We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location - interesting Fish dishes”

Scratchley's on the Wharf Restaurant
Ranked #15 of 560 Restaurants in Newcastle
Cuisines: Seafood, Australian, International
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Sydney
Level Contributor
248 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Great location - interesting Fish dishes”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Eaten here a number of times. the food is consistently good and enervative. They have a large wine list and also a good "by the glass" selection. Helpings are fair. This is a large restaurant and it can get very busy at times. The service can be slow. A great place to go for a consistanly good meal.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EricJ123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

977 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    370
    309
    141
    91
    66
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Stephens, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Enjoyed this restaurant on both occasions!”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

I thought this restaurant would really get more raves! On the two occasions (and possibly more when I can), the waitstaff have been extremely attentive, décor and atmosphere top class, and the food was terrific! Have been for both lunch and dinner and was very happy with this restaurant. My feeling was that they aim to please the customer in every way.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sabrina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunter Valley
Level Contributor
331 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“A seafood lovers delight”
Reviewed October 26, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

On the Honeysuckle Wharf with great views over this busy working Harbour and looking over to Stockton SCRATCHLEYS has a tremendous choice of all types of seafood and shellfish. Not fine dining but just the location for a long lazy lunch with friends. Reasonably priced. Ask for a table at the waterside when you book

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Howard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairport, New York
Level Contributor
114 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Best dinning experiece I've had in a VERY long time.”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

I'm always looking for a great seafood resturant that serves you a good size portion of fresh seafood without overcharging you for the experinece. Well this was without a doubt the best seafood dinning experience I've ever come across on any continent! We ordered the hot and cold seafood platter for two.............and it was the best seafood I have ever had! It wasn't cheap.....but I've never had such a great variety in any resturant in my 55 years on this earth! We plan to back again tonight. A MUST visit if you enjoy seafood.
Our server was new, and a bit unsure of herself, but it did not ruin the experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle P, Manager at Scratchley's on the Wharf Restaurant, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you Thank you Thank you! We love positive feedback! We hope to see you again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Scratchley's yum”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Great location the best hot and cold seafood platter for two. Service excellent.
A really great night and will go again especially for special occasions. Great views of the harbour, and right on the water.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank neece_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle P, Manager at Scratchley's on the Wharf Restaurant, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thanks for posting your positive review! We are pleased you had such a great experience &look forward to seeing you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scratchley's on the Wharf Restaurant also viewed

Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Scratchley's on the Wharf Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing