We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet and Comfortable”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Camelia Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Orange
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Camelia Cottage
Ranked #7 of 23 Orange B&B and Inns
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
104 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Quiet and Comfortable”
Reviewed April 25, 2014

This is a lovely Colonial style house walking distance from the centre of town where there are some lovely restaurants, wine bars and nice shops. Sally and her husband made us very welcome and on the morning of Australia Day we all ate breakfast in the lovely garden and had a glass of champagne to celebrate in style,
Breakfasts were substantial and tasty!
The house and bedrooms are very comfortable and clean and the town is and surroundings are charming. Anson Street is a quiet side road which made for a good night's sleep.
Good value for money!

Room Tip: Make sure you ask whether there is an en suite bathroom if you need one as at least one room does no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzyOxfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CameliaCottage, Owner at Camelia Cottage, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Thank you for your review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay iat Camelia Cottage Bed & Breakfast in Orange and joined in the fun of the Australia Day celebrations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
12
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed April 21, 2014

The house is very beautiful. We love the decoration and the cleanliness of this place. The bed is comfy. Breakfast is good, we had cereals and eggs, toasts and bacon with coffee, tea and juice. The owner is very nice. She recommended us local restaurants and vineyard.

The house is very close to the city center. If we have a chance to go to Orange again, I would stay at this place.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taopingping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CameliaCottage, Owner at Camelia Cottage, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Thank you for your review. I am please you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay at Camelia Cottage Bed & Breakfast and I hope to see you again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baulkham Hills, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Thanks Sally for a great weekend, we enjoyed our stay. Rooms were clean and your home is charming. It was only a pity fit rained all weekend and we couldn't enjoy the garden. The restaurants you recommended were great.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CameliaCottage, Owner at Camelia Cottage, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Thank you for your review it is much appreciated. Sorry I could not control the weather - better luck on your next visit to Orange when I hope tosee you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

Sally the proprietor operates a fantastic property. She was great with a restaurant recommendation and ideas of things to do in the area.

The property is a delightful and very tasteful Victorian house. The room was very comfortable, well presented and exceptionally clean.

When booking a B&B I always wonder about the 'floral prints and the doily' factor... This isn't one of those B&Bs.

Very close to the Main Street, but far enough away to not be noisy.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank DMMatlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CameliaCottage, Owner at Camelia Cottage, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Thank you for your review and I am pleased you had a comfortable and relaxing weekend in Orange. I hope to see you again at Camelia Cottage Bed & Breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014

A friend and I booked a room each last weekend at Camelia Cottage in Orange. The rooms were very clean and the bedding lovely and comfortable. Sally, the hostess, created a peaceful, calm environment and beautiful gardens to enjoy. Breakfast was a little simple compared to other B&Bs but tasty and different each morning.

The cottage is centrally located and only a few minutes walk to shops. We went to Orange to attend a workshop at Jumbled, which we were delighted to find only a minute away on foot. We had dinner at Bistro Ceello which was two doors up. Everything was very, very easy and convenient.

A bar fridge is provided in the common area which was great to put our pre-dinner wine and the common lounge a nice place to chat and relax before heading out for the evening.

Room Tip: i loved my room at the front with ensuite (the other front room has a dedicated bathroom down the ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IamPrincessSparkles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CameliaCottage, Owner at Camelia Cottage, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Thank you for your review. I appreciate your comments and am pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Orange. I hope to see you again at Camelia Cottage Bed & Breakfast on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Stayed two nights at this beautiful period house in Anson Street Orange. The room was excellent, quiet, comfortable, clean. Our hostess Sally could not have been more helpful re wine region, markets, restaurants and general regional information. The décor of the house and the garden was much loved and much admired. Thankyou Sally for sharing your lovely home with two weary 'pent up' city slickers we left with a Mustang full of wonderful Orange wine (Bloodwood and Borrodello) very much refreshed.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeni w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CameliaCottage, Owner at Camelia Cottage, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Thank you for your review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay at Camelia Cottage Bed & Breakfast. You also enjoyed visiting Orange and I look forward to seeing you on your next visit.
Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

What a beautiful house this is in Anson Street, Orange. We spent two nights there and the overall impression was very favourable. Superb property and great facilities. $195 per night was a bit expensive but with such an historic house and beautiful quality bed coverings and bathrooms, it was worth it. Hostess was extremely helpful and overall it was well worth staying there. Gardens great!! It was Australia Day weekend and we were fortunate to share Australia Day with friends which included the owner of the B and B at a lovely property out of Orange. Recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pottyaboutparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CameliaCottage, Owner at Camelia Cottage, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Thank you for your review. The weekend was fun and I hope your return trip was comortable.
Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orange hotels
0.4 mi away
de Russie Boutique Hotel
1.4 mi away
Quality Inn Ambassador Orange
1.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Orange
Ibis Styles Orange
#6 of 11 in Orange
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Templers Mill
Templers Mill
#2 of 11 in Orange
255 reviews
1.0 mi away
West End Motor Lodge
West End Motor Lodge
#3 of 11 in Orange
196 reviews
1.1 mi away
Duntryleague Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camelia Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camelia Cottage

Property: Camelia Cottage
Address: 175 Anson St, Orange, New South Wales 2800, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Orange
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Orange
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camelia Cottage Bed & Breakfast offers stylishly decorated B&B accommodation in the centre of Orange. Indulge in luxury and comfort in this beautifully restored boutique federation home situated on a wide tree lined street. A selection of top restaurants, boutique shops and leafy parks are within a stone’s throw. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing