We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keep away if yOu want a good time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Clarendon Hotel
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Dora Creek, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Keep away if yOu want a good time”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

2nd visit in two years.. And exactly the same. If you don't enjoy yourself you are ok.. We were with 16 over fifty year old.. We had dinner and at least five couples stayed the night and we were asked to leave. They are kidding.

If yOu are thinking of going there DON'T. Trust me. It is shocking go somewhere else

Steve

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Clarendon Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Hi Steve,
Thankyou for taking the time to review The Clarendon Hotel, it is a shame to hear you did not enjoy your time with us. Our restaurant is a family friendly venue and we generally have rave reviews from a broad range of customers. If you would like to email us at: info@clarendonhotel.com.au with some more details, our general manager will happily look into this for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    182
    34
    23
    13
See reviews for
59
153
33
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
port macquarie
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 10, 2012

we stayed one night and booked on wot if we were not dissapionted when we got there .The staff were so helpful could not do enough for you .Our room was spotless we had a balcony . the linen was lovely towels soft . The bar staff were lovely and really enjoyed there job and the same in the dining room when we had dinner and the same for breakfast even brought us 2 newspapers to readwhile waiting for our breakfast . The staff at the Claradon made our stay very enjoyable we will be back

Room Tip: had a south room with a balcony all very new and spacious spotless good selection of teas plenty of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Clarendon Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thanks for the great review! We love to hear when our guests enjoy their stay, and pride ourselves on providing unique customer service. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We booked a winter warmer deal online and were very pleased with the accommodation and service. We were greeted very warmly and there were no problems checking in. For the price we paid we were very happy with the room - nicely decorated, very clean and a nice big bathroom with all you could want including haird dryer etc. We got a paper delivered each morning, free parking and a la carte breakfast plus drink vouchers included in our room rate - which saved us about $120 per day compared to our last stary at the Crown. As mentioned before if you want 5 star thats fine but it will cost more. The food here is excellent - especially the brekafasts and the staff in the kitchen and front of house were enthusiastic, welcoming and attentive. If you are looking for a warm, friendly hotel with good honest food and accommodation give it a try, we were very happy for the price we paid and would consider coming back again. My only gripe was the bar staff on the friday night were a bit rude but there were also others who were great but its not a deal breaker.

Room Tip: We faced Hunter St and the double window glazing makes the room very quiet.
See more room tips
Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Samantha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Clarendon Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for your review Samantha, it is always great to hear such good feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. In regards to the bar staff, I have noted what you have said and it is a point we will raise at our next staff meeting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2012

Stayed here for work and was very disappointing. The pictures look great and I was not expecting a dark, smokey, dirty pub. The room had been renovated but not well and the bathroom was not as clean as it could be. The noise from downstairs was very loud.

Had dinner downstairs (if you can't beat them, join them!) and the food was well priced and OK.

They advertised parking but the place was completely packed so I parked across the road and moved the car in the morning to avoid a fine.

PROS: Central and affordable
CONS: Noisy and dirty
OVERALL: Good for stopover and affordable central accommodation, but not ideal for corporates. Pictures are misleading.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jinny g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2012

We only stayed one night - booked on-line from Port MacQuarie so was a bit worried when we turned up we nearly didn't go in the door. There was no-one in the dark reception but after a short wait but the young lass that came to check us in was clearly not happy to be at work that day,,, so a bit of an average start.
The room was decorated nicely and had a lovely comfy king size bed. We were facing Hunter street and opposite the railway line but had no difficuly sleeping at all. the only complaint about the room was a big stain in the middle of the room and that the shower door was broken (oh and the shower really could have been alot cleaner).
We ate in the pub downstairs which was great food and excellent service,,, also had good pizza delivered to our room through their friendly room service.
So overall i think it was good value for a night or too. Its in a good central location and compared to other prices around a couple of small things you just have to accept.
There's always the Crowne Plaza over the road for those who want a no stains or a spotless bathroom, but you'll pay for it.
Also very importantly, Newcastle is a really lovely little town - if you are just passing briefly have a good look around its a fascinating place with an abundance of history and amazing architecture... and dont miss a swim in the rock pools, Enjoy!

Room Tip: I would go for the rooms facing Hunter st if they all have double glazed windows, as at the moment t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happytraveller1222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2011

We stayed at this hotel about 3 yrs ago and decided to stay there again. The hotel rooms have deteriorated dramatically in the past few years. They have a strong smell of cleaning products, yet the rooms are dirty with hair in the bathroom and stains on the carpet. The bathrooms are rusty, mouldy and water leaks through the shower to make the bathroom floor wet. The hotel is really only a pub! With average pub style accommodation. They claim to be luxurious, but this is not true. We would not recommend staying there!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GBMB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2011

Terrible hotel. The owners should be ashamed of this establishment, as well as the way they market this dive of a joint on the internet. Very dissapointed....

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AB85_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle hotels
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
#3 of 22 in Newcastle
1,014 reviews
0.9 mi away
Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach
1.1 mi away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#1 of 22 in Newcastle
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Novotel Newcastle Beach
Novotel Newcastle Beach
#4 of 22 in Newcastle
847 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chifley Apartments Newcastle
Chifley Apartments Newcastle
#10 of 22 in Newcastle
381 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quest Newcastle Apartments
Quest Newcastle Apartments
#5 of 22 in Newcastle
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clarendon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clarendon Hotel

Property: The Clarendon Hotel
Address: 347 Hunter St, Newcastle, New South Wales 2300, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Newcastle
#6 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Clarendon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique to Newcastle, The Clarendon Hotel combines boutique hotel rooms upstairs with modern dining and art deco bar downstairs. For business or for pleasure, the relaxed atmosphere of The Clarendon is the perfect venue for all your accommodation and entertainment needs.Centred in the heart of the Newcastle CBD, the hotel is just a few minutes walk from fashionable Darby Street, the waterfront Honeysuckle development and the city’s iconic beaches. For visitors to Newcastle, the Clarendon provides a great home base for exploring the city and further beyond to all that the Hunter Region has to offer.For locals, the central location makes the The Clarendon the ideal meeting place for casual get-togethers and special occasions. Anyone catching a show at the historic Civic Theatre next door will find the Clarendon is the perfect place to grab a pre-show meal and intermission drink. Great value, great quality and friendly, professional service will make your experience at the The Clarendon a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Clarendon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarendon Hotel Newcastle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing