards and also for its sense of tranquility. We were a group of seven, and had the place to ourselves. We made full use of the pool, BBQ and table tennis table, and were made to feel very welcome by Marie, who tended to our every need and was a great source of local information. I spend a lot of time travelling with work and seldom feel the need to write a review, but Elfin Hill and Marie deserve full recognition for their fantastic set up!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Invinoveritus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2010

We stayed here one night and felt incredibly lucky to have found such a gem. The room was clean, spacious, and included a small table and fridge for enjoying Hunter Valley wine and cheese (or Eagle Boys pizza). We LOVED the breakfast provided by Marie. We ate on the veranda watching the birds and expecting a kangaroo to bound over the lush, rolling hills at any moment. The yogurt with honey was dreamy. Strong coffee and delicious marmalade made us ask for seconds. We spent the early evening enjoying the complementary local wine by the pool. The hotel is about a 15 minute walk to Mount Pleasant vineyard (though the road is busy and without a sidewalk). Maybe another 15 to Ivanhoe and a couple of other vineyards in case you plan on tasting a lot.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SniRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AU
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2010

We stayed for two nights in the studio cottage and it was just amazing, the tranquility of the place is worth every penny, rooms are clean and tidy, beds are as comfortable as a 5 star resort and the breakie croissants are beautiful! Plus Maury is the kindest host ever! Elfin Hill is perfectly located to enjoy the Hunter at its best. We are hoping to go back as soon as possible!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kakagonzalez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
2 reviews
Reviewed March 5, 2010

After hours in a car nothing could have been more inviting than Elfin Hill. With its peaceful demeanour and green rolling hills it is a sight to behold. From the moment we arrived we felt at home. Spacious well equipped rooms, just the beginning! A refreshing swim in the afternoon before a wander through the local wineries a good few of which are viewed from the breakfast deck...and what a breakfast! It was the perfect way to wake up after a great nights sleep in the country quietness. Jon and Anna, Brisbane.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jon_annna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pokolbin hotels
1.0 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
8.9 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
854 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hunter Valley Resort
Hunter Valley Resort
#8 of 15 in Pokolbin
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Pokolbin Village
Pokolbin Village
#5 of 15 in Pokolbin
298 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hermitage Lodge
Hermitage Lodge
#2 of 9 in Pokolbin
358 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Grange on Hermitage
The Grange on Hermitage
#3 of 39 in Pokolbin
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elfin Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elfin Hill

Property: Elfin Hill
Address: Marrowbone Road, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 39 Specialty Lodging in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Elfin Hill 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful elevated property in the heart of the grape growing district of Pokolbin with fabulous views of the surrounding vineyards and the Brokenback mountain range.Quietly tucked away yet so close to all the very best that the wine region has to offer including only minutes to 4 world class golf courses.Recently refurbished and upgraded hotel style rooms are very comfortable with everything you need to make your stay easy and enjoyable with large glass french doors opening out onto your private veranda and perfectly framing the stunning vista. The separate loft/villa cottage provides a luxurious space with full amenities.The views from here are also fantastic with doors that open out onto the garden and courtyard area.Our small table grape vineyard and our neighbours extra large Chardonnay & Shiraz vineyard and farm animals complete the picture. The salt water swimming pool along side the BBQ area and the guest pavilion provides a refreshing end to a day out amongst the many cellar doors, restaurants, cafes, gardens etc during the summer months. The pavilion is the perfect place to relax and watch the sun go down. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Elfin Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elfin Hill Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing