We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Stay in Hunter Valley”
Review of Elfin Hill

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Elfin Hill
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 13, 2011

we stayed for only 1 night at the elfin hill and were sad to go as we didn't have any more time. We loved our stay and were amazed by the warm welcome we received from the proprietors as well as from the surrounding sand the room quality.
we could use the nice kitchen to prepare our own dinner that we enjoyed with the newly akquired Hunter Valley wine.
when down there - try the orange marmelade - it's home made, totally organic and just great!

If we come to Hunter Valley again - we would go for the Hill again!

Room Tip: any room is good, try one close to the pool, that one had an even greater view on the landscape and...
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank chris_travellonaut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (215)
There are newer reviews for Elfin Hill
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 215 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2011

Beautiful surroundings, fantastic service, delicious breakfast. The place is incredibly nice! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leomar90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2011

We stayed here for our wedding with some family and friends back in 2009. Elfin Hill is in a very quiet and relaxing location. The rooms for our guests although fairly simple and modest were clean and well appointed. My wife and I stayed in the Studio however, and this really is a very nice modern room with a mezzanine level for the bed. There is a common room next door with lounges and table tennis which was enjoyed by our guests.

The owners Marie and Mark were fantastic and nothing was ever a problem for them. Can't say anything bad about our stay at Elfin Hill. When we returned again the next year Marie remembered us and had a complimentary bottle of wine waiting for us in our room. That's what I call great service.

Room Tip: The Studio is highly reccomended.
  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adumbking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2011

Although I haven't stayed at this resort, I will certainly look to next time I am in the Hunter Valley.
My best friend spent a weekend here to celebrate her 30th, as I live in England, I was unable to join her so I decided to try and arrange a special surprise for her.
I contacted Elfin Hill and Marie couldn't have been more helpful, she sourced and purchased champagne and a lovely cake on my behalf and had it waiting in my friends room when she arrived, which was just perfect.
Thank you so much to Marie and everyone at Elfin Hill for helping me to be part of my friends day and arranging such a wonderful surprise.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crabbygreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2011

We stayed here for one night and had a lovely stay in the Studio cottage. Marie was a wonderful host and made us feel very welcome. She even let us cook our dinner in the professional kitchen rather than in our apartment and brought us some salad to go with it. There were even fresh herbs from the garden which we were encouraged to use. We also saw our first kangaroo at dusk in the garden which made it even more special!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank omahna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2011

We had a magnificent stay at Elfin Hill. Our weekend at Elfin Hill was as much a highlight as the Neil Diamond concert. Marie and Mark spoilt us with superb, friendly service. The Studio at Elfin Hill comes highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mine55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2011

We'd stayed in Elfin Hill for a couple of nights during our visit of Hunter Valley.
Marie welcomed us with plenty of ideas and recommendations and was always very helpful.
The rooms were cosy and clean, but I think bathroom would need some redecoration.
The breakfast was absolutely fantastic!!
Overall, we enjoyed our stay very much and if we are ever again in Hunter Valley, I couldn't imagine staying anywhere else!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank potkan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
1.0 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
8.9 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
869 reviews
4.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
6.0 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
3.4 mi away
Pokolbin Village
Pokolbin Village
#5 of 15 in Pokolbin
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elfin Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elfin Hill

Address: Marrowbone Road, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 39 Specialty Lodging in Pokolbin
Price Range: $148 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Elfin Hill 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful elevated property in the heart of the grape growing district of Pokolbin with fabulous views of the surrounding vineyards and the Brokenback mountain range.Quietly tucked away yet so close to all the very best that the wine region has to offer including only minutes to 4 world class golf courses.Recently refurbished and upgraded hotel style rooms are very comfortable with everything you need to make your stay easy and enjoyable with large glass french doors opening out onto your private veranda and perfectly framing the stunning vista. The separate loft/villa cottage provides a luxurious space with full amenities.The views from here are also fantastic with doors that open out onto the garden and courtyard area.Our small table grape vineyard and our neighbours extra large Chardonnay & Shiraz vineyard and farm animals complete the picture. The salt water swimming pool along side the BBQ area and the guest pavilion provides a refreshing end to a day out amongst the many cellar doors, restaurants, cafes, gardens etc during the summer months. The pavilion is the perfect place to relax and watch the sun go down. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Elfin Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elfin Hill Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing