We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Central Caleula Motor Lodge
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Orange
Certificate of Excellence
Dubbo, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very Disappointed”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Where do I start? We arrived in our room to find the toilet brush in the hand basin. Not very hygenic. The toilet was not flushing well but thought nothing of it and prodeeded to go out for dinner. We came back some hours later, toilet not great but working. Jumped into bed and it was as hard as a rock. Would have been more comfortable to sleep on the floor. Could not sleep so put the radio on - it did not work. Could not wait for day break to get up and going. Jumped in the shower and the shower fell of the wall - were we staying at Fawlty Towers? We proceeded to reception to check out and let them know of our less than pleasant experience and they could not give a damn. They stared blankly as I suggested they get a plumber NOW as the toilet was about to overflow. They said they would refer our concerns to the manager and that was the end of that. We have never heard from the management !! We were not looking for free accommodation just an apology would have been nice. I would suggest you stay elsewhere.
Lynne

Room Tip: Just stay somewhere else!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lynne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    101
    29
    7
    14
See reviews for
40
63
8
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bronte Park, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We stayed in Central Caleula Motor Lodge in Orange one night on 25 April 2013. Well priced for generous buffet breakfast for two and we would stay here again and we recommend it to friends and family. Room 44 and bathroom is spacious, new, clean, quiet, bed/pillows comfortable. We are even more impressed with the service since the jacket, pants with belt and shirt I left behind hanging in the wardrobe were posted to us the same weekend after a telephone call to the reception from Dubbo next night when we discovered the missing clothing; Caleula is worth 5 stars !

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darius J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

The room we got was very nice. It was on the ground floor across far end of the main entrance.
Not only was it very clean, well made up beds, well presented and with a mini bar , tv, and the rooms were very spacious and modern. Obviously they hade done up the rooms recently. The reception was very friendly and so were the serving staff in the restaurant.
They have a wonderful mordern australian menu but don't expect too much from the bar or cocktails. The restaurant was pricey but then what wasn't in dubbo. Good food & ambience in the restaurant and very well mannered. Would recommend this motel as very good value ! Don't hesitate to book.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms away from the road side at the far side of the parking compound. Try the restauran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Stayed here for a local friends birthday but have stayed here spasmodically over period of years
Hotel seemed very old and tired room was at back of hotel was nice and light reasonably clean and OK size wise and no street noise.
Friends had a Spa room which was bigger and more modern seems to be several styles of rooms available best to confern what type is required b4 arrival.
Breakfast was OK nothing special but reasonable quality
There are several newer Motels in town so maybe need to check others out but overall we had a nice stay

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whereswalshie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Quiet and comfy unit with great bed and shower which to me are the two things that are mainly important when choosing accommodation. Kitchen sink outside bathroom too. Continental breakfast was included in our tariff, and this offered quite a selection in very ambient surrounds. Hot breakfast was also available for a little extra if you desired. 24 hour reception was convenient too, as we arrived on a late flight.

Room Tip: If you don't like a firm mattress, you may not give the place the same rating. Lawn bowls club...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebbieB2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

I regularly travel thought NSW for work staying in lager country towns like Orange that have a number of choices for accommodation through to little towns with either one simple motel or just a pub as the accommodation option, so I am used to staying in variable standards of accommodation.

As far as value and attitude of staff is concerned I would rate this motel as one if the worst.

My room was dirty with hair and insects on the bathroom floor when, I told the girl in reception about this she said the was nothing she could do as the cleaners had gone home and there were no other rooms available.

I dined at the motel restaurant and the main dish was so salty I could not eat it, I told the waitress who went to talk to the chef,the response of the chef was "that is the way the dish is meant to be" such a take it or leave it attitude was very disappointing.

I complained to the receptionist who said there was nothing she could do and I was best to discuss with the manager the next morning, in the morning when I raised my disappointing experiences with the room and the restaurant with the manager she did not seem to care.

The manager said the owner was due in late in the morning so I asked her to get the owner to call me, as I write this almost a month later i have not been contacted by the owner.

I guess the don't care attitude starts from the top.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Paulandjoseph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batemans Bay, Australia
1 review
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We recently stayed at the motel whilst visiting Orange. We found the reception to be very welcoming when checking in and the restaurant staff to be very helpful and friendly. We booked through Wotif and had a continental breakfast included but were able to upgrade to a full breakfast which pleased my husband as there was plenty of bacon, eggs, sausages and other such goodies for him to enjoy. The rooms was clean and modern and free onsite undercover parking was a plus. All in all it was a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Check out Wotif as the deal we found was very good value
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelAus189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orange hotels
0.1 mi away
de Russie Boutique Hotel
1.7 mi away
Quality Inn Ambassador Orange
3.8 mi away
Turner's Vineyard
Turner's Vineyard
#7 of 11 in Orange
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Ibis Styles Orange
Ibis Styles Orange
#5 of 11 in Orange
268 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Orange (Templers Mill)
0.6 mi away
West End Motor Lodge
West End Motor Lodge
#3 of 11 in Orange
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Caleula Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Caleula Motor Lodge

Property: Central Caleula Motor Lodge
Address: 60 Summer St, Orange, New South Wales 2800, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Orange
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Orange
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Central Caleula Motor Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in first class comfort at Orange's most prestigious Motor Lodge, located right in the heart of the CBD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Central Caleula Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Caleula Motor Hotel Orange

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing