We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Service!!”

Estabar Gelati and Espresso
Ranked #3 of 22 Coffee & Tea in Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Terrible Service!!”
Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

A disappointing introduction to Newcastle to say the least. Went there for lunch. Stood at door waiting to be seated. Seated ourselves. Found our own menus. Waited 10 minutes - no acknowledgement- walked out. Had lunch somewhere else. Thought we would try estabar again and went back there for gelati. Waited in the 'gelati line' for 5 mins (waitress aware I was there). Got to front of line and stood in front of gelati fridge for another 10 mins waiting. Meanwhile waitresses walking back and forth past me. I then stepped across 1 metre to counter and asked if I could order some gelato. The waitress whom had seen me waiting there for the last 15 mins said the sign says order at counter. Really!! You saw me there for 15 mins and your sign is tiny. Wouldn't you think to say oh sorry we take the gelato orders at the counter. This was unclear as everyone was lining up in front of the gelato fridge. Pure arrogance!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Caplatte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    53
    13
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Mona Vale
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good food and ordered service”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

High quality food served in a timely and correct order. Drinks should arrive before food and they do! Ask about what is on the menu as some options seen to be 'by being in the know'!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jacqui M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Rasen, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
946 reviews
608 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 600 helpful votes
“Great Staff Working As A. Team”
Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

I moved away from Newcastle East a few months ago and now remember why I lived there for four years - places like Estabar, with great coffee, tasty snacks and outstanding service truly add to the character of the suburb. Superb views of beach and life, too.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TrevorHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane Region, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best location. Great gelato.”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Estabar is a great destination on a sunny day! The location is stunning. Great coffee. Great gelato. Not the place to sit and laze for ages - it's small and tight inside, although there's plenty of outdoor seating with more room. The place is also dog-friendly.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank D S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Estebar”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Good gelato but it closes early in the evening so impossible to have a gelato after dinner elsewhere even in summer. Not good idea to close a gelato bar on the waterfront early!! Prices are expensive: $8 for 2 scoops. Makes the gelati in Italy very attractive

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dario52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Estabar Gelati and Espresso also viewed

Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Estabar Gelati and Espresso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing