We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Fully inclusive wine and tour guide

What a wonderful informative morning we had. Nicole was a hoot, and all three wineries gave us a... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Gregory P
,
Woolooware, Australia
Fantastic

We had a great afternoon with Country Food Trails on our Wine Tasting tour that included an Olive... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
TravelmanagersVickih
,
Heathcote, Australia
Read all 49 reviews
  
Reviews (49)
Filter reviews
49 results
Traveler rating
47
1
0
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
47
1
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bush tucker walking tour cultural tour lemon myrtle indigenous food local knowledge community garden olive farm perfect in every way native plants food experience wine tasting tour day trip great host great wineries great afternoon local area
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 49 reviews
Reviewed December 1, 2020

Booked a walking tour with Nicole from Country Food Trails for a group of girlfriends. The tour starts with a nice easy walk around the town explaining the history of the buildings and the people of Orange. Followed by a Bush Tucker talk and tasting with Indigenous food and culture told to us by a local guide, a definite must when in Orange. You don't want to miss savouring the delights Gerald has made for tasting. Finishing the tour with local wines and food all sourced by Nicole form local businesses. Nicole's endless knowledge of Orange will keep you informed and entertained. Such a fun day with friends. I would definitely recommend to anyone visiting Orange. Even if you have visited orange before, add this tour to your next visit, or any of Country Food Trail Tours, there is something for everyone.

Date of experience: November 2020
Thank Brenda463
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
nicolefV8971JK, Owner at Country Food Trails, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2021

Thanks for your lovely review Brenda. It was so lovely getting to know your lovely group of friends and sharing some of our city with them. I look forward to welcoming you back to Orange next time you visit. Cheers, Nicole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2020

Such a beautiful way to spend a day in Orange. Learnt about the history of the town and its surrounds, was introduced to bush tucker - such an eye opener and visited a wonderful family run small winery as well as other small distributors. Perfect in every way. Will return again for more . Thankyou Nicole for sharing your love of Orange with us.

Date of experience: November 2020
Thank Cruiser785340
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
nicolefV8971JK, Owner at Country Food Trails, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2021

Thanks for your lovely review and I look forward to welcoming you on your next visit. Cheers, Nicole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2020

We wanted to spend a few days in beautiful Orange with good friends and booked tours with Nicole of Country Food Trails, based in Orange. We cannot recommend them highly enough – we had a great weekend and the tours were first rate. The Indigenous Cultural tour was amazing, hosted by a senior First Nation man, Gerald, who led us through the indigenous history and the local foodstuffs. We then visited the memorial and gravesite of a local indigenous man who guided the original white explorers into what was then unknown (to the English) territory. We had driven past the sign and turn off many times over the years but had never understood, or taken the trouble to find out, the significance of this historic sacred site. We were very taken by this period of history and its significance to our First Nation Australians. A visit then to another significant park nearby was fantastic and very restful, Gerald cooking a very good lunch with some local ingredients – he is a great cook. Every Australian should do this tour. The first day ended with a visit to a local winery where the grapes were laid out near Mt. Canobolas and looking gorgeous in the afternoon sun. Of course, it would have seemed impolite not to help taste some produce.
The following day we took the historic walk around Orange led by Sharon who pointed out the history of the city, the beautiful old houses and Federation buildings - the gardens were stunning, the parks restful and beautifully designed. Well done Country Food Trails. They were also able to help suggest accommodation alternatives and helped with transfers from our hotel. If you are unable to travel overseas at present – explore our local regional areas and Orange was amazing.

Date of experience: November 2020
2  Thank PhilthetravellerXI
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
nicolefV8971JK, Owner at Country Food Trails, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2021

Thanks for your wonderful review Phillip. It was lovely to share some of our region with you. Please come and visit again.....still so much more to see and do. Cheers, Nicole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2020

Country Food Trails gives a wonderful variety of experiences to get to know Orange. Marie and I had three fabulous days exploring both the indigenous story and the heritage aspects with Nicole's warm and knowledgeable guidance. The indigenous trail began by meeting Gerald Power who showed and gave us tastings of a very interesting display of plants and foods not usually found in a European pantry! Then we were taken to the sacred burial site of Yuranigh to view the amazing "scar trees" and onward to Borenore, a site of tranquil natural beauty to hear the history of the caves and to have a delicious taste of kangaroo and crocodile skewers.
The following day, Nicole's associate Sharon took us on a walking tour of the local streets and parks, taking in the church, Council and historic sites relating to the Dalton family – one of the founding families of Orange. The magnificent Federation homes are lovingly preserved and the gardens around them are brimming with huge roses and sprawling perennials.
We enjoyed local cafes and wineries and bought delicious preserves from Orange and Canoblas area.
We left feeling we had a sense of the history and with local plants to try and recreate some of the indigenous delights at home! We would highly recommend Nicole and her team for a wonderful experience of NSW country.

Date of experience: November 2020
Thank K1115ZZlaurenceb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
nicolefV8971JK, Owner at Country Food Trails, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2020

Thanks for your lovely review Laurie. It was wonderful sharing the region with you. Come and visit again soon. Cheers, Nicole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2020

The Food Trail Tour was informative, tasty and fun. The food experience, with an element of indigenous Bush Tucker and a range of local produce, was innovative and enjoyable.
Our guide, Nicole, was engaging and she imparted her knowledge of the local heritage with humour and enthusiasm.
I would strongly recommend this tour.

Date of experience: November 2020
Thank Rosemary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
nicolefV8971JK, Owner at Country Food Trails, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2020

Thanks for your lovely review Rosemary. I am so pleased you enjoyed the morning. Be sure to visit Orange again.....there is plenty more to see! Cheers, Nicole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews