We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mercure Orange (Templers Mill)
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Orange
Certificate of Excellence
Lake Macquarie
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good location”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Location to the shopping area is within short walking distance.
Meals are located in the Orange Ex-Services Club and billed back to your room.
you are allowed to use the Ex-Services Club pool and Leisure centre at no extra cost.
We used the pool which is heated and under cover.
The room was Clean and everything you needed was there
All staff was helpfully and we would stay there again with no problems

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boakma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    119
    35
    8
    2
See reviews for
64
91
9
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

I stayed at this motel on a Sunday night, having travelled to Orange for a job interview early Monday morning. Check-in was so efficient and friendly. You give them your car licence plate number, they give you your card/key and off you go.

I had decided to book myself into a Queen Executive Suite and was not disappointed. It was a massive room indeed - there was a queen bed and two singles just for starters. The furnishings and walls were modern and new, as was the carpet. There was a table with two chairs, a two-seater sofa and a large flat-screen TV mounted on the wall. Impressively, there was plenty of hanging space for clothes (two large wardrobes) complete with a decent supply of good-quality coat hangers. Another terrific feature was not one, but two suitcase stands. Usually most motels only ever provide enough space for one case, no matter how many beds are in the room.

The bathroom was incredible. Big and modern with plenty of bench space and quality toiletries and fittings. The shower had two different shower heads: a European and a fixed. Both were good and strong in terms of water flow. Loved the tiles!

The room was on the second floor and there were two ways of entering the room: either up the flight of steps to the verandah, or up the steps to the internal hallway. If you enter your room from the verandah you use the swipe card; if you enter from the other side you use the key. Parking is plentiful, with an internal courtyard dedicated to motel guests. People staying on the ground floor can park right outside their doors.

I didn't find it noisy at all, despite the fact there were quite a few late-night guest arrivals. I slept okay, my only gripe being the feather pillows. They were way too soft for me, and all the pillows in the room were the same so I was unable to pick a different type. The air-conditioning worked very well and so did all the light switches, the kettle, etc.

I ordered room service breakfast in the morning and it was delicious (poached eggs on toast). I should also mention the little, thoughtful touches in the room which I loved: a plentiful supply of Nescafé coffee sachets, tea bags and milk in the fridge. Again, many motels barely supply enough of these for one person. Also there were six cookies to choose from (Anzac, Peanut, Choc Chip) and a large, full jug of cold water in the fridge with plenty of glasses. The cold water especially was very welcome for me, as I'd been driving in the heat all day.

I could walk into the CBD from the motel so the location was brilliant. The hotel staff were all lovely. A very nice place to stay in Orange.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrequentFlyer71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

The room is not like the advertised picture, the stylistic features of the room included exposed plywood trims and a corner hinged cathode ray tube television, definately a retro style. The toilet came equipped with a moist, arctic breeze climate. The style again was a retro one, with the 2'x2' tiles , a fecant brown in hew... possibly to cover for spillage? The neighbours were also enjoying the establishment that a strong sense of community was evident. Gentlemen no more than a metre from the front door exchanged tales of 4wd snorkel installation, until the wee hours of the morning. On completion of this the lovely couple next door seemingly began their long journey towards having a family, upon further listening it was infact crougheting! The combination of crying, coughing, and vometing. The fabulous community spirit was only matched by the newfangled technological nessecities that we base our lives upon in this modern era, particularly the automatic clauset light, and the fixed Tv switch, located upon the wall behind the bed.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank crougheting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rylstone, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for a few nights for work.
Seriously, this was the cleanest motel room I have ever stayed in. It looked recently refurbished, but the lady at reception said it was 4 years old. Comfy bed. Definitely a go-er on business.
Ate at the club and was able to bill my dinner to my room.
Used the gym at the ex-services club (20m from the motel) for free as part of my stay.
Just a bit of noise as there was a few noisy workers who weren't as considerate as they could have been.
Very close to town. Walk anywhere.
Staff were very friendly.
Going back next week, and looking forward to it!

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank KatandAnthony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I would very happily stay here again.
Spotlessly clean with extremely comfortable beds, this motel is one street back from the main street so it was easy to find but very quiet. The motel is adjacent to the Services Club and guests can use their facilities which, most importantly for us, include a 25m indoor swimming pool.
As we were staying for a few days we splashed out and booked an executive suite: this was well worth the money for the extra room. The bathroom was roomy with everything you could want.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carilloneur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collaroy Beach, New South Wales, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed here last weekend. Very efficient staff. We asked for an early check in and were able to do so at 11.30am. Very well located, close to shops, etc but off main street. Rooms were clean and tidy with plenty of room. Being part of the Ex services club was great and we met friends and family for both lunch and dinner without having to move our car. We will definately stay there again

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

This place is a bit run down really. There needs to be more attention to detail, when it comes to what visitors really want. Little things, like the kettle didn't work, lights didn't all work, the heater / aircon didn't work properly. These things should be checked regularly. Once a week at least. It was actually very cold - fortunately, we had our own doona in the car with us. It would have been difficult without this, given the exceptionally cold weather.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OzNana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orange hotels
0.2 mi away
de Russie Boutique Hotel
1.6 mi away
Quality Inn Ambassador Orange
3.7 mi away
Turner's Vineyard
Turner's Vineyard
#7 of 11 in Orange
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Ibis Styles Orange
Ibis Styles Orange
#5 of 11 in Orange
271 reviews
0.3 mi away
Central Caleula Motor Lodge
0.7 mi away
West End Motor Lodge
West End Motor Lodge
#4 of 11 in Orange
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Orange (Templers Mill)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Orange (Templers Mill)

Property: Mercure Orange (Templers Mill)
Address: 94 Byng St, Orange, New South Wales 2800, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Orange
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Orange
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Orange (Templers Mill) 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just one block from Orange's CBD, Mercure Orange (Templers Mill) is centrally located in Byng Street. As part of the Club's complex guests can enjoy the convenience of staying on site when attending a private event or conference as well as enjoying the great facilities the Club has on offer, including the Pool & Leisure Centre. CHECK-IN & CHECK-OUT TIMES: Our Standard Check-In Time is 2.00Pm Our Standard Check-Out Time is 10.00Am *prior arrangements may be made for early check-in or late check-outs (fees may apply, subject to availability) Guests staying at the Hotel also have the added convenience of charging food and beverage expenses to their rooms while visiting the Club facilities. Mercure Orange offers many services including off street and under cover parking, FREE unlimited Wi-Fi internet, and 12 channel FOXTEL. Templers Mill offers comfortable and convenient accommodation at an affordable rate with our 77 units including Deluxe, and Executive rooms, with Disabled options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Mercure Orange (Templers Mill) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing