We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Central Caleula Motor Lodge
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Orange
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Was very expensive compared to other hotels in area, booked in as website seemed to show a nicer experience with spa and rooms v others in Orange. Room was basic, no Austar as advertised. No breakfast included, tiles damaged in bathroom. Queen bed uncomfortable. If was around $50 a night cheaper would have understood was more basic than advertised. Staff friendly enough but did not seem to take on feedback when checking out, simply said would pass on feedback. Better value hotels available.

Room Tip: Ask to see room before unpacking as another group had requested a change of room when I arrived so a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dmcallis73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (206)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 206 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2012

Travelling to Orange for business, I had to make a late booking as the trip was due to unforeseen circumstances. I was “lucky” enough to get “the last standard room”. FAIL !
I landed in a room at above the restaurant, very much in need of a make-over. The room looked like it was furnished from the local second hand furniture store, not the local antique store, but more like the local charity store.
I decided to give the restaurant a go, & I like seafood. FAIL ! I still don’t know how you get so much gloopy batter on a tiny piece of fish.
And my room being over the restaurant, there was some plant (refrigeration or some such) that started up every hour or so – no sleep !
All in all – I won’t be back.

Room Tip: Get one of the refurbished rooms !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

My husband and I spent a 3 day sojourn in Orange and were pleased with the selection of our motel.The reception was friendly and we were allocated a quiet room to the rear' as requested, avoiding any potential traffic noise from the main road.Our executive queen room was fine if a little dark. The included Continental breakfast was good with fresh fruit.
The swimming pool was not operational during our visit but the weather was not very hot.
Best thing about this motel is its position within easy walking distance of the CBD with shops, restaurants and in the opposite direction very near the lovely Cook Park. October was a great time to visit Orange as the gardens everywhere were full of spectacular colour.

Room Tip: Rooms to the rear are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnneTom11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

The room we were given was right next to the driveway entrance, and the main highway, so a lot of noise. The room was very basic, and no handles on the cupboards, no hair dryer (the first time I have been to any type of hotel, motel, b&b, etc not to have one) The iron in the room was dirty, and the staff were friendly enough but did not seem overly happy with my query about a hair dryer. The undercover car park allocated to us was a nightmare to get in and out of, with very small spaces and very tight turning areas. Not an impressive stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel. At least then you only have to worry about the bowling club...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathleen153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

My partner and I were in Orange for a wedding, the Caleula was one of the properties the bride recommended to stay - so we did!

Nothing to write home about, but it's just a good, comfy, quiet motel with friendly staff. The rooms are really large and the usual furnishings for a motel. The bathrooms are massive and ours had a large spa bath - though we didn't use it.

Breakfast was included in the stay - continental but could upgrade to hot brekky for $6 more. Just went for the basic continental which was fine - fruit, cereal, yoghurt and toast.

Good as a place to rest your head when in Orange!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Booked and stayed for the Bathurst weekend and was really happy with the quality of our stay.
The room was quiet and clean, looked like it had been recently renovated.
Room was made up every day by friendly housekeeping.
Reception was very friendly and accommodating.
We didnt utilise the restaurant but it looked clean and welcoming.

On the down side?? The bed was a bit to firm for me - but no big deal.
And, they really need to move the smoking area. It is right next to the entrance door to the hotel hallway and the smell goes straight the way down the hallway and goes under the door. Our room was right down the end of the hall and we could still smell when a group of guys lit up.
Our friend was in the room right next to the smokers area and he could smell it everytime he went into the bathroom.

Just move the smoking area and there are really no issues with this hotel.

Would definitely stay there again

Room Tip: if you have big suitcases .... ground floor so you dont have to lug them up the stairs. a room away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fremantlewa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Room was clean - and restuarant good (though range of local wines poor). It took a while to get air con on into warm mode (and still electric blanket was necessary). And wifi was dodgy for a while - i had to ask them to examine their router when it was still not quite right. I probably wouldnt rush back, but if you find yoursef there, will be alright. Garden Centre Cafe next door ("Anything Grows") was a plus.

Room Tip: try not to be on road side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HadP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orange hotels
0.1 mi away
de Russie Boutique Hotel
1.7 mi away
Quality Inn Ambassador Orange
3.8 mi away
Turner's Vineyard
Turner's Vineyard
#8 of 11 in Orange
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Ibis Styles Orange
Ibis Styles Orange
#7 of 11 in Orange
286 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Oriana, Orange
The Oriana, Orange
#6 of 11 in Orange
40 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Orange
Mercure Orange
#2 of 11 in Orange
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Caleula Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Caleula Motor Lodge

Address: 60 Summer St, Orange, New South Wales 2800, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Orange
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Orange
Price Range: $119 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Central Caleula Motor Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in first class comfort at Orange's most prestigious Motor Lodge, located right in the heart of the CBD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Central Caleula Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Caleula Motor Hotel Orange

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing