We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food.”
Review of Bistro Tartine - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Bistro Tartine
Price range: $22 - $88
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Singaporean in Newcastle
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great food.”
Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

We had the chateau briand and slow-cooked pork belly. For dessert, we had the Belgian hot pot and apple tartin. All were excellent. We had originally ordered the duck confit but the waitress's got the order wrong and came with the pork belly which we accepted.
We brought our 8 year old daughter and found that they did not have a kids menu. They prepared the fish for her in a half size, but even at half price, it was much more than we would have normally spent on a child's meal.
Overall, it was good. Worth returning to try out the other items on the menu.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HappyMom69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    18
    5
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Back to how it once was......”
Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

Service and food were great .
Lovely to see Jason leading this lovely little place back to the standard it was, way back in 2006.
Well done team. See you soon.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dmealer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food but noisy.”
Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

I have reviewed this before. We had terrible service.

This time the food and service was fantastic.

It is very dark and very noisy. Its very poorly designed or constructed. And thats a shame.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hugestar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Happy days are here again!”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We are so happy that Bistro Tartine is back on it's game! Do yourself a favour and try it again. We used to eat here years ago, it changed owners and the food and service became so appalling we swore never again. It has changed owners again so we thought we’d give it another try, and are so very pleased that we did!

We ate there last night and cannot say enough about how superb the venue, food and service was. From the moment we walked in and were greeted by friendly young Damon, the evening was brilliant. Our waitress Rachel was the right combination of efficiency and friendliness and the Maitr D’ Jason was personable and attentive. The place was very busy for a Thursday night, yet these three kept it humming smoothly and we were served promptly and with the perfect ‘resting time’ between courses.

Now for the food…….yum,yum,yum. For entrees we had the Shazimi Scallops, cooked to perfection, tender, beautiful! And the charcuterie was amazing as well. For mains we had the duck confit which was to die for, understandably their signature dish, the Barramundi and the steak, all presented beautifully and delicious to devour. You must have their “Posh potatoes” as a side, drizzled with truffle oil and absolutely melt in your mouth. Unfortunately we didn’t have room for dessert, everything was so good, nothing was left on our plates.

Congratulations to the chef for executing such mouthwatering fare, to the staff for their professionalism and to the owner for bringing life back to this little slice of heaven of a bistro.

We’ll be back!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chaneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“One of my favourite restaurants in Newcastle”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We ate here for a romantic dinner on a busy Saturday and were impressed with everything. The food is excellent, their menu changes often and is one of the finer dining experiences in Newcastle. The ambiance is lovely but also relaxed, and the staff were efficient and friendly. The portion sizes were surprisingly generous given the higher quality of the food, and the price is reasonable. They accept Entertainment cards as well. Definitely worth checking out if you like excellent food and want a high quality dining experience.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank rastheaussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Tartine also viewed

Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing