We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Dish in all its glory!”

CSIRO Parkes Observatory
Ranked #1 of 5 things to do in Parkes
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Crete
Level Contributor
87 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“The Dish in all its glory!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2011

Great seeing the actual dish that played such an important part in the first moonwalk - which I remember staying up at night in Britain to watch. I was still at school then, so this visit brought back many memories...

Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    321
    164
    18
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Parkes, Australia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Don't Miss This”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2011

If you are travelling from north to south and vice versa on the Newell Highway you will regret not stopping at the "The Dish" as it is affectionately know ever since they made that movie.
The Visitor's Centre has a wealth of information on how the Dish works and how radio signals are collected from out in space.
The Dish Cafe has without any doubt in my mind, the best meat pies in Australia. Sure there are many other meals on offer from this multi award winning cafe but the steak pie and chips lives in my memory.
My last visit was for a one off show "Opera at the Dish" which celebrated the dish's 50th Birthday. The photos were taken that afternoon and evening. Magical

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Pioneer18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Listening to the universe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2011

My only other visit to The Dish (we didn't call it that back then in the pre-movies days) was in 1988. This time somehow I found it even more impressive - it is at once huge (when you are up close and personal) but also so small given its mission. I loved the hum that it emits which reminds you that it is constantly listening. We had stayed overnight at Parkes on our drive north and decided we'd go out first thing and have breakfast at the cafe - a great choice as the breakfast was excellent and we could watch the Dish as we ate and detect its subtle movements.

A few kilometers further north we turned off to Goobang National Park and drove along the Sawpit Gully Trail towards the campground. Just before you reach this there is a beautiful little walking track that takes you up Burrabadine Peak, to the edge of the escarpment. Fabulous views of this big sky country - well worth the detour.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank bronwen23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A Big Dish - impressive 'Big' Science”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2011

We stopped in at the CSIRO Radio Telescope on our way south from Dubbo. The dish is a little way off the highway, but well worth the stop. The first view of it across the fields is impressive, and it only gets more impressive as you get closer. There is a little pull over area on the road in for photos. If you're collecting 'big' things in Australia, this is a must, and as a bonus it's a real working thing, not just a tourist opportunity. Note that you don't actually get to go into the dish, just look at it from the visitors centre.
We had morning tea/lunch in the cafe, which was excellent. Whilst we were there the dish started rotating and slowly turned through 180 degrees. I don't know how often it does this, but it was amazing to see something so large move so smoothly, and realise it is nearly 50 years old.
Mobile phones have to be turned off as you enter the area. The displays are informative, and interesting, and we purchased a few science type gifts there also.
The whispering dishes in the garden were fun, as was figuring out the sundial and checking it was correct!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank JazzAlert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A well presented piece of history”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2011

Having watched the dish it was great to see this piece of australian history. Its such a peaceful spot and the visitors centre is presented very well. Its small but definately worth seeing.

Helpful?
Thank russkat22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed CSIRO Parkes Observatory also viewed

 
Parkes, New South Wales
Parkes, New South Wales
 

Been to CSIRO Parkes Observatory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing