We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great breakfast and coffee”
Review of 3 Monkeys Cafe

3 Monkeys Cafe
Ranked #9 of 560 Restaurants in Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Cafe
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
newcastle
Level Contributor
58 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“great breakfast and coffee”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

friendly service and a great breakfast menu. Everything so far has been delicious, I especially love the french toast with bacon and maple syrup.

Campos coffee is great, the service is friendly, although a bit slow.

One of the best in Darby street.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Glen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    94
    29
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Level Contributor
428 reviews
249 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Fantastic breakfast”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

It seems like admission impossible sometimes to get good scrambled eggs when you are not at home to cook them yourself. 3 Monkeys scored pretty good with their scrambled eggs. The bacon that came with the eggs was well cooked and had a slight smoky flavour that was quite refreshing. My wife had the ricotta pancakes with bananas that were caramelised nicely. I tasted the and thought they were delightful. They alone could entice me back there. Great coffee and friendly, brisk service made our visit there very pleasing indeed.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ozrick33Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Always lovely”
Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

Great for brunch! Bacon and scrambled eggs delicious. I've heard the steak sandwich and nachos are also stand outs.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Catrinw6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delish!”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Great ambience, delicious food and despite the fact that my falafel took about an hour to concoct the waitstaff kindly offered me a free smoothie in lieu of the delay!! To top off the experience I also ran into an old friend which was an added bonus. Will definitely visit again. :)

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Elise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Stephens, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great for breakkie...”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Tasty simple food and coffee. Nice little sitting area out the back in the courtyard. Inside seating a little tight - as is the case for most of the places in Darby St. Nice Milkshakes/smoothies too.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jo E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 3 Monkeys Cafe also viewed

Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to 3 Monkeys Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing