We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Station Motel Parkes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Station Motel Parkes
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Parkes
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

Stayed for 5 nights over the Elvis Parkes festival. Modern well kept rooms with foxtel and free wifi just newly installed. Nice owners/managers. Food is only average and overpriced. In comparison went to the new ikon restaurant at the newly renovated gracelands hotel. Service & food excellent and for the same price as the Station. Try the 400grm Cattleman's Cutlet (Sirloin Bone in) simply outstanding $32 bucks. Food aside I would stay at the Station again.

Room Tip: Room 211 upstairs at the back of the hotel away from the Newell Hwy
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StationMotelParkes, Manager at Station Motel Parkes, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Glad you enjoyed your stay over the Elvis festival. I am going to respond to the fact that everyone assumes we microwave everything. We have chosen a menu with an extremely well organised chef, that allows us to serve food in both a timely fashion and with great quality and taste. As for being over priced, we have sourced local produce of the best quality we can obtain and we are proud that we look after our local suppliers instead of purchasing from elsewhere. I do hope you have booked for next years Elvis Festival as we are already sold out on certain nights. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    87
    13
    5
    1
See reviews for
97
109
11
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

We booked a Interconnecting Family room and it was fantastic! The beds were comfortable, the facilities were excellent. We were unable to try out the restaurant as the Chef was on holidays (we were there between Christmas and New a Year). One thoughtful touch was the bucket/water and squeegees for cleaning your car windscreen.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StationMotelParkes, Manager at Station Motel Parkes, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Appreciate the nice comments and glad you enjoyed your stay. I hope the next time you stay with us you get to enjoy the restaurant as well. Look forward to your next stay. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

I have to agree with Tim_and_Lisa72, this Motel needs to be looked at in two parts. The rooms and staff are fantastic: former very new and well fitted out, latter friendly and helpful. The dinner was overpriced and nothing more then pub food really - suspect all micro waved / pre cooked or reheated food.
Secondly i have stayed here before over a year ago and was very impressed with Managers and the motel as a whole, NOW it was a let down.. I was so NOT impressed i had to voice my opinion.The new Managers are welcoming, the rooms look nicely set up and clean, BUT upon close inspection it Was not-- there was SPIDERS n a heap of COB WEBS behind the curtains and all over the outside screen doors, bird poo and dirty outside tables with cob webs under chairs n tables, we had a red back on the bed and after pulling the bed out we discovered a heap of DEAD BUGS behind the bed head ewww just terrible. i even had doubts if the carpet was vacuumed. We ended up moving to another motel. For the money paid per room it wasnt worth it so in order to get piece of mind and proper cleanliness, we moved to another Motel to have a nice experience while visiting. Not to mention the gardens are full of weeds, dead debri, dead plants and overgrown plants-trees that are actually weeds, the gardens are just over grown intertwined. Theres rubbish here n there amongst the plants and in need of major attention... As a whole front end is very impressive, rooms are spacious, staff n Managers are very welcoming and helpful but it def has a lacks of attention in alot of areas when you start to look around it fails my expectation of the 4.5 star rating

Room Tip: Take a closer look of the rooms for real cleanliness
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StationMotelParkes, Manager at Station Motel Parkes, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
While it saddens me to read your review, I do sincerely thank you for the time taken in this. We are going to sit down today and discuss all this and find the best way of getting things back to the standards that we all expect. I apologise for this and also for the fact you didn't think you could come to me with this. Once again thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

The rooms here are clean and modern, plus very quiet if you're looking for some sleep after a long drive.

The host was very welcoming, even on Christmas Day, and had everything ready for our arrival, including a nice Christmas treat.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StationMotelParkes, Manager at Station Motel Parkes, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
And a Happy New Year to you now, thank you for your time to complete this review. Glad you enjoyed staying here and that the rooms were what you needed at Christmas time. See you again soon. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
336 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

Now under new management I was concerned this third visit to Station Motel might be a bit of a disappointment. Phew... very relieved to say the standard was as good as ever. Well appointed rooms with all the required facilities...I originally chose this place a few years ago purely of the building design.. Still rather iconic Australian design which is good fortunately the interior was just as good.

Room Tip: Rooms to the rear of the property are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Billabongshade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StationMotelParkes, Manager at Station Motel Parkes, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
I am glad that we kept the dream alive and that the motel is still at the high standard you have come to expect. I look forward to your next stay and to see if the little changes that we are putting in around the place are also pleasing to you. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

This needs to be looked at in two parts. The rooms and staff are fantastic: former very new and well fitted out, latter friendly and helpful. I'd stay again, but would eat somewhere else. The dinner was overpriced and awful - suspect all microwaved or reheated, except for the medium steak, which was cremated. A pity - fix the food, make the prices realistic and we'd give it five stars.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Tim_and_Lisa72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StationMotelParkes, Manager at Station Motel Parkes, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
I would like to say thank you for for both parts of this review, as you can see from all the other reviews that the restaurant does not normally run at the standard you have described, so i apologise for your experience that night. I do ask that you do come and stay with us again and try the restaurant again and i am sure you will find it to be of the high standards we set and we hope to then get those 5 stars. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

Anyone looking for a place to overnight on the way back from Qld can't go passed the Station Motel. On the main road, it is modern, clean and extremely well appointed. The restaurant offers a wide range of quality food. For value for for money it is hard to beat!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fraser B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StationMotelParkes, Manager at Station Motel Parkes, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you for such a great referral with future guests to the area. Maybe next time when you are taking your time travelling through, you van also see all the other great parts of Parkes and the surrounding areas and hopefully this means yo can stay longer with us, so we can look after you again. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Parkes hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Gracelands
Hotel Gracelands
#6 of 15 in Parkes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Parkes International
1.9 mi away
Parkview Motor Inn
Parkview Motor Inn
#2 of 15 in Parkes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Aastro Dish Motor Inn
Aastro Dish Motor Inn
#3 of 15 in Parkes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Bushmans Parkes
1.2 mi away
Court Street Motel
Court Street Motel
#8 of 15 in Parkes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Station Motel Parkes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Station Motel Parkes

Property: Station Motel Parkes
Address: 82 Peak Hill Rd | Newell Highway, Parkes, New South Wales 2870, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Parkes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Parkes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Station Motel Parkes 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Station Motel Parkes offers 38 extremely well appointed AAA rated 4 Star rooms for both the weary traveler and the corporate coming to town. With a sophistication not seen in country motels, the unique Australian feel won't let you down in either comfort or style. A Country style dinner and breakfast is also available 6 days a week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Station Motel Parkes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing