We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it! Every time morsel = a party in my mouth” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bacchus - CLOSED

Bacchus
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Sydney
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Loved it! Every time morsel = a party in my mouth”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

Bacchus is fine dining at its best. The ambience is lovely and the service impeccable. It was actually a nice treat to have so many different personalities serve the table who knew the food well. The food was presented like fine art. The food itself was art with the different textures and complimenting flavours. The palette cleansers were refreshing .. Matching wine was Devine and the dessert.,. Well let me say I had a Meg Ryan moment over the creme brûlée! Now it comes at a price but is an experience not to be missed and I can't wait to go back!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hanna27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    10
    10
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“As good as it gets”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

What an awesome experience. Loved every minute of the dining adventure at Bacchus. Very knowledgable, friendly, staff. Well matched wine. The degustation is highly recommended, it's a food adventure that tells a story. Worth every cent, can't wait to return to Newcastle.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SimOzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A treasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

A charming room, steeped in local history and a chef who is a culinary artist.
Every moment of the meal was a treat.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SuJo-a-GoGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Sunday high tea - gorgeous!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

I have not yet dined at Bacchus for an evening meal, but I have had the pleasure of going along for their monthly high tea on two occasions.

The service is excellent on these days, and the food acceptable to very good depending on the exact item. High tea is served on a 3 tiered tower, with savoury and sweet morsels on offer. This is followed by the most excellent scones I've had in a long time! A variety of loose leaf teas are on offer, each one served in gorgeous vintage tea pots, and are bottomless. One almost never finishes their cup before it is refilled.

It is approx $45 for a high tea experience, but is worthwhile. Highly recommended for a girl's high tea afternoon.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Justinethegodess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Be ready to pay up !!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

Loved the old theatre, the ambiance, the ability to sit in comfy chairs with a drink before dinner, the food is extremely well presented, and service with a smile - staff ready to talk about the building and explain the dishes. You can also score Qantas FF points here. Downsides are, as other reviewers have said, small serves and extremely pricey. I suggest you check out the menu and prices before you book!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mooffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bacchus also viewed

Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing