We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Food, Professional Service”
Review of Bistro Tartine - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Bistro Tartine
Price range: $22 - $88
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Newcastle, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful Food, Professional Service”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

My husband and I dined at Bistro Tartine last night to celebrate our wedding anniversary. The food was gorgeous - we both had the duck (i'd go back just to experience this dish again it was wonderful). I had the Creme Brulee for dessert and it was everything I had been craving. Beautiful wine and no-fuss, professional service. We will definitely be going back again and recommending it to friends.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Elicia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    18
    5
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Amazing”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

From start to finish, not a problem. Service was expert, food was divine. The steaks and lamb cooked perfectly and those choc fondants are full of love. Will be returning very soon

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Realdeal1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Fabulous Food and Great Service”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Bistro Tartine is a gem. The menu reads beautifully. The food is delicious - on this visit the scallops and the lamb. The service is impeccable - helpful and knowledgable - rivals service in busy big city, big name restaurants. Recommend this place to everybody.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Merran97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“More than a French Bistro”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We were keen to visit our favourite local restaurant under new ownership and are pleased to report than not much has changed. Very similar menu, same great standard of food.

Having recently travelled to France and experienced the culture and standard of a French bistro for the first time it was an interesting comparison to make with a restaurant we know well that spruiks itself as one. A classic French bistro isn't fine dining. It's a step up from what a good home cook can whip up themselves but a more casual affair than what many expect when they eat out. Bistro Tartine has always been, and still is, a grade above that. By their own admission they don't set out to be fine dining, though they've possibly built that reputation by default on the quality of their food.

Many of the old favourites from the previous owner are still on the menu. The chicken and tarragon boudin blanc with scallops is as good as ever. The special of yamba prawns was cooked to perfection and full of flavour despite the prawns being undersized. Our shared main of chateaubriand was spot on and a classic bistro meal that we would highly recommend. Simple flavours done to perfection. Allowing BYO midweek is always a bonus and our aged wine was treated with the same care and respect we'd give it at home.

It was disappointing that the $8 sourdough was nothing more than a long white roll you can pick up down the street for $1 and the seemingly continuous laughter from the kitchen didn't fit the usual ambience.

2 1/2 courses was close to $200 with corkage and sparkling water. For a mid-week special occasion it's fair value for money. Not so sure we could say that on a weekend where you're paying for wine on top of that, but it still remains a local favourite for us and we will return.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ClearyStDiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level 6 Contributor
232 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Lunch Menu Recommended”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Our friends chose the restaurant but we were delighted to dine at Bistro Tartine for the second time. Despite it being a busy lunchtime we were served quickly & expertly, the waiter showing just the right balance of respect & friendliness. We tried the lunchtime menu which offers good value for 2 courses, accompanying our meals with some excellent wines. My entrée of Chicken & Tarragon Boudin was especially delicious. Although we had not intended to have dessert, after reading the menu we just couldn’t resist & none of us were sorry. We were allowed to take our time with our selections & did not feel pressured to hurry our meals so none of us had trouble managing the 3 courses, all enjoying the long leisurely lunch & finishing with really good coffee.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Oldandnew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Tartine also viewed

Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing