We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expensive for nothing! False Advertising”
Review of Templers Mill

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Templers Mill
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Orange
Certificate of Excellence
Gosford
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Expensive for nothing! False Advertising”
Reviewed May 10, 2012

The room is nothing like their advertised picture or what they state. My husband, 17 year old daughter and I stayed there last week under the understanding that we were booked into a 'disabled room' as I am mobility impaired. The room has a queen (more like a double) bed and a single bed squashed into a small room that should only accommodate a queen bed. The single bed was sqashed against one wall the other bed squashed up against the side window. My husband had to climb up and in to bed as there was no side acess into it. Only one side of the electric blanket cord reached the power point so my daughter and husband had no heating in the bed (Orange in May can be bitterly cold!). The room was only a metre from the footpath and road and having only a window separating, meant constant noise from the busy street. The airconditioning units were very noisy and if not using your own room airconditioning, you could hear other rooms airconditioners running loudly. It was an extremely small room and very difficult to move the wheelchair in. Just a kettle and coffee/tea making facilities - no microwave oven or even toaster and only one drinking glass - in the bathroom. The room was very, very out dated and the bathroom did have additions placed to make it a 'disabled room' but there were still remnants of what it had been prior - rusty metal supports on the walls where previous attached funishings may have been. We returned to our room after it was serviced to be almost knocked out by the fumes of bleach. No disabled parking out the front of our 'disabled room' but was several parks down. I found this motel way too expensive for what it was - it should have been half the cost. Yes, there is the convenience of the RSL Club next door but remembering it is still just (very) basic 'club' food.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NettaGosford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    110
    32
    8
    1
See reviews for
61
82
8
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
234 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2012

This motel is part of the ex-services club and backs on to it therefore very convenient to have a cheap meal there. It is also within walking distance of the shops and restaurants and off the main highway. We found it quiet, comfortable and clean. We had a standard room which was small but as we only stayed the one night it did not worry us. Breakfast was served on the appointed time the next morning. The motel no longer gives NRMA or Senior discounts.

Room Tip: When booking or checking in ask for a ground floor room if you are unable to walk up the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cebazat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2012

I have stayed here 4 times and the rooms have been recently renovated. The motel is next to the Orange Ex Services club which provides some great meals and entertainment. The big plasma TV is nice and the beds are comfy.

Room Tip: Downstairs rooms are a bit noisy when the morning travellers leave early
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Biztraveller7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wagga Wagga, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 11, 2011

Stayed here on our way north. Well located with club next door for meals, and room service available. However, Rooms very small with over kill on the room santising spray. Room is too small for Queen and Single bed, with each bed pushed right up against a wall, with only room to walk down the middle. Our room was not refurished and very dated, and the Manager, when queried, said that our room was the final room they had to do, yet the tariff was not different to that advertised for a refurbished room.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jetsetsal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, England
Level Contributor
146 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2011

I have stayed in this motel several times, for maybe a total of 20 nights, the most recent being in December 2010. I have had very good experiences and also pretty poor.

Good : Excellent location, on a quiet road one block from the "main drag" of Orange, with a decent pub in walking distance. It is associated with the large Ex-Services Club next door which allows free access to the club's facilities; cheap bar, well equipped gym, indoor pool, restaurants, TAB and the cheapest bottle shop in town. The "Executive" rooms are very large and well equipped with seating area and spa bath. Shower and beds both excellent. I was twice in rooms that faced Byng Street, with access to seats on a wide veranda.

Poor : The "standard" rooms are pretty basic, especially for an extended stay. I was located in a ground-floor room near to reception which suffered from heavy traffic in the early mornings, made unbearable by the paper-thin door which meant most mornings were spent trying to sleep in a car park.

I had the misfortune of coming back to my room during one stay to find my card didn't work. Reception explained that they had double-booked the room and had moved me into a smaller "standard" room instead of the "executive" one I was in ... They had done this by re-packing my suitcase and moving it.

The most damaging thing for business travellers - No Wi-Fi. Not just expensive, but actually non-existent.

The TV in the executive rooms is about 11 inches big and on a shelf 7-foot up a wall, about 15 metres from the bed. Not great for night-time channel-surfing!

Despite reservations, it's not a bad place to stay and the club facilities probably outweigh the sometimes poor service. It does seem to be booked solid for weeks in advance - so book early.

Room Tip: Executive room or a 1st floor standard one.
See more room tips
Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank JasonLaw_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orange hotels
0.2 mi away
de Russie Boutique Hotel
1.6 mi away
Quality Inn Ambassador Orange
3.7 mi away
Turner's Vineyard
Turner's Vineyard
#7 of 11 in Orange
3.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Ibis Styles Orange
Ibis Styles Orange
#6 of 11 in Orange
3.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
0.7 mi away
West End Motor Lodge
West End Motor Lodge
#3 of 11 in Orange
4.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.3 mi away
Central Caleula Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Templers Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Templers Mill

Property: Templers Mill
Address: 94 Byng St, Orange, New South Wales 2800, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Orange
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Orange
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Templers Mill 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just one block from Orange's CBD, Templers Mill is centrally located in Byng Street and is part of the Orange Ex-Services' Club complex. As part of the Club's complex guests can enjoy the convenience of staying on site when attending a private event or conference as well as enjoying the great facilities the Club has on offer, including the Pool & Leisure Centre. CHECK-IN & CHECK-OUT TIMES: Our Standard Check-In Time is 2.00Pm Our Standard Check-Out Time is 10.00Am *prior arrangements may be made for early check-in or late check-outs (fees may apply, subject to availability) Guests staying at Templers Mill also have the added convenience of charging food and beverage expenses to their rooms while visiting the Club. Templers Mill offers many services including off street and under cover parking, FREE unlimited Wi-Fi internet, and 12 channel FOXTEL. Templers Mill offers comfortable and convenient accommodation at an affordable rate with our 77 units including Standard, Deluxe, and Executive, with Disabled options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Templers Mill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing