We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing service, decent seafood, nice presentation”

Scratchley's on the Wharf Restaurant
Ranked #14 of 568 Restaurants in Newcastle
Cuisines: Seafood, Australian, International
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Newcastle, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Amazing service, decent seafood, nice presentation”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

I dined there last Saturday night for a big 30th birthday function and, overall, we all had a pretty good night and I would recommend it to anyone planning a birthday. The staff were very accommodating to our big group and even let us move tables around so we could all fit in. Our waitress was very nice, always smiled and kept everyone happy. We had a few hiccups along the way though. 2 friends ordered seafood platters and the crab that came out was horrible, but, after we complained, the staff quickly rectified it with some fresh, tasty crab. I also found something "unsavoury" in my Sticky Date pudding, but, our waitress fixed us up for that and offered us a few drinks on the house, so all was well. The presentation of the food was the stand out for me. It looks incredible when it comes out, I just wish my portion size was a little bit bigger, slightly. It is a bit on the expensive side though, for what is certainly not the best seafood in town... it is, however, probably up there in the Top 5. I'd go back!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chrisg276rec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle P, Manager at Scratchley's on the Wharf Restaurant, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Chris,
Thank you for deciding to celebrate your 30th birthday with us. We will make sure that our wait staff hears the great job that they did for your party and we’ll pass along the compliments of our food to our head chef. We appreciate the future recommendations and your loyalty to return again. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,000 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    380
    315
    146
    92
    67
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surprise”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Have not dined here for 4 or 5 years and while it was often difficult to get the attention of the wait staff, we were very pleasantly surprised by the quality of the food and at reasonable prices. Several fresh fish options, served nicely and good sized portions. At a price point of $33 for most - good value and of course, still a great view and an excellent wine list.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kilkenny54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle P, Manager at Scratchley's on the Wharf Restaurant, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
We appreciate that you decided to come back to dine with us. Thank you for providing us with positive feedback about our menu items. Please come again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great service great food”
Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

We came here for a special family dinner, we had a a mix of dishes on our table and everyone was more than happy, the surf and turf was to die for the different sauces to choose with it's was great, the mix of entrees was excellent everyones was cook perfect. The service was friend and professional. We had a lovely night the meal were big and were value for money. Very happy.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EmmLuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle P, Manager at Scratchley's on the Wharf Restaurant, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with positive feedback. We love reading reviews from our satisfied guests. We will make sure our staff hears about the great job they did and that our chef is informed of the excellent job he did. Please stop by again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Dinned here with the wife on a Friday night. The place was packed and rocking! We had some oysters kilpatrick, scallops, chilli prawns and risotto of the day. All tasted fantastic. The wine list was plentiful and not overpriced. The views are spectacular. Our waitress Jenny could not of done anything further for us. She never let our glass become empty and was always on for a quick chat. I would certainly recommend this Restaurant. Next time I'm going to try one of the seafood platter options which looked delicious.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gussy001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle P, Manager at Scratchley's on the Wharf Restaurant, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with a 5 star rating. We appreciate the positive feedback on our menu items and our location. We will make sure that Jenny hears about the excellent service she provided you and your wife. We truly appreciate your future recommendations and your loyalty to return again to try of one our seafood platters. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Terrible food”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

We celebrated a special occasion a few weeks ago. Although the view is good that is it!
The food was overcooked, all the fish dishes we had between 8 of us were dry. Bland, overcooked, dry, expensive food. It was so bad that we will never go back again,
The service was abysmal with the waitress telling us her study woes and it was hard to get their attention. I wished we'd gone elsewhere to celebrate We've been a few years ago and it was good back then.
.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank yoginiL68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle P, Manager at Scratchley's on the Wharf Restaurant, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
We extend our sincerest apology for your less than extraordinary experience as our guest. We can assure you that the situation you’ve described is an isolated incident. We work extremely hard to make sure that all of guests receive top notch service and satisfaction and that does not appear to be the case with your visit. We would like to rectify this situation with you and hopefully have you become one of our many regular guests. To further discuss this review, please take the time to reach out to Neil or Danielle at scratchleys@bigpond.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scratchley's on the Wharf Restaurant also viewed

Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Scratchley's on the Wharf Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing