We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Positive surprise, good pub food, too”
Review of Town Square Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Town Square Motel
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Orange
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Had a very positive surprise here, although it's called a 'motel' the room and amenities were more like from a good-standard hotel (think of Radisson, Travelodge etc). There's a pub with good food in the same complex, too (they're listed in the SMH Good Pub Food Guide). Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank otsoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (68)
There are newer reviews for Town Square Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 68 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2012

Paid $140 per night (FRI/SAT) for a so called executive room (NOT WORTH IT!) Altho, comfortable bed, electric blanket. Only allowed ONE key and there were two people in room. Bathroom shabby, shared small balcony - no privacy. Smoke alarm covered up because the steam from bathroom apparently sets it off! Oh dear....then fix the problem instead of breaking the law!! Did not eat at hotel as nothing special. Infact, Orange is nothing special! Mudgee and Bathurst have a heart and soul which makes for a terrific country weekend with an enjoyable atmosphere. Orange is a sad place really. The Saturday once-a-month markets were SMALL and took us 30 minutes to cover. Bought some local produce including meats (Kurrajong Meats) although when we arrived home we discivered that the small print on our packaging stated MSG everywhere! So........a weekend in Orange....I wouldnt bother!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank callthetaxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

If I had paid $120 for this room I would have been satisfied but for $150 I was very disappointed. The room was shabby with stained curtains. The bathroom was old, with chipped plastic-coated tapware, the type I remember from the 1970s. The towels were thin. The shower was over the bath, which could be a problem for some people. The room had a jug and toaster but no microwave. On the plus side, the bed was comfortable and it was quiet after the pub closed, as the motel is away from the highway. It is walking distance to shops and restaurants, although the neighbourhood is a bit rough; one of our party had an unpleasant encounter with some drunks on the footpath.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the pub.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LizfromNSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Executive room with comfortable Bed. LCD TV with 2 seater lounge to watch. Pub is attached, providing very nice food (has awards from SMH), however the restaurant room (upstairs) was quite cold (August). Although the heater was on, it was never going to heat the space, thus suggest you eat in the bar area (usual pub space) during winter as you can watch one of the many large screen TV's. Most of the restaurant menu is available in the bar. The only negative for the hotel room is that the shower is in the bath, however much more negative is the low water flow combined with low water pressure. The staff were all fantastic too. Its located 2 blocks from the main road, thus no truck noise.

Room Tip: Ask for ground floor
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brad290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

We picked this motel based on other reviews and were not disappointed. Yes you will pay a bit more than the other similar venues however this is much more convenient. The rooms are clean and have new air con units and the beds are comfortable.
One of the property’s greatest assets is its proximity to the Metro pub. It’s not the flashiest pub in town but they make up for it with good service and reasonable prices. The hidden jewel is the Balcony restaurant, the food was FANTASTIC and very reasonable. The service from the waitress to the chef was first class Well Done!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SM_McKinnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2012

We stayed at this motel with our three young children for a night based on these good reviews but I have to say that our experience wasn't that great. The noise from the pub (being a Friday night probably) was quite loud and made it very difficult to sleep before 11pm.

We were there between Christmas and New Year and were told on check-in that breakfast was available in the pub in the morning but we headed there at 7am and found it all locked up so rang reception and were told rather abruptly by a different staff member that being between Christmas and New Year there was no breakfast available so we had to pile everyone into the car and spend $80 on breakfast at the Coffee Club when we just wanted some cereal!

The rooms were clean though and pleasant.

Room Tip: Ask for one on the side facing away from the pub
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bernadette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2011

We stayed at this motel 3 nights. We selected this motel based on other favourable reviews here and because of it's convenient location. It was walking distance to everywhere "in town" that we needed to go and it was especially convenient being across the road from Coles/KMart and the RSL club, where we ate dinner most nghts (very good value Chef specials). As others have stated, it is next to a pub but you don't hear it due to good insulation. Well appointed bathroom with everything you need, including decent bathrobe hooks. Owners were happy to store our left-over milk etc for us after check out until we required it later in the day. About the only drawback is that there is no room-specific parking, and it can be a bit tricky with the upstairs and downstairs guests competing for spots. This only troubled us once when we found a spot further round near the hotel side. My only concern was that on busy pub nights the pub patrons might park in the (shared) car park and park out motel guests, but surprisingly we always got a spot.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Annie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orange hotels
0.3 mi away
de Russie Boutique Hotel
1.5 mi away
Quality Inn Ambassador Orange
1.4 mi away
Ibis Styles Orange
Ibis Styles Orange
#6 of 11 in Orange
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Turner's Vineyard
Turner's Vineyard
#7 of 11 in Orange
161 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Orange (Templers Mill)
0.4 mi away
Central Caleula Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Town Square Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Town Square Motel

Address: 246 Anson St, Orange, New South Wales 2800, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Orange
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Orange
Price Range: $107 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Town Square Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Town Square Motel is located in the heart of the Orange CBD close to shopping, restaurants and local tourism events. Our property includes all modern facilities with reverse-cycle, FOXTEL, complimentary wifi and free off-street parking. Our Motel adjoins the popular Metropolitan Hotel with the Balcony Restaurant open 7 nights, with room service and charge backs available to guests of the motel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Town Square Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Town Square Hotel Orange

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing