We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Order the seafood bento box - quick and delicious!”
Review of Nagisa

Nagisa
Ranked #19 of 649 Restaurants in Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $85
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Here in the Honeysuckle Precinct of Newcastle, a modern take on a rich history of cuisine in a restaurant that also brings you the exotic mix of the teppanyaki bar, fresh sashimi and sushi, rare Japanese craft beers, whisky and sake, degustation menus, banquets and a venue for group functions.
Reviewed November 1, 2016

We wanted a quick lunch so that our parking meter would not expire. The service was quick with Japanese beer as well. The bento box servings was large and delicious. Definitely a recommended place to eat if you are around the area.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Patrick_Zuluaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (279)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

108 - 112 of 279 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2016 via mobile

Great food but the service is absolutely terrible. Made us wait for a table that was free and gave us the excuse the table wasn't ready. They did nothing else to the table.

Thank Tony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gkp2202, Public Relations Manager at Nagisa, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2016

Hello. Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your Nagisa experience. We're very sorry the explanation provided to you for waiting was not clear. Nagisa has a small kitchen, and as such we must be vigilant on the numbers of diners that we can accommodate efficiently. Although tables may appear available, they can be reserved or they may not be utilised because we have a full quota for our kitchen to service. It appears the explanation provided to you in this case was wrong and we apologise wholeheartedly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2016 via mobile

Service was pretty substandard here and the food was very disappointing. My 'udon' noodles weren't udon at all and they were all stuck together in clumps.
Beer was ok but kind of overpriced.

Thank RoadToErudition
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gkp2202, Public Relations Manager at Nagisa, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2016

Hello. Thank you for your feedback. We are a little puzzled though, we do not offer udon noodles on our current menu and haven't done so for some time. Perhaps you were referring to our 'ramen' noodles? These do have a tendency to stick together if not mixed properly. We invite all our customers to inform us of any issues they have with their meal on the day and we will do our utmost to provide satisfaction. We're very sorry this was not the case for your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2016

Ate at Nagisa a couple of times with a dining companion. Consistently good food and an interesting selection of Japanese and other beers, as well as sake.

Thank Pajar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gkp2202, Public Relations Manager at Nagisa, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2016

Thank you for the kind words. It makes our day when we receive such wonderful reviews. We hope we'll be seeing you in the restaurant again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2016 via mobile

I had a delightful lunch on Newcastle Harbour at Nagisa Japanese restaurant with my daughter and a friend. Japanese cuisine is a favourite so we were looking forward to the experience. I had peruse the online menu beforehand but it was still difficult to choose from the wide range. The place was busy with a wide range of clientele. Service efficient, attentive and friendly. Good drinks list. We opted for Japanese beers and a different bento box each. Drinks served promptly and the food arrived about 15 minutes later, hot and fresh. The presentation was different to that expected, being served in a divided bowl rather than the traditional box, but the food plentiful and delicious. I would have liked onigiri to be included on the menu and it was surprising that we had to pay extra and request miso soup, which often comes with every meal. As a traditionalist I was a bit disappointed that the boxes were not used as the placement and presentation of the different food adds to the experience. Also missing were the lovely pickled vegetables and ginger, although there was a nice serve of wasabi. Iguess the bowl idea is more modern! All in all a lovely lunch.

Thank Jenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gkp2202, Public Relations Manager at Nagisa, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2016

Thank you for the wonderful feedback. The team is delighted you enjoyed your Nagisa experience. Nagisa endeavours to honour the traditional Japanese cuisine while offering a modern twist on the food. We hope we'll have a chance to serve you again. Thank you again for taking the time to let us know how we did. :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nagisa also viewed

Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Nagisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing