We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely atmosphere great food”

The Junction Hotel Restaurant
Ranked #21 of 568 Restaurants in Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $32
Cuisines: Contemporary, Pub, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The award winning Junction Hotel has successfully merged traditional and modern design concepts, resulting in a truly unique venue. Open seven days til late we offer something for everyone! You can enjoy lunch or dinner in our restaurant or take a seat in the View Bar and dapple in our extensive wine list. On weekends take your time and enjoy that long lunch with matching wines, plus coffee and cake is also on offer...& With LIVE entertainment Friday and Saturday nights the Junction Hotel is the spot to be. Awarded 3 Schooners in the 2014 SMH Good Food Good Pub Guide WINNERS 2015 Best Casual Dining AHA NSW Awards for Excellence
Newcastle NSW
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere great food”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

I was lucky enough to have this place recommended to me by a work colleague for a meal. Took the family out and was really impressed with the food, the service and overall a great night out.
Serving sizes generous, lots of choice and great beers on tap.
Beats the overpriced Honeysuckle crap hands down.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jeddi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    62
    19
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Great Bands”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Good place for bands, lock out is early. They do have a restaurant. Best to call for a booking.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Mel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“OK”
Reviewed July 2, 2012

The decor is a bit sanitised, the menu is lovely but food is a bit of a disappointing.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Rubbish Food At A Premium Price!”
Reviewed June 25, 2012

This hotel really has tickets on how it looks. You approach this establishment and you think, yes, this could be okay - even nice. You enter an environment which is state of the art but then you look a bit cloeser, Cheap. Passed off as good furniture, not - at night when we were there in the dark - maybe you don't want to see what you're looking at - so dark you can't see the menu.
This would have to be the worst the "pub" food on the East Coast. Pricey & just rubbish! A slow cooked lamb shoulder w/ a medley root vegetables? That arrived late because of the wrong push of a computer button and arrives with a watery gravy & potatoes swimming in the bottom? Where are the medley of root vegetables?
The garlic bread was cold. the steaks not cooked to order, the lamb shanks plonked & they had no idea on what to do on a bed of hideously overheated, watery some sort of yam/pumpkin mash - the sauce an unrecognisable gloopy, gloop!
Walking past the the open kitchen you get an idea - cooks/ or whoever they are, cooking the food, are looking at orders chewing on something - "Was that part of my meal?" I think? Just disgusting!
The service is not too bad -they get the computer order right most of the time - pleasant but not designed for anyone over thirty -but it is obvious the short,short skirts are designed for the "in house" weekend crowd that are not there on Sunday nights. The uniforms for females are so bad that you that you start to believe "cheap is cheerful" until you realise you've just paid $27-$35 for a meal that is absolute rubbish
This "Hotel" is in short just rubbish - I don't care how many noughts are behind my food but if it's good I'll pay - yes I paid upfront - for an over priced shank that I think "pulled mine & all the rest of the guests" if you get the joke - pull the other one. Don't eat here - plenty of other places in Newcastle in which you can invest your money.
Passing themselves as a restaurant.
Just overpriced rubbish; cooked unfortunately, by people who can't cook!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Merran97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunter Valley, NSW
Level 6 Contributor
424 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“Always a good meal in a nice atmosphere”
Reviewed June 5, 2012

We often lunch at The Junction Hotel. We enjoy the light, modern decor, the friendly service and the consistently good food. It's always a great place to meet up with friends for an informal meal.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Freya1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Junction Hotel Restaurant also viewed

Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to The Junction Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing