We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So So”
Review of Nagisa

Nagisa
Ranked #19 of 565 Restaurants in Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $85
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Here in the Honeysuckle Precinct of Newcastle, a modern take on a rich history of cuisine in a restaurant that also brings you the exotic mix of the teppanyaki bar, fresh sashimi and sushi, rare Japanese craft beers, whisky and sake, degustation menus, banquets and a venue for group functions.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“So So”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Japanese food .. reasonable quality and presentation but have tasted better. Nice deco, facing the river.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank JbhC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    80
    14
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Redhead
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“2nd visit just as good”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We had friends from Sydney visiting so we decided to take them to the Nagisa for a mid-week lunch. The food was very good and the service, polite, respectful if a little slow but that was OK. We would definitely go back - the wagyu beef was excellent and they cook it to your liking. The accompanying salad was superb. All in all, highly recommended.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stewey52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Food is great with excellent presentation. Staff need work, and could see it would be slow if busy. Had a great lunch and the sashimi was to die for! Will return for the dinner menu:-)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ajsorro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maitland, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Food great value!”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Service and ambience great for casual dining with a great view! Food is fresh and particularly vegetarian dishes are great value. Sake was an interesting first!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MurphyOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maitland, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“First timers at Teppanyaki”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We enjoyed our food immensely but were left sorely unimpressed by the service. Some of the staff were great and embarrassed when we had to keep asking for things or reminding them they hadnt filled our order properly (ie delivering parts of our order to other patrons, forgetting things we had ordered, one entrees arriving as we were finishing our mains).

just to recap - food was great, prices reasonable. was really let down by (some) poor wait staff.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank grazhopa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nagisa also viewed

Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Nagisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing