We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location well priced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Clarendon Hotel
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Reception staff very pleasant and helpful. Great location central to Darby Street and harbour restaurants. Room was good size with good facilities and very clean, queen bed very comfy in house movies a bonus as was the balcony with a small seating set. Would be very happy to stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank kath740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarendon H, Guest Relations Manager at The Clarendon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Hi Kath, thanks for sharing your Clarendon Hotel experience. We are happy to hear that you received good service during your stay and that you found our location and rooms to your liking. The free in-house movies are very popular with our guests and it’s great that you had the time to enjoy them too! Thanks again, we would love to welcome you hear again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (426)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

328 - 334 of 426 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2014

This was our third stay at the Clarendon and we're sure we will be back again.
The location is walking distance to Darby Street, the Civic Theatre, Newcastle Art Gallery and the waterfront, making it a great hotel to stay at if you don't want to bring the car.
Although this hotel is part of a pub, the accommodation has a separate side entrance which has a secure door after hours for guests only. We have never been affected by noise from the pub itself, even though our balcony over looked the back part of the bistro.
Our queen bed room was comfortable and well appointed with a small music dock, flat screen tv, writing desk, full length mirror, mini fridge, ironing board, iron, hair dryer, air con, tea and coffee making facilities and a small seating set on the balcony.
The bathrooms are large, although the ventilation in them is not the best.
Rooms are cleaned to a high standard and the hotel staff are efficient and friendly.
We did not eat at the Clarendon but they have an extensive breakfast, lunch and dinner menu which is reasonable priced - room service is only offered for breakfast.

Room Tip: Level 2 rooms at the back of the hotel are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deux_Coxski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarendon H, Guest Relations Manager at The Clarendon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Hello, firstly thanks for being one of our valued return guests, we love knowing that guests have been happy enough with their first visit to come and stay again.
Secondly, we appreciate you taking the time to let others know about your experience with us. Many travellers read reviews to get advice on location, amenities, service and security – your review certainly has covered these points and we are pleased that you have positive things to say about all these aspects.
We look forward to your next visit with us. Hopefully you get the chance to try the restaurant as well, the food is delicious and if you do wish to get room service at lunch or dinner time you can do so by calling the restaurant directly. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

Communication before and on the day was great. Friendly staff on the accommodation side as the actual pub was closed on the Sunday (as was most of Newcastle we learnt on the day).

We had the suite shared between four blokes up for a footy game. We had plenty of room.

Walking distance to Darby St for cafes, restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bdollo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarendon H, Guest Relations Manager at The Clarendon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

Hello,
Thank you for reviewing us. Great to hear that you and your mates enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We hope you visit us again soon - hopefully at a time when you can also enjoy the bar & restaurant.
Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Fantastic service got a second room complementary as there were 3 of us staying, great location with car parking right next to hotel. Rooms where great size with good facilities. Had breakfast in the restaurant the following morning great price with a fantastic male waiter who had the best customer service. Overall a fantastic place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank kelly J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarendon H, Guest Relations Manager at The Clarendon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2014

Hi,
Thank you for your lovely review. We love hearing that you enjoyed both the accommodation and the central location. We’ve passed on your compliments to the restaurant ‘Made by Lesley Taylor’ and also to Daz, the waiter that served you that morning. He really is great at making our guest’s stay even more enjoyable!
Thanks again, we hope to welcome you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

The Clarendon is a nice Pub to stay at. But it is a Pub and if that's what you want its all good. The room was very clean, modern and comfortable with the usual conveniences. The hot water can be slow to start when weather is cold but that's not a big deal. It is Hot eventually. It was a little rowdy outside my window on Sat night but I kind of expected that -as it's a Pub. The car park was a bit of a trek away with a heavy bag- on my own- but I felt safe (various swipe cards separate guests) and the staff were all very friendly and helpful. In terms of value for money- its not expensive, but you could get a nice- ish hotel down the road for only $20 a night more when you factor in the car park fee. And if you're a woman travelling alone that might be more appropriate in terms of not having to deal with the Pub crowd when returning home in the evening. On the second night the (town hall ?) clock chimed loudly so I was woken at midnight, 4am and then again at 6am- so not so good for light sleepers. Didn't notice it on the first night.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Deb M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarendon H, Guest Relations Manager at The Clarendon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2014

Hello,
Thank you for taking the time to review us – we really appreciate it. We love hearing that you enjoyed your stay.
It is true that we are indeed a pub. We would like readers to know that we are an upmarket bar venue with 4-star boutique accommodation. On weekdays we deal mostly with a corporate clientele and generally cease trading around 10pm. On weekends we cater to the 25+ market and close the bar at midnight. There is live entertainment in either the front bar or the beer garden until 11.30pm. Generally the noise from the bar downstairs does not affect guests in their rooms upstairs. For guests that wish to have an early night (in bed before 12) on weekends we recommend requesting a Hunter St room where the noise from the beer garden won’t affect them.
It’s good to hear that you felt safe during your stay however if at any time a solo traveller feels unsafe our staff are more than happy to accompany them to the car park. Guests are also more than welcome to temporarily park in our loading bay to unload bags etc before parking in the secure car park. With regards to the town hall bell, we are investigating if the volume has increased of late because we’ve had a couple of people comment on this recently.
Thanks again for your review we hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2014

Our experience was good. The exterior of the hotel belies the quality of the rooms. We stayed in a Deluxe room which was large & comfortable. Bed was very comfortable indeed. Pleasantly decorated, it is a good place to stay that I would recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Goferit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarendon H, Guest Relations Manager at The Clarendon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2014

Hello,
Thanks for your review and recommendation. Sounds like you had a great stay! We agree that the exterior of the hotel is not a great indication of the interior at all! The good news is that our façade will soon be receiving a facelift.
Thanks again, we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Spacious room, good facilities and a handy kitchenette. The restaurant food is fabulous and very convenient for a weary traveller. An old pub that is carrying it's age well with renovations that enhance it's character

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Peter879_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarendon H, Guest Relations Manager at The Clarendon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2014

Hi,
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. It sounds like you were able to make the most of your Suite accommodation that includes the kitchenette. We’ve passed on your compliments to the chef’s in the hotel restaurant ‘Made by Lesley Taylor’ who have been creating some very delicious food lately. We are in the process of redecorating the hotel to enhance some of the original Art Deco features – it is a work in progress with some exciting things in the planning.
Thanks again, we hope to see you again next time you visit Newcastle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle hotels
0.9 mi away
Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
#3 of 24 in Newcastle
1,055 reviews
1.1 mi away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#1 of 24 in Newcastle
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Novotel Newcastle Beach
Novotel Newcastle Beach
#4 of 24 in Newcastle
864 reviews
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
#14 of 24 in Newcastle
1,557 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chifley Apartments Newcastle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clarendon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clarendon Hotel

Address: 347 Hunter St, Newcastle, New South Wales 2300, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Newcastle
#6 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle
Price Range: $107 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Clarendon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique to Newcastle, The Clarendon Hotel combines boutique hotel rooms upstairs with modern dining and art deco bar downstairs. For business or for pleasure, the relaxed atmosphere of The Clarendon is the perfect venue for all your accommodation and entertainment needs.Centred in the heart of the Newcastle CBD, the hotel is just a few minutes walk from fashionable Darby Street, the waterfront Honeysuckle development and the city’s iconic beaches. For visitors to Newcastle, the Clarendon provides a great home base for exploring the city and further beyond to all that the Hunter Region has to offer.For locals, the central location makes the The Clarendon the ideal meeting place for casual get-togethers and special occasions. Anyone catching a show at the historic Civic Theatre next door will find the Clarendon is the perfect place to grab a pre-show meal and intermission drink. Great value, great quality and friendly, professional service will make your experience at the The Clarendon a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Clarendon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarendon Hotel Newcastle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing