We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded expectations”
Review of Black Sheep Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Black Sheep Inn
Ranked #6 of 23 Orange B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
“Exceeded expectations”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed two nights in the Whispering Moon Cottage and it was even better than expected. No detail is overlooked - from the fridge stocked with everything you need for a gourmet breakfast, to an absolutely spotless bathroom. Whilst this old shearers cottage has been modified, it retains much of it's charm with open fireplace and wooden floors. Helen is a delightful host who is wonderfully helpful without being intrusive. The perfect place for a cozy winter getaway - we'll be back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyR385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    6
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
42
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

This is truly a fabulous place to stay. Helen is an excellent host with a warm friendly approach. She has an great eye for detail and it shows in and around the Black Sheep Inn. Warm and comfy with large communal areas or little private alcoves. Lovely bedrooms with top class en suites. The breakfast was akin to a high class restaurant or hotel. Picturesque setting and a stones throw to some of the best vineyards and orchards in Orange. It was an interesting experience for my Canadian cousins who enjoyed seeing a bit of Australian history up close and thought that staying in a renovated shearing shed was great. You must try it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmlynLewisJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrigal NSW
Level Contributor
132 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2012

Balck Sheep Station accommodation has to be seen to be believed.Best booked as agroup of 5 couples so you have the place ( dining, lounge, kitchen) to yourselves. Host Helen and team are wonderful with all the little things done well. Weekend wasn't hurt by having Michael Manners prepare the Saturday evening meal either.Indulgent weekend in Orange starts here.

Room Tip: Hope your friends isn't better than yours
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heat57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed May 22, 2012

We booked all the rooms at the Black Sheep Inn for a fun, relaxing weekend with a group of friends. We had a chef come in nda cook for us on the Saturday night.The breakfasts were absolutely superb. All in all, great weather, great food, great company. Everything about the Black Sheep Inn was done beautifully. Lovely subtle touches such as the slow combustion heater warming the Inn on arrival, choccies on the bedside. Helen and her team are wonderful hosts. Always there at the right time! It was the perfect weekend.

Room Tip: All rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Thanks to Helen we had a wonderful stay at the Black Sheep Inn at Easter. From beautiful gourmet breakfasts to a lovely touch of an Easter chocolate bunny on our plates on the Monday, it really is a great place to stay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophisticant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balgowlah, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012

A great conversion of a shearing shed with all mod cons.Helen was an excellent host.We also enjoyed the company of the other guests who had come form Perth,Victoria and Sydney.Comfort of the place was supreme.The country setting relaxed us and the many good restaurants now in Orange topped it off.

Room Tip: Rooms 3 and 5 face east and get the morning sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

We spent Easter at Whispering Moon, the old shearer's cottage on the property that is also home to the Black Sheep Inn, and it was exactly the holiday we needed. When we arrived, it was just before dusk and seeing the bright yellow cottage with red trim in the distance was as exciting for us as it was for the kids. You really do feel like you are on your very own farm surrounded by rolling paddocks and mooing cows. There was a welcoming light on in the cottage and the fire was set. Inside the fridge was the most magnificent breakfast ready for us to use during our stay; generous helpings of bacon, home made sausages and jams, free range eggs, butter, scrumptious muesli, thick creamy Greek yoghurt, a huge bowl of delicious strawberries and blueberries. There was literally nothing you could want for. There were also Easter eggs for everyone and a wonderful sense of care and generosity. We couldn't have been made to feel more welcome.

The cottage itself is rustic (not quite as slick as the converted shearer's shed 100 meters up the road) but it was still really comfortable and ever so private. We had our own little verandah with outdoor table and chairs and a BBQ and the weather was so good that we could barbeque our breakfast for two of the mornings we were there. The beds were really comfy (which is really important to all of us) and the windows were large enough that you could really enjoy the views of the surrounding area. If I could change anything it would be the showers; the water pressure wasn't great and the temperature was a bit tricky to regulate.

Helen was also a wonderful host and couldn't have been more helpful (but was also so respectful of our privacy). We would love to go back again.

Room Tip: If you want the slick experience, you might prefer one of the rooms in the shearer's shed but fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyinChina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orange hotels
1.8 mi away
de Russie Boutique Hotel
5.4 mi away
Turner's Vineyard
Turner's Vineyard
#7 of 11 in Orange
158 reviews
3.4 mi away
Quality Inn Ambassador Orange
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Borrodell Vineyard
Borrodell Vineyard
#1 of 23 in Orange
93 reviews
1.9 mi away
Templers Mill
Templers Mill
#2 of 11 in Orange
271 reviews
1.0 mi away
Duntryleague Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Sheep Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Sheep Inn

Property: Black Sheep Inn
Address: 91 Heifer Station Lane | (off The Escort Way), Orange, New South Wales 2800, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Orange
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Orange
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Black Sheep Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Black Sheep Inn is a former shearing shed beautifully converted into 5-bedroom accommodation. Each room has an en-suite and lovely views, and rates include a delicious 3-course breakfast. Our rural setting is peaceful and relaxing, while the lovely town of Orange is only a 10-minute drive away! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Black Sheep Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing