We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing place, amazing host!”
Review of Elfin Hill

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Elfin Hill
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
103 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Amazing place, amazing host!”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Location is primary always but there is so much more to Elfin Hill. Marie is a wonderful host and the King Suite is the most luxurious accommodation you could hope for. This little "chalet" is just so wonderful that words can't describe it. It is so quiet and beautiful in a wonderful location in the middle of the south Hunter wine area. Everything was absolutely perfect. The loft king bedroom is so sensuous. The breakfast brought to us was really wonderful. Sitting on our private patio we felt that we were all alone in a parkland. I also looked at the other rooms and they are very nice, comfortable and quiet.

Room Tip: If the King loft is available, grab it, but all the rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frances4612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    26
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
35
110
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

My family and I recently stayed here, it was absolutely beautiful the views were amazing and the room was great big enough for all of us, there was plenty to keep the kids amused they especially loved Lola the dog and watching the cute chickens. And of course the amazing breakfasts that we ate on the verandah looking out at the mountain ranges. I could keep going on about elfin hill it was so great and all the staff were so friendly and helpful, will deffinately be going back for our next family holiday.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Morrissmith32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

If you’re looking to be treated like family in a lovely home, then this is your place. This hilltop inn has sweeping views of valley vineyards and local wildlife. As hosts, Marie and Mark are more than merely great innkeepers; they are truly thoughtful, kind and generous people, and in my eyes as a US visitor, fine examples of Aussie character. I highly recommend Elfin Hill.

Room Tip: Our large suite had a kitchen, dining area, living room, full bath, loft bedroom with windows overlo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BJPatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PokolbinNugget, Owner at Elfin Hill, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thanks for your lovely review, so glad you enjoyed your stay here on the Hill. Good to hear also that your early morning drive down to Sydney with Mark got you an excellent start to your day and the Blue Mountains adventure. Trust that the rest of your holiday went according to plan. Please do keep in touch. Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We loved Elfin Hill and our time spent in the Hunter Valley. The service was fantastic from the first phone call through to saying goodbye, breakfast was great and the location was perfect. We will definitely be coming back year after year.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LB4JN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 8, 2012

My fiancé and I spent 2 nights in the cottage at Elfin Hill after it was recommended to us by friends, and we would go back in a heartbeat. The accommodation was clean and spacious with a kitchen, living area, bathroom and mezzanine bedroom. The setting in particular was spectacular - we loved the views from the patio. And Marie the owner, was so lovely and welcoming as well as recommending lots of wineries and things to do in the area...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LLCJSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed July 27, 2012

A very nice service and the staff very helpful. The rooms are wonderful. It's not too far from other Wineries and considering the location, Hunter Valley, the prices was not bad either. A reasonable stay. Light breakfast was arrange nicely, and I enjoyed the stay.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gennalambert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walpole, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Well thanks a lot to Marie for providing top class hospitality , definitely coming over again , kudos. Great View , lovely location , Fresh rooms and briliant food .. Elfin Hill rocks, strongly recommended to all the travellers ... Marie you the best , reasonable price too

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sam j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
1.0 mi away
The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley
8.9 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
3.4 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
6.8 mi away
Hunter Valley Resort
Hunter Valley Resort
#8 of 15 in Pokolbin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
5.7 mi away
Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elfin Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elfin Hill

Property: Elfin Hill
Address: Marrowbone Road, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Elfin Hill 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful elevated property in the heart of the grape growing district of Pokolbin with fabulous views of the surrounding vineyards and the Brokenback mountain range.Quietly tucked away yet so close to all the very best that the wine region has to offer including only minutes to 4 world class golf courses.Recently refurbished and upgraded hotel style rooms are very comfortable with everything you need to make your stay easy and enjoyable with large glass french doors opening out onto your private veranda and perfectly framing the stunning vista. The separate loft/villa cottage provides a luxurious space with full amenities.The views from here are also fantastic with doors that open out onto the garden and courtyard area.Our small table grape vineyard and our neighbours extra large Chardonnay & Shiraz vineyard and farm animals complete the picture. The salt water swimming pool along side the BBQ area and the guest pavilion provides a refreshing end to a day out amongst the many cellar doors, restaurants, cafes, gardens etc during the summer months. The pavilion is the perfect place to relax and watch the sun go down. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Elfin Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elfin Hill Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing