We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic 10/10”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
Dining room
Welcome !
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Orange, New South Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Veronica...
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic 10/10”
Reviewed August 22, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

This house was absolutely perfect in every way.....the owner greeted us and was lovely, the pantry was filled with some great little goodies,the house was close to restaurants and amenities, but most of all the house was well appointed, extremely clean and beautifully decorated with a relaxing fireplace. I would definitely recommend this luxurious cottage..

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
avrilross
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“beautiful place to stay”
Reviewed July 8, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We had a wonderful 3 night stay in Orange at Cottage 79. From the beginning of meeting up with Alan & walking into a lovely cosy cottage having had the fire lit for us before our arrival. It was beautifully clean & well appointed & we appreciated the extra touches including tea/coffee, bread, port & chocolates etc. As we were two couples travelling together we would have liked either another bathroom or a separate toilet but this did not spoil our stay & was our only thought on how this cottage could be improved. It is situated in a quiet street in centre of town & we visited many wineries only a short drive away. Millthorpe was our favourite village 15mins away but the whole surrounding area & wineries were lovely. We had a great stay & would definitely return to Cottage 79.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: cleanliness & furnishings
Liked least: toilet/bathroom combined
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmdent
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“How Perfect is this cottage?”
Reviewed June 3, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

An amazing and thoughtfully renovated cottage right on the edge of the main CBD of Orange. This cottage has everything that one could want for either a weekend or a longer stay. The owner's are obviously proud of the cottage and it shows in its presentation. The owners are there to greet you and hand over the keys and check that everything is to the guest's satisfaction. From the linen's, chocolates and complimentary port everything is first class. Orange has so many things to do and the owners have gone to the trouble of providing details of almost every attraction, restaurant, winery and experience on offer. They have also included details of other attractions within a driving distance of Orange. When in Orange, this will be our first choice when looking for somewhere to stay. It does however book out quickly on weekends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The whole cottage
Liked least: Extra blankets on the bed during the winter months would be appreciated
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 4, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you visit again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongon...
Wollongong
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Orange Bliss”
Reviewed December 31, 2013 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I have to agree with previous reviewers, this is a lovely cottage, beautifully restored and central to everything. A high level of quality comfort has been achieved with attention to detail. Staying with friends we enjoyed the cool and serene courtyard. The kitchen and BBQ make self catering easy. Double glazing and thick walls prevent the busy road from being a noise problem.

The bathroom is lovely but be warned - only one loo if sharing. Oh well, not too tough to compromise for the rest that this cottage offers like the rain shower and double wash basins.

We also enjoyed dining at Sweet Sour Salt just around the corner. This restaurant reminded us of the Hungry Duck at Berry with its modern take on Asian - really enjoyable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort and beauty of the cottage.
Liked least: Only one toilet.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 4, 2014
We enjoy providing a unique cottage, thank you for your words of appreciation.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie H
Sydney
1 review
“Historic cottage with luxury fit out in the heart of Orange”
Reviewed October 20, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Owners Alan and Michelle have beautifully renovated this 1880s cottage so it retains all its country charm (without the country kitsch), with a modern sensibility and fittings. Bright and breezy with great attention to detail, our only regret is not staying longer so we could make use of the amazing kitchen and outdoor garden and entertaining area. A big thumbs up for a super comfortable bed, a fireplace that lights at the touch of a button, a rain shower head and the cottage's proximity to the main street, local bars and restaurants (like Byng St Store and the newly rebooted Union Bank WIne Bar).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 22, 2013
Thank you for a wonderful review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your time at the cottage and expressed your appreciation for our unique piece of Orange history. We look forward to having you stay again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaudiaGi...
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Luxury home away from home - this cottage is not to be missed!”
Reviewed September 15, 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This cottage is a must stay, truly beautiful with fantastic touches of luxury throughout. Recently renovated, the owners have thought about how to enable those who stay to relax, recharge and enjoy all the beauty Orange has on offer. Cottage 79 is positioned in the centre of town only a few minutes walk from boutique restaurants, a great wine bar and fantastic shopping. However, with such a beautiful cottage sometimes we just stayed in and enjoyed Orange produce outside under the pergola!
Some specific comments include:
* The owners (Al and Michelle) are incredibly welcoming and there to assist if needed
* A breakfast basket and other kitchen essentials (tea / coffee / milk etc) were all available in the well appointed kitchen - a beautiful touch
* All linen / towels are provided and are of boutique luxury standard
* The cottage has been lovingly restored, including all the rustic charm of original floorboards and other heritage features. There is also a fantastic newly renovated bathroom with a great shower
I can't recommend this cottage highly enough, we will definitely be staying again. Orange is a beautiful country town and Cottage 79 is the perfect place to stay in whilst visiting. I have now stayed in several properties across Orange, having been a regular visitor, and can conclusively say that this is the best serviced property in town.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The welcoming and homely feel of this pristine and luxury cottage
Liked least: There is nothing that wasn't fantastic
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 27, 2013
We appreciate your review and high recommendation to fellow travellers. We look forward to having you stay when you are next visiting our beautiful Orange.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenda H
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Historic gem in Orange”
Reviewed September 4, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

“The Cottage” located in the historic heart of Orange is a beautifully restored 1880’s cottage.
My husband and I stayed during August with some friends and even though it was cold at this time of the year in Orange we found the cottage warm and very welcoming after a day exploring the area and all it has to offer.
On arrival we were greeted by Michelle & Alan (the owners) who had already prepared the cottage for a warm welcome.
There is plenty of room for inside dinning if you wish and there is also a lovely area outside for relaxing or cooking a BBQ.
The property is a short walking distance to cafes, restaurants, cellar doors and shops without being in a noisy area. The heritage walk is close by and I highly recommend it.
Within the cottage there are two queen size bedrooms, a modern spacious bathroom and a very well equipped kitchen. To our surprise, upon opening the refrigerator door there was an arrangement of fruit and yogurt for a light breakfast the following morning. All the essentials were provided.
We really loved this stay. If you want to get the historic feel of country Orange while discovering everything the town has to offer, excellent wines, great food, and beautiful gardens plus lots more.
Then this is the place to rest your weary head.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and decor
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 27, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in the cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing