We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (112)
Filter reviews
112 results
Traveler rating
45
52
11
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
45
52
11
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscountry comfortstayed hereafter a long dayindoor pool was greatmain highwaybunk bedsnewell highwayplenty of parkingrestaurant meala great nights sleepclean roomsreception staffair conwould definitely stay here againinformation centrefantastic staytown centre
Filter
Updating list...
100 - 105 of 112 reviews
Reviewed November 18, 2011

Stayed here in November 2011 for one night for a quick trip to Parkes. Very convenient loation. An easy drive to the radio telescope about 20 kms from town.
Was in a ground floor room, under the stairs. Although not needed for me, this was a handicapped-accessible room. The only drawback was that the shower head, at its highest possible setting, was a little low for an average standing person.
The decor is hotel-standard. Room size was American-average. In room: flat screen TV with good selection of stations, hair dryer, small refrigerator with mini-bar beverages (they also provided *fresh* milk for coffee/tea!).
Although the room was under the stairs I did not noticed any noise from people going up/down stairs. I also did not notice any noise from the street, although the room was located relatively close to the street.
I had dinner and breakfast there, because I couldn't be bothered looking around for other places to eat. Not much to rave about (especially the continental breakfast which was over-priced for what you get).
The staff were very accommodating, helpful and friendly. The room was very comfortable, clean and quiet. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sequoia-design
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2011

All good, neat and tidy room, good food in restaurant and even reasonable mini bar prices.
Only complaint was the shower head flow wast pathetic saving water is one thing but it still needs to be functional. Otherwise would stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cchcch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

Stayed here on our trip from Melbourne to Coolum. Lovely room at a reasonable cost. Having an onsite restaurant is great after a long drive.
Spotlessly clean room, comfortable bed for a great nights sleep. Would recommend this property.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Brenpil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

The Country Comfort Motel at Parkes is a good quality and recommended highway stop over. The motel is modern with spacious, clean and comfortable accomodation (our deluxe room had one of the best beds we have slept in in a long while). These rooms also surely must have the biggest flat screen TVs of any motel room around!. The reception lady was personable and easy to deal with. The only possible detractor to the Country Comfort is it's location on the Newell Highway coming into Parkes from the north. Truck noise could effect sleep quality on a busy night as the vehicles come down a hill past the motel into town. On the night we stayed (Saturday) it was noticable but not unbearable. It's also a taxi trip into the town centre for a night out. Just a bit too far to stroll. The continental breakfast we had on the morning we left was basic but good value and our room came with a reasonably stocked mini bar. Room prices were ok at $120 for the deluxe and $95 for a standard room. Discounts are available during quiet times. Overall, pretty good value . No complaints from us... We'd definitely stay again

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Austin-Powers63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

We stayed for three nights in a ground floor room, about the centre of the block. All advertised inclusions were in-situ. Requests for extra towels and a replacement Iron were attended to without fuss or delay. Best of all, the bed was very comfortable, our No.1 priority. Like all motel/hotels, lighting is a little dim and there was only one bedside lamp to read by. There was a bit of confusion by the housekeeper about what to do wrt the extra towels on day 3. Fresh milk and a daily replenishment of the in-room Tea, Coffee and Biscuits was good. The door lock was a little stiff and maintenance was carried out while we were out. We had the Full cooked breakfast one day and the Continential on two others in the Dining room. Food quality was good (C) to very good (F) and fairly priced. Being winter we had no need of the indoor pool, though the manager said that it was heated and we could use it if we wanted. Altogether a welcoming, relaxed stay.

Room Tip: Don't be afraid to ask for something different that is not to your standard, these people are cheerful and helpful.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RetireeBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews