We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Very good as far as it goes

The Orange museum is located behind the city's tourist information bureau and seems to be very new... read more

Reviewed November 18, 2018
JElliot32
,
New South Wales, Australia
Excellent

Just saw this place on this visit to O. Its an outstanding history effort and I hope children get... read more

Reviewed August 26, 2018
MaxRawnsley
,
Sydney, Australia
Read all 13 reviews
  
Reviews (13)
Filter reviews
13 results
Traveler rating
9
4
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
9
4
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews paddock to plate lovely ladies definitely worth a visit agriculture refrigeration exhibits district fascinating volcano history region wineries
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 13 reviews
Reviewed November 18, 2018

The Orange museum is located behind the city's tourist information bureau and seems to be very new. It is tidy, well set out and small - you can see the displays within 15 minutes, and that's taking a leisurely pace. The various exhibits focus heavily on the district's agricultural history and its role as a food and wine bowl. It is all very well presented and explained: my favourite display was perhaps the one on the evolution of domestic refrigeration 'appliances'. Personally, I would have liked to have seen much more on the Aboriginal history of the district, both before European settlement and after, and on the natural history of the region (there is a small section on vulcanism and local geology and that's about it).

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank JElliot32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2018

Just saw this place on this visit to O. Its an outstanding history effort and I hope children get to see it in detai. Tell of the district and some of its historical characters. One of the best in show

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank MaxRawnsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2018

What a great space to wander and explore the food industry of Orange and surrounding area! I especially liked that children were catered for in observing and learning about such a common interest with activities relevant to them. The table setting in the middle of the space was fascinating and in our case tied in particularly well with the television series ABC Back In Time For Dinner.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Olya W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2018

The exhibition on when we visited in April was about the journey of produce from farm to plate. It had some interesting exhibits about farming in the region through the processing plants for food items finishing with the award winning restaurants of the region. Apparently the exhibition changes regularly. The building is pretty cool, as you can climb some steps (or take a lift) to the roof which is covered in grass. Definitely worth a visit. The regional gallery is next door, but unfortunately had closed for the day by the time we came out.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Djinnie1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2018

We dropped into the museum after the info centre and had a walk around. Interesting artefacts from the past and informative paddock to plate exhibition. Interesting history of volcanoes and mining, wineries and agriculture.
Lovely ladies will assist with and questions. Nice little café next door.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank TimJ213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews