We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We thought we were in for a treat” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Scratchley's on the Wharf Restaurant

Scratchley's on the Wharf Restaurant
Ranked #15 of 553 Restaurants in Newcastle
Cuisines: Seafood, Australian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“We thought we were in for a treat”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

We were looking forward to a beautiful seafood dinner but left disappointed. It was probably our own fault with our choices but we didn't expect everything to be battered which just gets heavier as you eat it. Wild Barramundi, coriander, chilli, ginger sounded like a lovely fresh combination, I must have read it wrong because I received 3 fillets, which I was unsure was even barra, with a batter containing these ingredients, unfortunately they were lost in the batter and couldn't be tasted. The side salad was sad, lettuce, tomato and Spanish onion with no dressing! you need a nice salad to give the battered meal some lightness. There was also a side of chips which was way too big. The restaurant obviously has a good following as it was full and it did take an hour for us to receive our meal and waiting staff didn't approach from the time of order until we received the meal, we were thirsty. We would go back as there was some really nice sounding dishes on the menu, we just chose unwisely.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Harmony17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle P, Owner at Scratchley's on the Wharf Restaurant, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
The situation you've described does not meet the high expectations that we hold ourselves to. We are very sorry for not providing excellent customer service and satisfaction. We offer up to a ten different fresh fish specials daily only one of which is battered, you are always welcome to check with our waitstaff as to which fish are grilled or oven baked. We do appreciate your loyalty to return again in the future to try some of our other menu items. If you would like to further discuss your visit, please take the time to reach out to Danielle at scratchleys@bigpond.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

929 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    346
    299
    130
    89
    65
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Largs, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

I have been to Scratchley's quite a few times over the years and used to be impressed with the food and service. Recently however I feel it has well and truly lost the plot and direction. The food we have eaten there on the last two occasions this year( both organized as a family gathering) has been more the standard of a cheap pub meal. They seem to be trading on the view. PLEASE consider a new chef or at least someone with presentation standards in line with Paymasters and Restaurant Mason.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Graham V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle P, Owner at Scratchley's on the Wharf Restaurant, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Graham,
We apologise for your less than satisfactory experience as our guest. We work very hard to make sure we always provide top notch customer service and satisfaction. We value the opinions of our regular guests and would like you to know that we have recently replaced our Head Chef & have revamped our menus. We will continue to strive to improve. If you would like to discuss your visit further please email Neil or Danielle at scratchleys@bigpond.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
59 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice seafood and nice views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

Best seafood we have had in a while the servings were generous with good service and views over the water.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Samsonone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle P, Owner at Scratchley's on the Wharf Restaurant, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with positive feedback from your recent visit. We appreciate the kind words and look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fresh is best”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

Great place to eat if you like fresh seafood. We have enjoyed many a meal here and it never disappoints.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JanMick_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle P, Owner at Scratchley's on the Wharf Restaurant, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thank you very much for the compliments on our seafood. We appreciate your loyalty and support as a regular guest. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Dad's 88th Birthday Dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

Our family went to Scratchley's last Saturday night for this special dinner. It was a beautiful night on the harbour with a nice cool breeze blowing. All the food was very good and the service was very good as well, a rarity to get both in a restaurant. So for this, Scratchley's gets a thumbs up from me! My Dad said this was the best Lobster Mornay he has ever had in his life ( 88 yrs and he has travelled all over the world ). I would have given this restaurant an excellent rating ( 5/5) if they had more comfortable chairs (ones that support your back). Other than that for me, it was excellent!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank vinmaz44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scratchley's on the Wharf Restaurant also viewed

Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Scratchley's on the Wharf Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing