We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Clarendon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Clarendon Hotel
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
96 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Fantastic staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

Greeted by friendly, efficient staff. Hotel easy to find with taxis, public transport right at the front door. Room small but spotlessly clean (as it was every day we stayed) and well appointed. We stayed for an extended weekend and, in spite of the hotel being fully booked, it was remarkably quiet. The hotel is surrounded by Art Deco buildings, with the Civic Theatre a delight. There is a short stroll to many cafés and interesting shops. I had a query re. Lapsed free wifi and the reception person quickly, efficiently and cheerfully solved the issue. She was outstanding and clearly passionate about Newcastle. Her pride in her hotel and her city was infectious. We will return!

Room Tip: Select a room away from the lift and on the Civic Theatre side eg 108 109 110
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanB51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarendon H, Guest Relations Manager at The Clarendon Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Thank you for visiting us at The Clarendon Hotel. We loved having you here!

We very much appreciate the feedback you gave during your stay, both the positive and the constructive. We have since changed the way we issue the free Wi-Fi passwords so that longer stay guests will have continuous access.

Thank you also for sharing your experience here on Tripadvisor, it’s wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your time at the hotel and in Newcastle itself.

We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    169
    30
    22
    12
See reviews for
57
140
28
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

We were not sure what to expect, with it being a hotel attached to a pub, but the furnishings were lovely well appointed rooms were well above what we expected. Well stocked mini bar, friendly staff and just a shame that we had only one night there!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank popgoesthechampers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarendon H, Guest Relations Manager at The Clarendon Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Hello, thank you for sharing your Clarendon Hotel experience. We love exceeding our guest’s expectations so reading reviews like yours makes us very happy. We look forward to welcoming you again in future, hopefully for a longer stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong
Level Contributor
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

I arrived after hours and was pleasantly surprised by the process I had to undertake to self check-in. For an overnight stay I would recommend if you, longer stays would likely see me looking for somewhere a little warmer, more spacious and relaxing. The heater is due for an upgrade however the room was well maintained and the service i received before and during my stay was fantastic.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bek A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarendon H, Guest Relations Manager at The Clarendon Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Hi Bek, Thanks for your review. We are very pleased that you had no trouble with the afterhours check-in process and your stay with us got off to a good start. Thank you for your feedback regarding the heating, we are indeed looking into an upgrade.
It’s wonderful to hear that you enjoyed great service during your short stay, we hope to see you again in the future when the rest of the hotel is open so you can experience all aspects of our establishment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

The location of this hotel is central to everywhere, but I don't know if that's an advantage at all.

The lift is old, and it moved really slow. On the hallway, it was so dark that its creepy. The room does not have any lock or latch that if anyone has a spare key, they will easily open the door from outside. When I asked why they didn't have it, they said about the fire safety in Australia, but I don't remember staying any hotels in the world (including NSW) without any of this. The room does have a heater, unfortunately, the heater did not function well, it was extremely cold! I got cold the next day. There was a dirty soiled shoes in one of the cupboard, I was not sure if that was left by the guest, or provided for a guest to wear? One of the hand towel was also dirty. Not impressed, really.

At night, I wanted to have the TV on overnight, so that way it was not as quiet as it was when I was all alone in the room. I did not set a timer on the TV, and TV was switched off when I woke up in the middle of the night. The next morning, I checked with the reception, if they have installed a set timer on all of their TV. She said no and suggested maybe another guests who set it up - does not sound convincing to me as I thought you would need to re-set it when you need it to work.
Parking is provided at $10, but there was no lift connecting to the basement. You need to walk outside for access.

I wished I had chosen a different hotel, I don't remember sleeping anxiously in the hotel ever. I actually felt much safer to stay out of the hotel rather than staying in the room.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Tif_mack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarendon H, Guest Relations Manager at The Clarendon Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Hi, thanks for taking the time to write this review.
We are centrally located just a short walk to many of Newcastle’s attractions and popular entertainment areas. Many travellers love this convenience but we realise that it may not be what other travellers are looking for.
As we are an older building our lift is on the older, slower side. Please rest assured that it is serviced regularly to safety standards and as we only have 4 floors the journey is quite short from top to bottom.
With regards to the lack of latches on your hotel room door, you were correctly informed by the receptionist at the time. We also double checked this with our fire safety contractor. All our hotel rooms have fire doors, which means they must remain closed to prevent fire entering the room from a hallway. For fire safety reasons we are not allowed to provide latches that allow guests to keep their door ajar. Any spare keys are held by our very small staff team of professionals that would not enter an occupied hotel room without permission or give keys to anyone other than a registered guest. We have never had an issue with guest safety as the only access to the two floors of hotel rooms is via a security access swipe that is only issued to registered hotel guests and hotel staff.
As for the heating in your room, we apologise if it was not functioning well on the night of your stay. We also apologise if you had an issue with the cleanliness of your room. In the event that guests have trouble with any facility in their room they are welcome to contact our staff who are more than happy to investigate and rectify the problem so that our guests have a comfortable and enjoyable stay.

Finally, we have investigated the TV issue. Some rooms have televisions equipped with a new sensor technology that automatically switches off when it has not detected any movement for a certain time. This function was designed by the television manufacturers to conserve energy. We will be leaving the televisions in this ECO mode but are happy to help guests switch it off if required.
It is disappointing that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We are a small boutique hotel that prides itself on having a great location, comfortable rooms and friendly helpful staff but we also realise that we cannot meet all our guest’s individual requirements despite our best efforts. Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience with others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

I would highly recommend this hotel to all travelers to Newcastle. We called from the highway and secured a booking for a room for three with ease. Upon arriving outside the hotel we thought we might have made a mistake because it really is a pub, not a fancy-shmancy-name-brand-purpose-built hotel, but a good old fashioned Aussie pub that has been very tastefully renovated into a modern and unique place to stay. Once we were checked in we chatted to the staff, had a quick drink at the bar and headed out for a very disappointing meal at a local restaurant we had spied while driving around (reviewed in another posting...). We should have listened to the recommendation to head to nearby Darby Street and partaken of the delights on offer there. The room was spacious and our son slept on the sofa bed without complaint! A good shower, comfy bed and kitchenette facilities rounded out a great stay. Secure parking in an adjoining building was welcomed. We stayed on a Thursday night and the good natured pub-trivia night was excellent entertainment accompanied by the well-priced jug of Cooper's Sparkling Ale! Advice as to where we should eat breakfast the next morning was welcomed, and listened to this time, and we had a great brekky at Goldberg's on Darby Street (Review to be found in another posting...).

Ditch the big hotel brands and stay local at The Clarendon...you won't regret it!

Room Tip: Some of the postings said the front rooms are noisy as they are onto a busy room BUT we didn't h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank MKS1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarendon H, Guest Relations Manager at The Clarendon Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Hi, thanks for sharing your experience and recommending us so highly. It sounds like you and your family had a wonderful stay with us! As you know our friendly staff are always happy to offer advice on where to eat and what to see during your stay in Newcastle, you can trust us for honest opinions on everything Newcastle has to offer.
We’re also aware that our exterior does not reflect the clean and comfortable rooms found inside, we are working on a façade facelift but we really appreciate the guests that recognise that this is part of the charm of staying in an original 1930s Art Deco pub. We have character combined with modern amenities.
Trivia night is a big hit with locals and travellers alike with great prizes to be won and the added bonus of $13 jugs of Cooper as you mentioned, it’s great that you were able to join in the fun.
Thanks for visiting us, we hope to welcome you at The Clarendon again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

Reception staff very pleasant and helpful. Great location central to Darby Street and harbour restaurants. Room was good size with good facilities and very clean, queen bed very comfy in house movies a bonus as was the balcony with a small seating set. Would be very happy to stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank kath740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarendon H, Guest Relations Manager at The Clarendon Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Hi Kath, thanks for sharing your Clarendon Hotel experience. We are happy to hear that you received good service during your stay and that you found our location and rooms to your liking. The free in-house movies are very popular with our guests and it’s great that you had the time to enjoy them too! Thanks again, we would love to welcome you hear again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014

This was our third stay at the Clarendon and we're sure we will be back again.
The location is walking distance to Darby Street, the Civic Theatre, Newcastle Art Gallery and the waterfront, making it a great hotel to stay at if you don't want to bring the car.
Although this hotel is part of a pub, the accommodation has a separate side entrance which has a secure door after hours for guests only. We have never been affected by noise from the pub itself, even though our balcony over looked the back part of the bistro.
Our queen bed room was comfortable and well appointed with a small music dock, flat screen tv, writing desk, full length mirror, mini fridge, ironing board, iron, hair dryer, air con, tea and coffee making facilities and a small seating set on the balcony.
The bathrooms are large, although the ventilation in them is not the best.
Rooms are cleaned to a high standard and the hotel staff are efficient and friendly.
We did not eat at the Clarendon but they have an extensive breakfast, lunch and dinner menu which is reasonable priced - room service is only offered for breakfast.

Room Tip: Level 2 rooms at the back of the hotel are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deux_Coxski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarendon H, Guest Relations Manager at The Clarendon Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Hello, firstly thanks for being one of our valued return guests, we love knowing that guests have been happy enough with their first visit to come and stay again.
Secondly, we appreciate you taking the time to let others know about your experience with us. Many travellers read reviews to get advice on location, amenities, service and security – your review certainly has covered these points and we are pleased that you have positive things to say about all these aspects.
We look forward to your next visit with us. Hopefully you get the chance to try the restaurant as well, the food is delicious and if you do wish to get room service at lunch or dinner time you can do so by calling the restaurant directly. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle hotels
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
#3 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Newcastle Beach
Novotel Newcastle Beach
#4 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
0.9 mi away
Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#1 of 22 in Newcastle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Executive Inn
The Executive Inn
#7 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
#13 of 22 in Newcastle
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clarendon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clarendon Hotel

Property: The Clarendon Hotel
Address: 347 Hunter St, Newcastle, New South Wales 2300, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle
#5 Business Hotel in Newcastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Clarendon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique to Newcastle, The Clarendon Hotel combines boutique hotel rooms upstairs with modern dining and art deco bar downstairs. For business or for pleasure, the relaxed atmosphere of The Clarendon is the perfect venue for all your accommodation and entertainment needs.Centred in the heart of the Newcastle CBD, the hotel is just a few minutes walk from fashionable Darby Street, the waterfront Honeysuckle development and the city’s iconic beaches. For visitors to Newcastle, the Clarendon provides a great home base for exploring the city and further beyond to all that the Hunter Region has to offer.For locals, the central location makes the The Clarendon the ideal meeting place for casual get-togethers and special occasions. Anyone catching a show at the historic Civic Theatre next door will find the Clarendon is the perfect place to grab a pre-show meal and intermission drink. Great value, great quality and friendly, professional service will make your experience at the The Clarendon a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your The Clarendon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarendon Hotel Newcastle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing