We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“de Russie is lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
de Russie Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Orange
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay here,as it had all the feel of a luxury hotel with homely touches. The 2 bedroom apartment had a plush king bed and flat screen T.V. Decor was modern, warm and welcoming. Attractive touches such as artwork and large lampshades added character. The size of the apartment was on the compact size but the luxurious fittings made great use of the space. Our only challenge was when junior broke a glass in the bathroom that night and there was no pan or broom to sweep up the mess and no staff on desk after hours to assist. Shoes had to be worn. However I believe this matter has now been rectified. Lovely touches in bathroom and hard to resist treats in kitchen hamper. We would definately stay here again..

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank walgus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deRussieMU, Owner at de Russie Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2012

Thank you walgus for your review after staying at our Orange property. We are pleased you had an enjoyable stay, we are very proud of our property. Thank you for the comments made, it is through suggestions/comments as yours that we can improve what we provide our guests. Our reception is closed overnight however our management is on call 24 hours.
We are glad you enjoyed the minibar- the items are very tempting!!!
Thank you for the recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon to Orange or Mudgee.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (618)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

565 - 571 of 618 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2012

Had stayed at the de Russie suites in Mudgee prior to our stay in Orange. Both places are worth the stopover. The kitchen space and bathroom was not as well resolved in Orange as in Mudgee and the hotel itself is not as "new" but the quality of the fitout and the generous size of the rooms was fantastic. We stayed in Room 210 which had a large living area and the bedroom was enormous - plenty of space for the port-a-cot. The rooms were clean and well maintained, maybe the paint could do with a touch-up?? The biggest issue with the room itself was the bathroom. The sliding door was a little rickety, the shower screen wasn't so great at keeping water off the floor and we had a leak in the sink while we were there (which was attended to). We also had an issue with the TV when we arrived which was promptly resolved. We found the staff to be courteous, attentive and friendly.
The hotel location is fine, easy walking distance to central Orange and easy to find with ample parking space.
It may not be as new or as slick as the de Russie suites in Mudgee, but it was still a decent place to stay and I would recommend it/ return there next time I visit Orange.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maddystar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deRussieMU, Owner at de Russie Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2012

Thank you Maddystar for your review following your stay at our Orange property after staying at Mudgee. We appreciate the comments the comments you have made as it is only through comments such as yours can we improve what we provide.
Thank you for the recommendation and we do look forward to welcoming you and your family back again soon when next you visit the central west.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We had to visit Orange for a couple of nights in March on some sad family business. It was short notice and we booked this accommodation on recommendation. We found the suites comfortable, spacious, modern and well equipped. The room was a self catering, on this occasion we didn't need to rely on this, but all appeared in good order and well maintained. Its close to city centre and a number of dining options. Orange doesn't have a wide range of accommodation in this class but I would recommend this property to travelers requiring above the average standard.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WazandKy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deRussieMU, Owner at de Russie Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Thank you WazandKy for taking the time to write a review following your visit to our orange property, considering you had such bad news to deal with. We are glad to have been able to assist in anyway we could. Thank you for recommending us and we hope to see you again soon under more pleasant circumstances.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Was very pleasantly surprised at how well furnished and up kept this property was. The rooms exceeded most 5 star hotels in terms of their comfort and fit out. Would definitely recommend this hotel and only wish they were only in more locations!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bws999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deRussieMU, Owner at de Russie Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Thank you bws999 for your review after staying with us at our orange property. We are quite overwhelmed that you compare us to 5 star hotels, our aim is to exceed our guest expectations and that our guests have a memorable and enjoyable stay.
Thanks again for choosing to stay at a de Russie Hotel and we look forward to seeing you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We stayed two nights and we were 5 couples, On arrival Shannon was very friendly and welcoming. The accomodation is very comfortable with a good bed, nice linen( not so good pillows though), the bathroom is ultra modern and a good shower with a decent shower head. The towels are white and luxurious, also provided were bath robes and slippers. We were in the Blue room which is spacious, separate lounge and dining with a kitchenette and cooking facilities, we were able to entertain our friends comfortably in this suite. Breakfeast is provided and tea coffee facilities all on hand. It would be the best accomodation in Orange and well worth a visit, as there are many good cafes and restaurants. Bistro Ceello (formerly Selkirks) a fine dining experience, wonderful flavours in every dish and not too expensive. we will come back and it would be our third visit to Orange.

Room Tip: Rooms facing carpark probably quieter, but noise was not a problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bullant3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deRussieMU, Owner at de Russie Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Thank you bullant3 for your review following your stay at Orange. We are glad you had a good stay with us and that you enjoyed the Blue Room( our presidential suite ). Orange is very lucky with such a wide range of dining options, one of which you experienced.
We do look forward to welcoming you back to Orange or Mudgee, and thank you for choosing to stay at a de Russie Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We had three nights here last weekend, one in a studio room and two in a junior suite (separate lounge and bedroom) to allow my husband to recuperate from minor surgery.
I've rarely stayed at anywhere with so much attention to detail. The beds were infinitely comfortable with quality linen and a sink-into-it mattress topper. Furnishings were stylish, bathroom well appointed and a useful but compact kitchen. Breakfast included local coffee, bread and muesli (cereal in suite only), as well as Beerenberg jams. Proper milk and Vegemite were available on request.
The studio room was a little more compact than I had expected, however the junior suite had plenty of space in both the bedroom and lounge.
The location was ideal, only a block from the main street and within a five minute walk to several of the best restaurants in town (we had an excellent dinner at Union Bank on the first night and Stan's Takeaway does good burgers for a housebound patient).
Add in friendly staff, and de Russie Suites have a lot going or them.

Room Tip: Junior suites were very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveltimeCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deRussieMU, Owner at de Russie Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Thank you traveltimecanberra for writing your review after staying at our orange property. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and the attention to detail we add for our guests so that the expectations are exceeded. We are very proud of our property and receive great comfort knowing our guests enjoy it to.
We look forward to your next visit to either Orange or Mudgee.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

I stayed here in a king suite with my partner on a July weekend - Friday and Saturday night, with the local sporting competition on I set my noise expectation low as I knew that a few of the families were staying here and I know what kids are like after a sporting trip (I was also a competitor with a 7am warmup on the Saturday!). I have to say I was pleased to see that they outlined their strict no noise policy upfront.

The hotel room was beautiful with just the right amount of stylish furnishings. It was super romantic, cosy and very clean. The temperature outside was freezing, but we never used our heater, it was just cosy.

The hotel is just off the end of the main street, the only negative would be the lack of parking, we Parker on the street on Friday night.

Breakfast was supplied in the form of a selection of bread (white, whole meal and saltana) with a selection of jams, honey and butter, coffee for the percolator and juice. There was also a full functioning kitchen in the suite.

The hotel is within walking distance to the shops, nice pubs (Parkview has great dinners and Union Bank is a fab wine bar).

Overall a great experience in this little town that has definatly turned into a great food and wine hub. I would also recommend a trip to Millthorpe about 15 min outside orange!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bubiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deRussieMU, Owner at de Russie Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2012

Thank you Bubiana for your review after staying at our property. I'm glad you were happy with our property and your stay. It was nice to read that you liked what we provide and supply. It is our aim to exceed our guests expectations and I believe this was achieved for you, that makes us very happy.
Thank you for choosing to stay at our de Russie property and for the recommendation, we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orange hotels
3.8 mi away
Turner's Vineyard
Turner's Vineyard
#7 of 11 in Orange
164 reviews
1.7 mi away
Quality Inn Ambassador Orange
1.6 mi away
Ibis Styles Orange
Ibis Styles Orange
#6 of 11 in Orange
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mercure Orange
Mercure Orange
#2 of 11 in Orange
303 reviews
0.6 mi away
West End Motor Lodge
West End Motor Lodge
#3 of 11 in Orange
222 reviews
0.1 mi away
Central Caleula Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to de Russie Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about de Russie Boutique Hotel

Address: 72 Hill St, Orange, New South Wales 2800, Australia (Formerly de Russie Suites Orange)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Orange
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Orange
Price Range: $138 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — de Russie Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
de Russie Boutique Hotel Orange is a boutique, self-contained apartment hotel that has a unique combination of urban style and a sprinkling of Tuscany and Rome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your de Russie Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing